RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

335 Users Online (160 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Architectural column accepting wall properties but not sweeps

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Jun 12, 2008 at 4:46:03 PM | Architectural column accepting wall properties but not sweeps

#1

AbelGoddard


active
AbelGoddard Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 28, 2008
15 Posts
No Rating


So, that says it. I have an architectural column that accepts the wall properties (plan view brick and wood studs, 3d/elevation view brick skin), but won't show the soldier course of brick or the cap at the top. Any ideas?

I'm using Architecture 2009.



Edited on: Thu, Jun 12, 2008 at 1:56:36 PM

Attached Images

38780_Column_sweep_issue.jpg

-----------------------------------

Helping you Be Able to be the person you want to be!

Sign up for my free newsletter, Being Able, at http://www.AbelGoddard.com

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jun 12, 2008 at 6:10:13 PM | Architectural column accepting wall properties but not sweeps

#2

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


Hi, you can solve this creating a family "Generic Model Face based", where in can put some parameters like "Lenght, With and height" and give the material you want...
 

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 12, 2008 at 6:12:23 PM | Architectural column accepting wall properties but not sweeps

#3

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


By the way, you can "Edit" your posts by click in the right arro where is " #1 ", then click "Edit"...

 



Edited on: Thu, Jun 12, 2008 at 1:12:44 PM

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 12, 2008 at 6:16:14 PM | Architectural column accepting wall properties but not sweeps

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


Even though generic columns assume the finish of the walls, they are not a wall so sweeps do not work on them.  Do as Typhoon says....OR use the split-face and pour on your finish.  I think Typhoon's way would be easier because you can copy it around.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 12, 2008 at 6:47:30 PM | Architectural column accepting wall properties but not sweeps

#5

AbelGoddard


active
AbelGoddard Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 28, 2008
15 Posts
No Rating


So, you're saying to create a separate object for each column, to act as a soldier course wrap? I'm not sure I understand what Typhoon's first comment is trying to say...  :-(

-----------------------------------

Helping you Be Able to be the person you want to be!

Sign up for my free newsletter, Being Able, at http://www.AbelGoddard.com

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jun 12, 2008 at 7:01:28 PM | Architectural column accepting wall properties but not sweeps

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


I think typhoon is suggesting that it is a family .... a "belt" or girdle that wraps around the column and you could place it at the right height.  Even though your normal soldier course might be flush with the wall, you will probably want this girdle to be slightly proud of the wall (1/16" ?) so that the soldier course is applied over the wall finish.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 12, 2008 at 7:03:06 PM | Architectural column accepting wall properties but not sweeps

#7

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


Hi again, it's simple, you can create a family "File-New-Family", choose "Generic Model Face based", then with Ref planes and dimension the Parameters (Lenght, With, tickness and Heigh) create a "Solid Extrusion" like a rectangle for example attached to the Ref. Planes where you can give a material to your object, so Save with a name and "Load To Project", go to in left "Project Browser" and in "Families" open "Generic Models" and there is the new element you did create, then pick and drag to the column, after this you can adjust this element in your column and change the Parameters, it's simple...

 

Edited on: Thu, Jun 12, 2008 at 2:11:12 PM

Edited on: Thu, Jun 12, 2008 at 2:11:51 PM

Attached Images

38797_Image1.png

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Wall sweeps on columns

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, May 28, 2009 at 1:20:32 PM

1

Angling Wall Sweeps

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Aug 15, 2011 at 6:26:41 PM

8

ARCHITECTURAL COLUMN ISSUE

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Feb 14, 2014 at 2:50:50 AM

2

Best way of creating column casings

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Aug 19, 2011 at 7:17:12 AM

2

Column Join issue

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Thu, Oct 12, 2017 at 3:10:15 AM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1651178

Objects:

22098

Forum Posts:

151692

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.1582

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights