RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

202 Users Online (90 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Scheduling Embedded Curtain Wall Doors

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Jul 29, 2008 at 12:10:21 AM | Scheduling Embedded Curtain Wall Doors

#1

twhisker


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 5, 2007
110 Posts
2 Stars: 4 Votes


I have storefront systems with doors that are embedded into basic and/or stacked walls.  All of the doors show up in the door schedule.  the problem i am having, is that SOME of the embedded curtain wall doors do not recognize any of the rooms they lead into.

 

This is a huge problem becuase I have 4 buildings and the door schedule is broken out by building and then sorted by room.  I then have a handful of doors that have no room association.  It's driving me mad because some doors have a room and some dont.  I cannot find the common element amongst the ones that arent working.  Any ideas?  The file is too big to post.  Thanks.


-----------------------------------
Revit Architecture 2010

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 29, 2008 at 12:52:18 AM | Scheduling Embedded Curtain Wall Doors

#2

timbo89


active
timbo89 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Dec 14, 2007
135 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


Hey I just tried what you were describing, and the exact same thing happened to me. The only way I could get it to work was by going to my door schedule, and in the "To Room" column there is a drop down arrow. When you select it you should see the room association. Just click the room name and it should work. Im using Revit 2009 however, but hopefully the same thing works for you =)

-----------------------------------

  • Core 2 Duo E8400 3ghz
  • 756mb Nvidia 9600GSO 256bit
  • 6gb Kingston RAM 800mz DDR2
  • Windows XP Service Pack 3 32-bit

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 29, 2008 at 1:11:33 AM | Scheduling Embedded Curtain Wall Doors

#3

twhisker


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 5, 2007
110 Posts
2 Stars: 4 Votes


Yes we have 2009 but havent converted this project because we are in CD and do not want to mess with a conversion so i must suffer through 2008.

 

Yes sometimes a doors associated "to room" is blank and you have to use th drop box to select it.  In my case, there is nothing to select from.  it is not recognizing the room boundary (in some cases).  In one instance, I have a storefront embedded in a a regular wall.  The storefront has 2 doors leading into 2 different rooms.  One of the doors is associated to its room but the other is blank and has no rooms to select from. It's one of those bizarre Revit things when it just doesnt work.  i cannot for the life of me find how the two doors are different.

 

Thanks


-----------------------------------
Revit Architecture 2010

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 29, 2008 at 1:26:31 AM | Scheduling Embedded Curtain Wall Doors

#4

timbo89


active
timbo89 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Dec 14, 2007
135 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


Hey, can you email the file to t.i.m.b.o_17@hotmail.com so i can have a look at it?

-----------------------------------

  • Core 2 Duo E8400 3ghz
  • 756mb Nvidia 9600GSO 256bit
  • 6gb Kingston RAM 800mz DDR2
  • Windows XP Service Pack 3 32-bit

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 31, 2008 at 12:14:34 AM | Scheduling Embedded Curtain Wall Doors

#5

timbo89


active
timbo89 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Dec 14, 2007
135 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


Hey, I couldnt figure out why it was doing that. I showed it to a Revit training course instructor aswell, and he had no idea why it was happening either. We couldnt seem to fix it, so I guess you'll just have to be stuck with the schedule being like that. By the way nice model. Very impressive =)

-----------------------------------

  • Core 2 Duo E8400 3ghz
  • 756mb Nvidia 9600GSO 256bit
  • 6gb Kingston RAM 800mz DDR2
  • Windows XP Service Pack 3 32-bit

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 31, 2008 at 1:57:55 AM | Scheduling Embedded Curtain Wall Doors

#6

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


This is a long standing bug...

Its amazing something so important hasn't been resolved as yet.  I've had the issue before on numerous projects.  What we've usually ended up doing was to input text on the sheet where the blank fields are...  Which can sometimes be really annoying when new doors are added and you have to amend the text placement manually.  Other option is to resort to a text parameter instead of the automated one.


-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jul 31, 2008 at 4:35:19 PM | Scheduling Embedded Curtain Wall Doors

#7

twhisker


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 5, 2007
110 Posts
2 Stars: 4 Votes


Mr Spot - hows things down under?

 

Thanks for the response.  I would accept it if NONE of the doors read the rooms - ok we are on to something here.  But it seems to be random.  2 of the doors actually read a room that is on the other side of the building!! I kicked this up to Autodesk as i told my reseller tech support I refuse to accept a "workaround"  Rather than making it fit, Autodesk needs to find the cause so that we dont repeat that cause again.

 

I am going to recreate the walls with using copy, mirror, flip, rotate, etc.  Place them with on their own and see how that goes - then add the walls.  THEN I will try a workaround!! I was thinking of your idea as well - I might be able to create a field for the schedule that will read the to/from room if it exists else read the text field.     

 

THANKS FOR YOUR HELP.  I also used your array tutorial yesterday to create a sun screen - I couldnt get the element to rotate then I found the tutorial - thanks.


-----------------------------------
Revit Architecture 2010

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Retaining Curtain Wall Door Scheduling Data

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jan 8, 2015 at 8:47:08 PM

5

Curtain Wall Sill overhang when embedded within Walls

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jul 24, 2012 at 1:50:15 PM

1

Scheduling Curtain System doors - will not identify level

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jan 12, 2010 at 12:40:59 AM

0

Curtain wall doors

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, May 4, 2009 at 7:05:34 AM

3

Curtain wall doors wont center up

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Oct 12, 2009 at 9:28:48 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1755807

Objects:

22370

Forum Posts:

151876

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 18.9636

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights