RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

167 Users Online (52 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Revit walls move even without constraints!

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Jul 23, 2008 at 5:34:28 PM | Revit walls move even without constraints!

#1

jeremiah77769


active

Joined: Sat, May 13, 2006
25 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


I am at a point right now that I am utterly disgusted with Revit as a 3d construction program. The file I am using right now creates its own wall "locks" or constraints at random with walls that have absolutely nothing to do with the wall in question. If I move a header wall above, who knows, walls 10' away might move or maybe not. The logic to wall constraints seems to be utter garbage with this program. I am at the point where I want to throw my computer out or send autodesk a flaming bag of crap. This program is pure frustration and I dont see how anyone can have much faith in the accuracy for this program seeing as how walls just happily move wherever the hell they want without bothering to notify you. I'm pissed, if you cant tell and I'm about to call Autodesk and berrate them.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 23, 2008 at 5:53:55 PM | Revit walls move even without constraints!

#2

broncos4life


active

Joined: Thu, Nov 10, 2005
390 Posts
4 Stars: 10 Votes


7 posts...must be new to the program.  I have had no issues with this at all, and most of your ranting helps nobody understand what is going on so they could help you.  You go through and bash Revit repeditivly and most of us here that know the program see this this from those too ignorant to actually learn the program.  If you actually want to try and learn the program and figure out why you are having this issue and nobody else is please feel free to post your file either through this program or putting it on an FTP that we could look at otherwise I dont think you need to be posting.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 23, 2008 at 6:38:28 PM | Revit walls move even without constraints!

#3

jeremiah77769


active

Joined: Sat, May 13, 2006
25 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Lets try this again then and ill just cut out my rant....

 The file I am working on creates its own constraints to points that have no relation to it, headers are locking to walls many feet away, and I have physically locked none of them, it takes it under its own accord to do so. No notifications are given to me when it creates these constraints. This seems to be happening in multiple areas. I am trying to understand the logic this program is using to create these constraints, as at this point I see little to none. Is there a way to completely disable the ability of walls and other geometry to create these constraints or am I boned? Just so you know I have been putting up with revit for the past 4 years and this problem has not really popped up too much but lately it seems to be happening more, using the latest revit release BTW. I just want the automatic constraints gone, basically.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 23, 2008 at 6:50:48 PM | Revit walls move even without constraints!

#4

broncos4life


active

Joined: Thu, Nov 10, 2005
390 Posts
4 Stars: 10 Votes


Use this link to place your file on an FTP (for free) and the post the link you get on here.  Let me/someone take a look at your file.  I have never had it do this before so I am curious. 

http://www.filedropper.com/


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 23, 2008 at 6:55:30 PM | Revit walls move even without constraints!

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


This is a user error - not REVIT and it only requires a better understanding of the program.  All of us have this frustration initially.    The walls do not move on their own but the will move if you have done certain things. 

  1. If you have aligned walls to lines or other walls or objects and set a lock.
  2. Vertically, if you have aligned the walls - lock or no lock.
  3. If you have dimensioned them and locked them.
  4. Some objects will move if you have set them to associate themselves by nearby elements.
  5. If you pick a series of walls that were drawn together rather than just a wall section.
Learn to hit the disjoin button when you want to move something without moving anything else joined to it. 

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 23, 2008 at 7:09:23 PM | Revit walls move even without constraints!

#6

jeremiah77769


active

Joined: Sat, May 13, 2006
25 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


I cannot publicly share this file, as the architect does not want it shared at this time. I will just have to keep toiling away with the file as is, and anytime i plan to move basically anything I will have to disjoin the object(s) first. This method is not what I would like to do as it pretty much removes the intellegence of the automatic wall joining. Work arounds seem to be the name of the game with this program, I was hoping for a possible technique for preventing revit from creating these constraints on its own.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 23, 2008 at 7:10:06 PM | Revit walls move even without constraints!

#7

broncos4life


active

Joined: Thu, Nov 10, 2005
390 Posts
4 Stars: 10 Votes


I didnt even think about that, good call WWHub, just click "disjoin" when you use the move comand to move things.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 23, 2008 at 8:54:19 PM | Revit walls move even without constraints!

#8

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


Most of the time you do not have to disjoin but the poster's problem is that he does not yet understand the rules and disjoin will solve his problems until he does learn.

 

NOTE  There is a problem with disjoin.  All associated tags will be lost.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 23, 2008 at 9:16:38 PM | Revit walls move even without constraints!

#9

lunchtrayrider


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 25, 2007
592 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


Do you have walls locked to grids? 

-----------------------------------
I like scooters. and motorcycles.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Setting Default Wall Constraints

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jan 5, 2007 at 8:45:05 PM

6

How to lock walls so they move together

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Dec 21, 2010 at 6:45:46 PM

4

Constraints Are Not Satisfied when opening file - Revit Architecture 2008

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 27, 2008 at 2:46:30 PM

2

Revit 8.1 - Already problems with base and top constraints

Community >> The Studio

Fri, Jan 13, 2006 at 5:58:40 PM

1

Family Instant Parameter Constraints Offset

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Feb 1, 2013 at 8:41:00 PM

5

Site Stats

Members:

1650308

Objects:

22097

Forum Posts:

151692

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.3254

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights