RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

219 Users Online (106 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks >> Wall Thickness variable

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Apr 11, 2005 at 1:02:01 PM | Wall Thickness variable

#1

tecno


Joined: Mon, Apr 11, 2005
5 Posts
No Rating


Good morning, I am a newbie therefore perhaps my question is foolish. Do I have to insert a wall whose thickness is varying, as can I do it? (The varying thickness is in plant, not in height....)

This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 11, 2005 at 6:43:17 PM | RE: Wall Thickness variable

#2

arnosandoval


active

Joined: Mon, Sep 13, 2004
102 Posts
5 Stars: 3 Votes


IF YOUR WALL THICKNESS IS IN PLAN, YOUR BEST BET IS TO USE A STACKED WALL SYSTEM. YOU CAN DETERMINE THE HEIGHTS OF EACH WALL SYSTEM THAT BECOMES PART OF THE STACKED SYSTEM . THIS IS A NEW FEATURE AVAILABLE IN REVIT 7.0. HTH

This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 12, 2005 at 12:45:38 PM | RE: Wall Thickness variable

#3

tecno


Joined: Mon, Apr 11, 2005
5 Posts
No Rating


Thanks about your answer but my problem is other. (Sorry i'm italian user...english isn't my 1st language :-)) i've done a simple example: normal wall was created with revit family, while i want create other wall (with thickness variable) with same mode... How i can do it? Stacked wall system is other method... i've revit 7.0 thanks and sorry

This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 12, 2005 at 1:50:47 PM | RE: Wall Thickness variable

#4

arnosandoval


active

Joined: Mon, Sep 13, 2004
102 Posts
5 Stars: 3 Votes


Ok, I see what you mean. Your best bet is to create an in-place family, choose wall, so that your mass behaves as a wall and the using your extrusion tool create the wall. That would be the easiest way of doing . HTH

This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 12, 2005 at 3:24:37 PM | RE: Wall Thickness variable

#5

tecno


Joined: Mon, Apr 11, 2005
5 Posts
No Rating


Arnosandoval thanks, but be patient.... I have done as you have told me, the wall is created and inserted in the abacus, but I don't succeed in inserting a door or a window. Where am I wrong?

This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 12, 2005 at 3:42:57 PM | RE: Wall Thickness variable

#6

arnosandoval


active

Joined: Mon, Sep 13, 2004
102 Posts
5 Stars: 3 Votes


No problem just trying to help What is the wall made of, is there a cavity inside(thus built from a series of walls) or is it monolithic? Think about how that wall is constructed. If that is something you dont care about. Try inserting the windows and door in elevation, that seems to work See attached HTH

Attached Files

This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 12, 2005 at 4:07:50 PM | RE: Wall Thickness variable

#7

tecno


Joined: Mon, Apr 11, 2005
5 Posts
No Rating


In elevation? boh..is in option of door properties? i want to do like in your example, this is that i want... can do a capture of this 'elevation' option? sorry about lost time....

This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 12, 2005 at 4:13:59 PM | RE: Wall Thickness variable

#8

arnosandoval


active

Joined: Mon, Sep 13, 2004
102 Posts
5 Stars: 3 Votes


Here is the file for you to noodle with. Hope this helps.

Attached Files

This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 12, 2005 at 4:37:44 PM | RE: Wall Thickness variable

#9

tecno


Joined: Mon, Apr 11, 2005
5 Posts
No Rating


yeah thanks very much..with your file i have resolve it... my probles was understand your word 'elevation' LOL in italian elevation sound like PROSPETTO while prospect (similar to prospetto) sound like prospettiva..... counfusion? yes a bit !!! :-) thanks for helps !!!

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Variable Thickness Wall?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Feb 11, 2017 at 12:09:58 AM

4

Roof with variable thickness on sloping framing

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jan 20, 2010 at 4:12:06 PM

1

Wall layer thickness turned "variable"

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 21, 2013 at 8:25:34 PM

1

Wall Thickness in Type Parameter

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jun 1, 2018 at 12:39:15 PM

5

Sloped solid roof with variable thickness

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Feb 21, 2017 at 10:09:24 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1756354

Objects:

22370

Forum Posts:

151876

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.5714

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights