RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

157 Users Online (54 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Issues with Topography

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Sun, Apr 17, 2005 at 7:47:14 AM | Issues with Topography

#1

archdan


active

Joined: Wed, Nov 10, 2004
82 Posts
3.5 Stars: 2 Votes


I am trying to create a building which is partially underground. I created the topo map and then cut out the base with a pad. What I cannot figure out is how to infill the area back in on top of the building. I have tried adding an additional topography map ontop of the area but it fills in the rooms beneath it. Is there any way that I could create some sort of a tunnel through the topography or anything that would allow the topography to remain the same above it? Also I am still using version 5.1, has this been addressed in a later release? Post edited on 2005-04-17 02:49:06

This user is offline

 

Sun, Apr 17, 2005 at 8:33:26 AM | RE: Issues with Topography

#2

Arnel Aguel


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 22, 2004
40 Posts
No Rating


I guess the intended behavior of pad element is to cut a void vertically from the ground level down to the intended location of the pad. One way that I can think of that you can get away with your situation is to create an in-place topo element to cover up the upper part of the void.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 18, 2005 at 5:11:04 AM | RE: Issues with Topography

#3

archdan


active

Joined: Wed, Nov 10, 2004
82 Posts
3.5 Stars: 2 Votes


I tried that and it filled in everything above and below the pad it was over, including the rooms. It isnt a problem with exterior renderings but it does create issues with interior views as well as sectional and plan drawings. Thanks for the idea though.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 18, 2005 at 5:22:46 AM | RE: Issues with Topography

#4

Arnel Aguel


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 22, 2004
40 Posts
No Rating


You should create the in-place topo as extrusion so that you can control its depth from the ground level. Input a negative depth but should be higher than the location of the pad in order to create a void.

Attached Files

This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 18, 2005 at 6:22:56 AM | RE: Issues with Topography

#5

archdan


active

Joined: Wed, Nov 10, 2004
82 Posts
3.5 Stars: 2 Votes


Thanks, it worked great. I didnt think to create it as a separate family element.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Topography Issues

Community >> Newbies

Fri, May 18, 2007 at 2:38:48 PM

1

Revit Topography schedule - several issues!

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jul 14, 2014 at 1:59:00 PM

2

TOPOGRAPHY SPLIT PROBLEM

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Mon, Sep 22, 2008 at 7:51:42 PM

4

Topography

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Oct 19, 2016 at 11:19:21 AM

2

Topography dissapearing

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Nov 7, 2012 at 8:46:15 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1823335

Objects:

22584

Forum Posts:

152007

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.1978

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights