RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

49 Users Online (48 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Invisible Dimension Lines

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Jul 7, 2008 at 6:12:34 PM | Invisible Dimension Lines

#1

syoung


active

Joined: Sun, Jan 20, 2008
15 Posts
No Rating


I am using Revit 2009.

Is there ANY way to make the dimension lines invisible? NOT white, or 1point thickness, INVISIBLE...

I really hope there is.

thanks.


-----------------------------------

thanks,Simon.

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jul 8, 2008 at 7:21:13 AM | Invisible Dimension Lines

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 388 Votes


You can set the dimension line thickness but the lowest you can go is 1 and the 1 weigth is the default for a lot of items so I would not change that.  Perhaps you can rework the lineweight chart using the 16 pen and making that very small?  Let us know what you discover.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 21, 2008 at 12:09:01 AM | Invisible Dimension Lines

#3

syoung


active

Joined: Sun, Jan 20, 2008
15 Posts
No Rating


The best we could do was to direct the dimension line to an Annotation Line Weight of 0.025mm which is the smallest possible.

It is hardly noticeble on final plots - better than nothing I suppose.


-----------------------------------

thanks,Simon.

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Jul 21, 2008 at 1:43:23 AM | Invisible Dimension Lines

#4

timbo89


active
timbo89 Avatar

Joined: Thu, Dec 13, 2007
135 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


What part do you want invisible? The tick line, witness line or all of the dimension lines?


-----------------------------------

  • Core 2 Duo E8400 3ghz
  • 756mb Nvidia 9600GSO 256bit
  • 6gb Kingston RAM 800mz DDR2
  • Windows XP Service Pack 3 32-bit

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 21, 2008 at 1:48:19 AM | Invisible Dimension Lines

#5

syoung


active

Joined: Sun, Jan 20, 2008
15 Posts
No Rating


We want all of the dimension lines invisible, so only the text remained.

 

I can shorten/remove most of the tick or witness lines, but the main dimension line is the tricky one.


-----------------------------------

thanks,Simon.

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Jul 21, 2008 at 1:56:40 AM | Invisible Dimension Lines

#6

timbo89


active
timbo89 Avatar

Joined: Thu, Dec 13, 2007
135 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


You cant make the bit under the text invisible, only change its colour or thickness. There is a "fake" dimension line around where you can change the linetype etc, but using this is very time consuming. I'll upload it for you so you can have a play with it. It's under detail component, and when you use it make sure you lock it onto whatever your dimensioning. But really what you suggested earlier with the lineweight thing is the best work-around.



-----------------------------------

  • Core 2 Duo E8400 3ghz
  • 756mb Nvidia 9600GSO 256bit
  • 6gb Kingston RAM 800mz DDR2
  • Windows XP Service Pack 3 32-bit

This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 29, 2011 at 6:04:48 PM | Invisible Dimension Lines

#7

nematsvehclav


active

Joined: Thu, Oct 27, 2011
40 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


Perhaps it wasn’t possible in 2009, which is what you were using when this was posted, but now with RAC 2012, what you are asking for takes a minute to make. Have a look at the attached file. I’m guessing it is what you describe you want. The two dims closer to the object are the ones you ask for and the other two, that are further out from the object, are just normal dims I placed for comparison.

And if you go further you could also set the text size to almost 0, which makes it invisible to the eye. That method I used to lock the 90 degree angle on some walls, which obviously had to be perpendicular, but since everything kept being rotated, everything else previously perpendicular to it was no longer so. Putting the ‘invisible’ dimension and locking it made sure that if I rotate more things would remain perpendicular to each other



Attached Images

101171_Untitled.png

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Invisible lines removed from Line Styels

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Feb 21, 2011 at 12:10:18 PM

1

Dimension String

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Nov 22, 2006 at 3:05:15 PM

2

Invisible Lines Can't Find Them

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, May 14, 2009 at 8:38:06 AM

1

Revit 2009: Invisible lines displaying as dashed lines

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Nov 14, 2009 at 11:57:17 AM

11

Invisible lines not visible in Sheet view?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Dec 17, 2008 at 3:47:53 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1963752

Objects:

22850

Forum Posts:

152159

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.8627

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights