RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

311 Users Online (183 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Image export

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Jun 26, 2008 at 5:15:31 PM | Image export

#1

SteveB


active

Joined: Sat, Oct 25, 2003
411 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


When you wish to export a .jpg and use file/export/image  the export image screen has image size settings.  When you try to export an image of larger size than the program can handle, it simply doesn't do it, no message screen.  (you can verify this by setting on the lowest resolution then trying with ever increasing resolution - soon no file is created).  This is, obviously, not good. 

 Are there any other work-arounds to get higher resolution exports???


This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jun 26, 2008 at 6:32:40 PM | Image export

#2

bauhaus1919


active
bauhaus1919 Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 20, 2006
219 Posts
3.5 Stars: 9 Votes


My work around is to print to PDF then throw the PDF into PhotoShop and rasterize it at a very high resolution. For example, a 36x48 rasterized to 600dpi creates a 21600x28800 pixel image which, if I remember correctly, is well above the Export Image limit.  You could probably set up a "Print to JPG" plotter like I used to do in AutoCAD, but I haven't done enough of this to justify trying to figure it out in Revit. Hope this gets you to where you want to be.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 26, 2008 at 6:39:45 PM | Image export

#3

SteveB


active

Joined: Sat, Oct 25, 2003
411 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


that sounds like a good plan.   I would like to find that print to JPG plotter utility, is it in windows?  it doesnt exist tin Revit. 

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Dec 8, 2008 at 3:44:32 AM | Image export

#4

Frumpty1


active
Frumpty1 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Dec 3, 2008
2 Posts
No Rating


Exporting As a TIFF Format file also seems to keep the image at scale.

-----------------------------------

*** Never say Revit can't do that... you just don't know how yet. ***

This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 2, 2009 at 4:19:16 PM | Image export

#5

ervinrw


active

Joined: Mon, Nov 3, 2008
1 Posts
No Rating


if you want to maximize resolution, printing to a PDF is absolutely the way to go......  another helpful trick is when you are rendering a large file size (80 mb+), that has high resolution settings (300,600)....you can render the view in sections, print them to PDFs and assemble them in photoshop under your required DPI settings.....this has proven to be very effective for me

This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 22, 2009 at 5:36:32 PM | Image export

#6

brainatoms


active

Joined: Wed, May 13, 2009
30 Posts
No Rating


Any idea what the export image limit is (or why there is one)?

It seems to me that if the program can render the image, it should be able to export it, right?


This user is offline

 

Sat, Oct 24, 2009 at 11:25:00 PM | Image export

#7

Frumpty1


active
Frumpty1 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Dec 3, 2008
2 Posts
No Rating


I have not found any limits to what can be exported. Your computer may have difficulty exporting a very large file especially if you are using a large DPI setting for export. I know if you do not have your window constraints set up correctly it may create these problems on an otherwise simple looking export. For one of the following reasons:

- if you have a small part of a toposurface (or any object) far beyond your screen view

- one of your elevation tabs is far outside your screenview

- you are exporting it at too large of a scale i.e. 1" - 1'

These will make an otherwise small file become extremely large to export and make you computer take hours to export the file and likely crash your computers memory. To avoid this, try creating a callout in the view tab and select just what you are trying to export.

Colin


-----------------------------------

*** Never say Revit can't do that... you just don't know how yet. ***

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Export an Image shortcut help.

Community >> Newbies

Fri, Jan 18, 2019 at 3:57:25 PM

6

Incorrect Image Export Size

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 12, 2010 at 8:18:51 AM

1

HELP! I just rendered an Image and it wont export or save!

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Oct 14, 2011 at 2:59:04 PM

3

Capture Rendering/Export Image

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 15, 2007 at 3:34:26 PM

2

embedded image in export to cad

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Oct 1, 2015 at 12:38:51 AM

5

Site Stats

Members:

1454081

Objects:

20602

Forum Posts:

150690

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.7408

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights