RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

187 Users Online (56 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Libary Pre view

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Jul 10, 2008 at 4:18:28 AM | Libary Pre view

#1

Erik


active

Joined: Sat, Oct 9, 2004
69 Posts
No Rating


When opening the library, i do not see the graphics of the components, only the Revit logo.  I can preview one by one in the preview panel but not in the browser. The normal browser in Vista do not display a preview of the Revit files.

I am using Vista and RAC2009.  Any hints to get me out of this small but anoying issue?


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 10, 2008 at 7:27:34 AM | Libary Pre view

#2

Elmo


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 19, 2006
144 Posts
3.5 Stars: 4 Votes


I know with Vista there is a new setting that you need to keep an eye out for. If you right click on MY COMPUTER and go to advanced settings>performance make sure that show thumbnails instead of icons is ticked on.

If that is not the issue then what could be the issue is that your families have not been upgraded yet to the version you are using.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 11, 2008 at 4:42:46 AM | Libary Pre view

#3

Erik


active

Joined: Sat, Oct 9, 2004
69 Posts
No Rating


Thanks.  I was hoping it was something simple like that.  I got excited, but found the settings were right and besides, I see the other file type previews.  It is just Revit files which do not show.  They do show in the 'Recent files' window.  DWF/X files also shows. They are created in the curent Revit version 2009.  The library is also from 2009.  Anyway, one day I will get around it.  Thanks again

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 11, 2008 at 1:37:08 PM | Libary Pre view

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


When you create a family and then goto save it, you need to select the options button where there is a switch to generate a graphics view in the file.  Takes up a little more space in the family file.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 11, 2008 at 3:59:53 PM | Libary Pre view

#5

Erik


active

Joined: Sat, Oct 9, 2004
69 Posts
No Rating


No.  None of the Revit files show as previews in the Vista Browser nor do the families when looking for components to insert in Revit.  I have checked the solution mentioned before; ticked in Vista the 'show thumbnails' option.  I also created a family and made sure the generate thumbnail option was ticked, but it made no difference.  All other file types shows as thumbnails in hte Vista browser.  Can it be a bad combination of OS, Program and Machine? New machine with Core duo2 and 3Mb of ram

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

material libary

Community >> The Studio

Thu, Feb 16, 2006 at 1:37:28 PM

0

Accurender libary locations

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 2, 2006 at 3:55:07 AM

1

acurender material libary

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Feb 16, 2006 at 5:27:33 PM

0

Revit Hatch Pattern w/ alternating masonry courses?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Nov 17, 2020 at 8:37:20 PM

1

HATCH LIBRARY

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, May 4, 2006 at 2:00:18 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1650538

Objects:

22097

Forum Posts:

151691

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.7143

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights