RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

324 Users Online (180 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Opposite formula

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Jun 18, 2008 at 4:10:53 PM | Opposite formula

#1

KingRevit


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 15, 2007
321 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


Hi I am terring to create a formula for the visibility of a family. So far I have a yes/no paramater for approved <APPROVED> or not approved. I have another yes/no paramater the visibility of the family <VISIBLE>. I would like if I ticked (yes/1) for APPROVED then the VISIBLE would be Un-Ticked (no/0). how do I write this in a formula.

I know its probably simple and i have tried what i can but don't be able to get it too work.

I have tried

IF (APPROVED=1,1,0)

APPROVED>1

APPROVED<0

Thanks in Advance. 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 18, 2008 at 4:19:04 PM | Opposite formula

#2

brettgoodchild


active
brettgoodchild Avatar

Joined: Sat, Feb 4, 2006
425 Posts
4 Stars: 17 Votes


Set one to "not" equal the other.

 

ie.

------------------------------------

Value                     Formula

Approved               =

Not Approved         =  No(approved)


-----------------------------------

"You cannot escape the responsibility of tomorrow by evading it today. "
                             ~ Abraham Lincoln

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 18, 2008 at 4:19:44 PM | Opposite formula

#3

brettgoodchild


active
brettgoodchild Avatar

Joined: Sat, Feb 4, 2006
425 Posts
4 Stars: 17 Votes


That's supposed to be not (Approved)....having a bad typing day

-----------------------------------

"You cannot escape the responsibility of tomorrow by evading it today. "
                             ~ Abraham Lincoln

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 18, 2008 at 4:24:34 PM | Opposite formula

#4

brettgoodchild


active
brettgoodchild Avatar

Joined: Sat, Feb 4, 2006
425 Posts
4 Stars: 17 Votes


I wrote a better example of this in another post on here...I think it was called yes/no parameters or something like that.

-----------------------------------

"You cannot escape the responsibility of tomorrow by evading it today. "
                             ~ Abraham Lincoln

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 19, 2008 at 10:27:47 AM | Opposite formula

#5

KingRevit


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 15, 2007
321 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


Hi still cant get this to work maybe I overcomplicated my first post

 

All I want to do is have 2 paramaters

 

<p1> & <p2>

 

both are yes no paramaters.

 

If I tick <p1> I want <p2> to be unticked. Sounds simple! but finding it imposible.

 

Any more help would be much appriciated.

Thanks.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 19, 2008 at 12:20:05 PM | Opposite formula

#6

Elmo


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 19, 2006
144 Posts
3.5 Stars: 4 Votes


You dont need a third parameter to control this. As Brett said all you need to do is inside your one parameter at the formula place type not(p1) and it should do what you want.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 19, 2008 at 2:19:25 PM | Opposite formula

#7

KingRevit


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 15, 2007
321 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


thank you thank you thank you

NOT

 

this is all you have to place before the name of another paramater which is in brackets.

Sorry my dislexcia made me not understand brett.

revit help can be so crap as nowhere to do with scheluing doesa it say you can use <not>

 knew it would be simple. i will give u both 5 stars.

Thank you.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 19, 2008 at 2:23:46 PM | Opposite formula

#8

KingRevit


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 15, 2007
321 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


i actually meant thank you. the not after the thank you was to do with the paramater controler.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jun 20, 2008 at 8:46:44 AM | Opposite formula

#9

Elmo


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 19, 2006
144 Posts
3.5 Stars: 4 Votes


The information is in the help file but it wont be under scheduling. It will be under the formula section.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

yes/no and if/then

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Oct 17, 2014 at 6:58:37 PM

1

Using schedule total in formula?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Apr 4, 2014 at 3:29:50 PM

9

One family parameter has formula one has none

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Wed, Jun 25, 2014 at 6:05:54 PM

7

Parameter Formula

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Mar 5, 2010 at 6:09:09 PM

6

need help with a formula for my calculated value

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jan 30, 2014 at 7:03:02 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1652385

Objects:

22103

Forum Posts:

151693

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.3052

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights