RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

265 Users Online (122 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Autocad 3d solids dissapear once I 'full explode' the model in Revit

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Jun 12, 2008 at 12:56:22 AM | Autocad 3d solids dissapear once I 'full explode' the model in Revit

#1

KennyGee


active
KennyGee Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 6, 2008
68 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


What I am trying to accomplish is to convert a heap of Autocad 3d models of fixtures into Revit.

I import the 3d model dwg into a Family file.  I select 'full explode' as I hope to re-use the existing geometry to create my family.  Once the 'full explode' is activated I get an error 'Import contained 3D data or points which can't be exploded. Only 2D data was exploded.'

Is there anyway around this????? 


-----------------------------------

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jun 12, 2008 at 1:10:24 AM | Autocad 3d solids dissapear once I 'full explode' the model in Revit

#2

mhans


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 7, 2006
456 Posts
3 Stars: 10 Votes


I think not. 3dmesh and 3dsolids from autocad (and even the one's that were done with sketchup) should not be exploded once  import them to revit. You can only Move-Copy-Rotate-Array-Mirror-Scale.

-----------------------------------

Motto: "No Post left behind"

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 12, 2008 at 1:27:52 AM | Autocad 3d solids dissapear once I 'full explode' the model in Revit

#3

KennyGee


active
KennyGee Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 6, 2008
68 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


So, in your opinion do you suggest tracing these models in Revit???? then dumping the Autocad data 


-----------------------------------

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jun 12, 2008 at 1:59:16 AM | Autocad 3d solids dissapear once I 'full explode' the model in Revit

#4

mhans


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 7, 2006
456 Posts
3 Stars: 10 Votes


If it's for schematics you can use them as they are, but not for Design Devt or Const Doc. because of their limitations. Tracing over them will help because you can pick corners and sides. I normally import 3d models (from acad or skp) as standalone objects or as backgrounds.

-----------------------------------

Motto: "No Post left behind"

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 12, 2008 at 2:07:12 AM | Autocad 3d solids dissapear once I 'full explode' the model in Revit

#5

KennyGee


active
KennyGee Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 6, 2008
68 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Cheers

Im starting to trace. Not as much work as I thought as there are alot of common parts/peices (my guts went one way and my legs went the other Smile ) Im gonna creat a heap of nesteed families. Giddy up.

They are for  Design Devt or Const Documents.


-----------------------------------

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Can't explode in 2010

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Apr 17, 2009 at 9:13:21 PM

1

Geodesic Dome

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Oct 20, 2005 at 4:27:33 AM

6

Disillusionedwith Revit

Community >> The Studio

Tue, Aug 22, 2006 at 11:57:21 PM

6

AutoCAD and Revit

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Mon, Apr 29, 2013 at 12:23:19 PM

3

section view with imported Autocad 3d solids

Community >> Newbies

Tue, Mar 18, 2008 at 2:17:01 AM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1457174

Objects:

20593

Forum Posts:

150674

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.1824

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights