RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

156 Users Online (76 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Revit to game engine?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Jul 8, 2008 at 9:13:17 AM | Revit to game engine?

#1

Dafpfy


active

Joined: Sat, Dec 29, 2007
286 Posts
3.5 Stars: 11 Votes


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lyzS0oznPQY&feature=related

 

anybody have any idea how this is done?

 

i know counterstike has a mapping program to make game maps but it cannot import anything i think,

i have worked a little bit with this mapping software its kinda easy to work with but making a complex building would take a very long time,

( like this one http://www.revitcity.com/gallery.php?action=view&gallery_id=6187

 

any ideas of other software that can get this kinda result?

 

Kind regards,

 



Edited on: Tue, Jul 8, 2008 at 4:13:43 AM

-----------------------------------

"There is no path to peace,

peace is the path."

Mahatma Gandhi.

 

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 8, 2008 at 2:13:50 PM | Revit to game engine?

#2

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


looks like a 3d max type program with the cloud movement and stuff.

 


-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 8, 2008 at 2:33:19 PM | Revit to game engine?

#3

bauhaus1919


active
bauhaus1919 Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 20, 2006
219 Posts
3.5 Stars: 9 Votes


I really wanted to be able to do this a while back for two reasons. First, client presentations with a navigation system I was already very familiar with (without gun showing) and, secondly, the ability to play games in places that everybody in our office was familiar with...like our own office or the half-scale version of the local university campus that I was trying to build. We used to play Unreal Tournament at lunch...bloody free-for-alls usually, sometimes get a little Architecture and Electrical versus Structural going (shooting a structural engineer in the face relieves a surprising amount of stress). These days, it's Call of Duty 4, but I digress.

 

Unreal comes with a level editor that can import solid import ACIS SAT files (if I'm remembering correctly), which Revit can export. The problems were two-fold: The level editor basically is a solid you void rooms out of, so the export needed extensive, solid-void inversion and room definition exports wouldn't work quite right. Also, the geometries in Revit were much to complex to have any level of detail once it's in the level editor. Gaming environments are, not-surprisingly, extremely simple with mapped images all over them. Basically, it became easier to just build levels from scratch.

 

Again, I'm rambling. Basically, if the game has a level editor, check out the importable formats. If Revit doesn't export any of those, check out Viz or Max as a Revit-exported-import to Level-editor-importable converter. But be prepared to be either disappointed with the game performance or the amount of detail you get to keep.



Edited on: Tue, Jul 8, 2008 at 9:34:59 AM

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 20, 2009 at 4:01:41 AM | Revit to game engine?

#4

timbo89


active
timbo89 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Dec 14, 2007
135 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


Playup Tools are developing a plugin for sketchup where you can take models and put them into the Hammer Editor (for CS:S, HL2 etc) and it's looking very promising. Hopefully a new release will be available soon.

Since you can easily go from Revit to Sketchup this tool would be great if it works!

http://playuptools.blogspot.com/2008/07/frequently-asked-questions.html

http://forums.tf2maps.net/showthread.php?t=3650


-----------------------------------

  • Core 2 Duo E8400 3ghz
  • 756mb Nvidia 9600GSO 256bit
  • 6gb Kingston RAM 800mz DDR2
  • Windows XP Service Pack 3 32-bit

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 20, 2009 at 4:06:28 AM | Revit to game engine?

#5

mtyp


active

Joined: Mon, May 5, 2008
33 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


I'm also excited by this, and you'll be happy to know that the folk over at Autodesk Labs are getting right on board.

Check out their website and look at Project Newport.  This is rumoured to be release early 2009 (i'm hoping for any day now).

The technology was previewed at AU at the end of last year. 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 20, 2009 at 3:24:46 PM | Revit to game engine?

#6

Dafpfy


active

Joined: Sat, Dec 29, 2007
286 Posts
3.5 Stars: 11 Votes


OMG!! thats awsome news !! Smile


-----------------------------------

"There is no path to peace,

peace is the path."

Mahatma Gandhi.

 

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 20, 2009 at 10:37:13 PM | Revit to game engine?

#7

timbo89


active
timbo89 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Dec 14, 2007
135 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


If you guys have 3DS Max check out "Applied IDEAS" by doing a google search. The program is "IViewer3D". I played with their program last night and it's pretty awesome. I think it's only a trial though which sucks.

-----------------------------------

  • Core 2 Duo E8400 3ghz
  • 756mb Nvidia 9600GSO 256bit
  • 6gb Kingston RAM 800mz DDR2
  • Windows XP Service Pack 3 32-bit

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 21, 2009 at 9:42:49 PM | Revit to game engine?

#8

mtyp


active

Joined: Mon, May 5, 2008
33 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


http://labs.autodesk.com/technologies/newport/

 

FAQ and updates appearing now.  looks like its far more than a walkthrough generator.

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 21, 2009 at 10:22:19 PM | Revit to game engine?

#9

mrmoo


active
mrmoo Avatar

Joined: Thu, Sep 13, 2007
66 Posts
2 Stars: 1 Votes


ok... want!  that is an absolutely amazing idea!

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 22, 2009 at 12:10:09 AM | Revit to game engine?

#10

timbo89


active
timbo89 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Dec 14, 2007
135 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


Oh god I can't wait!! Do you guys think it will be free?

Edited on: Wed, Jan 21, 2009 at 6:34:55 PM

-----------------------------------

  • Core 2 Duo E8400 3ghz
  • 756mb Nvidia 9600GSO 256bit
  • 6gb Kingston RAM 800mz DDR2
  • Windows XP Service Pack 3 32-bit

This user is offline

 

Tue, Mar 10, 2009 at 4:45:26 AM | Revit to game engine?

#11

Berryjiveuptown5


active

Joined: Fri, Feb 20, 2009
9 Posts
No Rating


ATTENTION EVERYONE LOOKING TO PUT REVIT MODELS INTO A GAME ENGINE:

Look no further.  The answer lies in the uber-powerful Cryengine 2, which runs the game Crysis.  The game itself (Amazon sells it for $27) comes with the wonderful (and easy to use) map editing software, Sandbox 2. 

In order to get your Revit model into Sandbox, you have to get it into a Collada format and run a script called ColladaCGF found here: http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=235915&package_id=286549 .  The easiest and cheapest way to do this is through a Sketchup export to a Google Earth (.kmz file).  Then, you would take that file and change the extention to a .zip, which will give you a file and and images folder.  Run the script I just mentioned and place the files it outputs into the proper Sandbox folders and you will be able to insert them into your map.  Textures migrate somewhat, but Sandbox is FILLED with great textures, so I would wait to straighten that out in Sandbox.  

If you have any questions, just Google this.  You will find dozens of tutorials and videos on how to do this step by step.  Also, DON"T WORRY ABOUT EXPORTING TREES OR A SITE!  Sandbox lets you paint high-poly trees and sculpt the site very easily.  Hope this helps!  Here's one more link showing the power of the engine/editor:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9g37kcx7J24&feature=related 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Mar 10, 2009 at 10:57:38 AM | Revit to game engine?

#12

KingRevit


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 15, 2007
321 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


cheers ill have to try that.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Lets-play-a-game-of-revit-jeopardy

Community >> The Studio

Fri, May 11, 2012 at 12:36:46 PM

1

What is the best revit/rendering engine combo? [ 1 2 3 ]

Community >> The Studio

Tue, Feb 3, 2015 at 3:40:52 PM

31

video game machine

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Tue, May 9, 2006 at 7:54:56 PM

1

Game- ready model shops

Community >> The Studio

Mon, Jan 25, 2010 at 10:47:26 AM

0

What Render engine

Community >> Newbies

Tue, Oct 16, 2012 at 9:25:03 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1779163

Objects:

22479

Forum Posts:

151939

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 9.8142

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights