RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

211 Users Online (71 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Systems >> Technical Support >> Showing columns from the floor above

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Jun 9, 2008 at 3:47:21 PM | Showing columns from the floor above

#1

JHerget


active

Joined: Mon, May 12, 2008
26 Posts
No Rating


I'm trying to show the columns from the plan above(level3) that bear on the beams on the current plan(level2). I can achieve this by changing the cut plane to cut above the framing and throught those particular columns, but the above columns are displayed darker than the columns supporting the beams. What i'm trying to show, is the columns on level 3 to display lighter than the columns on level 2. I have been experimenting with underlays to try to accomplish this, but am still new the the program, and can't seem to figure it out. Or perhaps there is a way to change the view properties to show cut columns lighter than the ones below? Any help would be appreciated.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 9, 2008 at 4:20:57 PM | Showing columns from the floor above

#2

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


Hi, you can go VP and change "Underlay" but you can try to do this: pick in columns and with right button select "Override graphics In View - By Element" and choose "Halftone".

This is what you want?

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 9, 2008 at 4:37:01 PM | Showing columns from the floor above

#3

JHerget


active

Joined: Mon, May 12, 2008
26 Posts
No Rating


But wouldn't that change all my columns to halftone? I only want the ones above displayed as such. Also, when i use level 3 as an underlay, the columns on that particular level  aren't even showing up on the level 2 plan. Shouldn't using level 3 as my underlay display exactly what is shown on that plan?

Edited on: Mon, Jun 9, 2008 at 11:38:38 AM

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 9, 2008 at 5:49:28 PM | Showing columns from the floor above

#4

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


Why don't you try, if you use "Override graphics In View - By Element" only affect the elements you select before not the others, if you select "Override graphics In View - By Category" affect all columns, but i think you must use underlay option...

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 9, 2008 at 6:36:19 PM | Showing columns from the floor above

#5

JHerget


active

Joined: Mon, May 12, 2008
26 Posts
No Rating


Thanks. The "By Element" option works to achieve what i want. I'll probly use that for now, until i'm more familiar with the underlay command. Appeciate the help.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 9, 2008 at 6:49:48 PM | Showing columns from the floor above

#6

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


You welcome...

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Steel columns do not display in detail view

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Dec 22, 2008 at 11:13:31 PM

5

hidden steel columns showing as solid

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Tue, Nov 23, 2010 at 6:18:43 PM

3

Columns not showing up in elevations??

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, May 31, 2006 at 11:18:44 PM

4

COLUMNS COUNT BY FLOOR

Community >> The Studio

Thu, May 23, 2013 at 5:51:30 PM

1

Beams not showing in floor plans but can see in 3D

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 17, 2012 at 3:02:08 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1635307

Objects:

22069

Forum Posts:

151665

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.5668

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights