RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

211 Users Online (79 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware >> Need opinion on the Quadro FX cards

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Jun 18, 2008 at 4:16:37 PM | Need opinion on the Quadro FX cards

#1

Archimatt


active

Joined: Fri, Jun 6, 2008
12 Posts
No Rating


I'm look at next year getting new machines cause our lease is up at the end of 08.  I know the FX 3700 is alot better than the FX 570, but is the boost worth the money for Revit?

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Jun 20, 2008 at 9:05:10 AM | Need opinion on the Quadro FX cards

#2

Elmo


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 19, 2006
144 Posts
3.5 Stars: 4 Votes


Good question and one I believe is not easily answered. The main reason being does Revit support the better graphics card? Then of course you will have to ask yourself will the better graphics be a better option in the long run because they might be upping the the performance in Revit 2010. Well that is what I have heard anyway.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jun 20, 2008 at 3:25:56 PM | Need opinion on the Quadro FX cards

#3

Archimatt


active

Joined: Fri, Jun 6, 2008
12 Posts
No Rating


I talked with someone at a Revit Seminar the other night.  His opinion was that the videocard doesnt really matter except for shadows.  He told me the most important thing to consentrate on is processor(s) and RAM.  RAM most of all.

I guess I'd like to know from others who have upgraded recently or knows more about this stuff what their opinions are.

Thanks Elmo for responding.


This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Jun 23, 2008 at 12:24:57 PM | Need opinion on the Quadro FX cards

#4

Elmo


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 19, 2006
144 Posts
3.5 Stars: 4 Votes


Well it is true that at this time only processer and ram are the major factors for rendering. This of course makes things a little difficult. So what I've recently upgraded was my motherboard processar and ram since those 3 work in close relation to each other.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 24, 2008 at 9:06:21 PM | Need opinion on the Quadro FX cards

#5

lunchtrayrider


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 25, 2007
592 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


honestly check out the wikipedia page on quadro fx cards.  tells you in a nice chart the chipsets used in all the cards.  then you can see whats really under to hood without a lot of research.

 

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quadro_FX

 

 


-----------------------------------
I like scooters. and motorcycles.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 12, 2008 at 12:55:24 PM | Need opinion on the Quadro FX cards

#6

johnpaulrogers


active

Joined: Thu, Sep 27, 2007
15 Posts
No Rating


Hi, Thanks for the information, I've only just come across the dilema of GeForce or Quadro for my new intended computer.  Just wanted to knwo whether you guys were talking about Revit 2009?  Does anyone know whether Mental Ray has a preference towards GeForce cards or Quadro cards, or whether it's just the beastier the card the better? 

 I'm having trouble deciding what how much each affects rendering times, the processor or the graphics card, can anyone help?

 Cheers, J-P


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Aug 12, 2008 at 1:20:44 PM | Need opinion on the Quadro FX cards

#7

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


The graphic card it's very important and you must spend some money in that but to improve time in render you must focus in processor and ram, until now Revit it's not MULTI-PROCESSOR (YET) but with OS 64bits (XP, Vista) "He" takes all RAM you have in your machine so...

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 12, 2008 at 2:46:11 PM | Need opinion on the Quadro FX cards

#8

lunchtrayrider


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 25, 2007
592 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


ati just announced a new line of firepro workstation cards.  one of them is supposed to only be $99.  I would probably just go with that if you don't want to spend a lot of money.  Otherwise their next step up is $599.

-----------------------------------
I like scooters. and motorcycles.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 14, 2008 at 8:00:03 AM | Need opinion on the Quadro FX cards

#9

DaveF


active

Joined: Sun, Mar 26, 2006
83 Posts
No Rating


Hi

Putting aside Revit for a moment, i'm having problems with the resolution with Quadro FX570 & Dell 2009Wt widescreen monitor.

I had the Quadro with a regular screen & it was fine at 1600x1200. 

1600x1200 stretches on the widescreen so that circle appear ovoid. At 1440x900 (non stretched) the screen space is less than with a regular aspect screen.

The quality of text, say, within Outlook is very poor.

Tried another PC with the widescreen & a Radeon X1300 PRO which have 1680x1050 (didn't stretch) screen space was good & text quality sharp.

Given that the Radeon wins for general windows appearence, is there any preference for either when using Revit?

Cheers

Dave F.

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 14, 2008 at 5:49:16 PM | Need opinion on the Quadro FX cards

#10

lunchtrayrider


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 25, 2007
592 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


you need to use a widescreen resolution when using a widescreen monitor.  1600x1200 (4:3) is not widescreen and will make everything look like crap.

-----------------------------------
I like scooters. and motorcycles.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Aug 15, 2008 at 2:13:00 PM | Need opinion on the Quadro FX cards

#11

DaveF


active

Joined: Sun, Mar 26, 2006
83 Posts
No Rating


Turns out the IT dept. connected them using VGA instead of DVI.

Still not convinced about the benefit of widescreen for CAD use.

Or any use come to that, other than watching DVD's.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Aug 15, 2008 at 2:29:13 PM | Need opinion on the Quadro FX cards

#12

Archimatt


active

Joined: Fri, Jun 6, 2008
12 Posts
No Rating


DaveF,

I'm with you there.  My firm has been using 20" widescreens and I'm going to be seriously pushing for dual 19"LCDs.  The widescreens are good for comparing word docs and websites, but not CAD or Revit.

Are you happy with FX570 performance now that you know it was a connection issue?

I'm not really a fan of ATI.  I really hate their drivers.


This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Aug 15, 2008 at 2:44:53 PM | Need opinion on the Quadro FX cards

#13

DaveF


active

Joined: Sun, Mar 26, 2006
83 Posts
No Rating


Early days yet but it seems OK. also had a ram upgrade so it's difficult to tell which gave the preformance boost but the images/lines appear sharp.

I've noticed I have to do more scrolling with widescreens when using pdf or word docs.

I'm asking for my old monitors back!

 

 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Revit 2014 Update 2 crashes constantly on Nvidia Quadro FX 3800 cards [ 1 2 ]

Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware

Mon, Sep 21, 2015 at 4:28:23 AM

17

Revit 2013 GPU Rendering using - Quadro 2000, 4000, & 6000

Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware

Wed, Apr 10, 2013 at 3:17:50 PM

10

Nvidia GTX 295 vs Quadro

Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware

Fri, Feb 13, 2009 at 6:10:29 PM

1

Any REAL issues in using nVidia GeForce Cards vs. nVidia Quadro FX cards???

Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware

Mon, Feb 10, 2014 at 3:12:20 PM

4

Dual video cards

Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware

Wed, Nov 24, 2010 at 9:27:00 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1650515

Objects:

22097

Forum Posts:

151691

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.0515

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights