RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

240 Users Online (112 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> rendering windows in 2009

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Jul 24, 2008 at 6:13:57 PM | rendering windows in 2009

#1

jslwa55


active

Joined: Fri, May 30, 2008
6 Posts
No Rating


I am having a problem with rendering windows. I am relatively new to revit software, and also to rendering. I have managed to build a model and apply all of my materials and in a 3D view everything looks correct; all of my materials are there and my windows are a pretty, transparent blue. But when I render the windows become a gray color and are no longer transparent. What am I doing wrong with this?

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 24, 2008 at 6:17:06 PM | rendering windows in 2009

#2

robinballew


active
robinballew Avatar

Joined: Sun, Nov 27, 2005
298 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


You need to adjust the rendering of the window. The shaded view is seperate from the rendered version. Look at the materials dialog under settings. Find Glass and click the box next to "Usd Rendered Appearance for Shading" the box will turn Gray. Then click on the Render Appearance Tab at the top and select a glass material. That should do it..

-----------------------------------
BallewDesigns.com

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jul 24, 2008 at 6:18:38 PM | rendering windows in 2009

#3

rkitect


active
rkitect Avatar

Joined: Thu, Dec 16, 2004
792 Posts
4 Stars: 29 Votes


A couple of things to check:

 

1) Check to make sure that the window/glass material that is being used is actually a glass render material (check in the object styles dialogue "Settings > Object Styles > Windows > Glazing."  Or just check the "Settings > Material" dialogue, look for the glass material and check the "Render Appearnace tab to make sure it is a glass material and not Generic like it is a lot of times.

2) Make sure you are rendering Sun and Artifical lights when you render.  This is in the render dialogue box before you begin the render.  That shouldn't make a difference, but just thought I would make sure.


-----------------------------------

-//------------------------

Carl - rkitecsure[at]gmail.com

Need help? I'm probably in my chat room!

You fell victim to one of the classic blunders. The most famous is never get involved in a land war in asia, but only slightly less well known is this! Never go in against a Sicilian when death is on the line!

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jul 24, 2008 at 6:21:19 PM | rendering windows in 2009

#4

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


ROBINBALLEW !! where have you been? good to see you back.

-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 24, 2008 at 7:07:50 PM | rendering windows in 2009

#5

jslwa55


active

Joined: Fri, May 30, 2008
6 Posts
No Rating


Thank you both so much for replying! But neither worked.... I will attach an image so that you can see what's happening. It's quite frustrating since everything else is starting to come together so nicely.

Attached Images

41355_Copy_of_3D.jpg

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 25, 2008 at 12:01:15 PM | rendering windows in 2009

#6

ppinc


active

Joined: Thu, Jun 1, 2006
15 Posts
No Rating


I have been experiencing the same issue.....Try checking the transparency of the glass in materials settings. I made the glass very transparent and it seems to have worked correctly...I have found the same issue with the water material and applied the same process....this works too

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 25, 2008 at 1:14:39 PM | rendering windows in 2009

#7

rkitect


active
rkitect Avatar

Joined: Thu, Dec 16, 2004
792 Posts
4 Stars: 29 Votes


Is that a door/window family or a curtain wall?  Is it all the glass in your project or just the glass in this family?  Finally, if these are families, were they created in Revit 2008?

 

The screen shot you are showing me indicates that the material being used for the glass in this family/wall is not set properly.  We just need to find out which material it is trying to use.  The fact that the frame/mullions of the family/wall are also a generic grey tells me that that material is not rendering correctly either and that this may be a family that is calling on accurenderer materials.



Edited on: Fri, Jul 25, 2008 at 8:16:34 AM

-----------------------------------

-//------------------------

Carl - rkitecsure[at]gmail.com

Need help? I'm probably in my chat room!

You fell victim to one of the classic blunders. The most famous is never get involved in a land war in asia, but only slightly less well known is this! Never go in against a Sicilian when death is on the line!

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jul 29, 2008 at 3:31:42 PM | rendering windows in 2009

#8

jslwa55


active

Joined: Fri, May 30, 2008
6 Posts
No Rating


That may be the key here! I don't think the family was created in 2009. I have checked the materials and they are the set to the same materials in the family as they are in the building model. If it searching for accurender materials, how can I fix that so the materials will render correctly?

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 30, 2008 at 4:36:14 PM | rendering windows in 2009

#9

jslwa55


active

Joined: Fri, May 30, 2008
6 Posts
No Rating


How can I fix the fact that this family is calling on accurender materials?

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 30, 2008 at 6:25:45 PM | rendering windows in 2009

#10

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 196 Votes


The 2009 don't accept "Accustudio.mlib" like 2008, so i think you must assign new materials to the objects you have with Accurender materials... It's a pain in the curse i know,i pass by that too....

 

 



Edited on: Wed, Jul 30, 2008 at 3:26:16 PM

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 27, 2008 at 1:35:01 PM | rendering windows in 2009

#11

faitbuf


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 11, 2007
19 Posts
No Rating


Linking other Revit files can also cause certain materials to go wrong.  I had linked a file with a curtain wall (it was for an adjacent building that my firm also deisgned) into my project which also uses curtain walls.  Since both curtain walls were using "System Panel: Glazed" it would only render with the material settings from the linked file.  The solution was to create a second type of system panel (I called it "Mirrored glass"Winking and set the other curtain wall to use that material as its Curtain Panel.  I suspect the same issue would hold true for materials on objects other than curtain walls too.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Rendering slow in 2009

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 20, 2009 at 11:40:53 AM

9

Revit 2009 and Windows 7

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, May 14, 2010 at 12:56:23 PM

7

Going from Rendering in RA 2008 to Rendering in RA 2009

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, May 11, 2009 at 9:32:50 PM

6

Rendering windows

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 24, 2006 at 12:58:43 PM

0

Rendering in Revit 2009 [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Dec 31, 2009 at 4:41:31 PM

19

Site Stats

Members:

1458605

Objects:

20592

Forum Posts:

150673

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.4608

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights