RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

147 Users Online (36 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Wishlist >> help with my 2.5K joist. got a file attached if someone could help

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Jun 5, 2008 at 12:31:52 PM | help with my 2.5K joist. got a file attached if someone could help

#1

Grr8


active
Grr8 Avatar

Joined: Mon, Jan 14, 2008
11 Posts
2 Stars: 1 Votes


Ok,  I have finally created the 2.5K jost I want as a family and it imports great when I import it into a project but one little problem. I want the joist to be adjustable and it stays at only one length is there any code or formula I am missing out on or ref. plane?? I created the joist at 10' and thats close to the limits of a 2.5K joist for load and length or be able to shorten it down near 2' but it stays at 10' when I draw it out in the project after inserting. Why is it that I can draw a standard joist out of component manager and it o the length I need but I create this custom 2.5K joist which looks like a beam made of (4) 1 1/4" X 1/8" angles just stay at one length? I need to know how to make my custom joist adjustable to length with the dimension limits between 2' and 10',   please help, thanks    email me back at mgore@geotechengineers.net or reply to the thread here, thanks!

-----------------------------------

Thanks,

 Matthew Gore 

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 5, 2008 at 12:48:05 PM | help with my 2.5K joist. got a file attached if someone could help

#2

azcop


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 31, 2007
23 Posts
No Rating


Hi there.

I noticed you've created the I-Beam in four sections. Is there any reason for this?

Also one possible cause for any errors is the way it is dimensioned. Try inserting a dimension string which goes [end - centre reference line - end] then make these dimensions equal. This should then allow the "Length" parameter to function properly.

Any reason for the additional dimensioned references (six off)? This could also be causing some concerns.

Please forgive my ignorance if I am missing something.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 5, 2008 at 12:53:38 PM | help with my 2.5K joist. got a file attached if someone could help

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


You need to put a reference plane in your drawing and use that.  Place it somewhere beyond what you already have.   Add a dimension to locate it and change the dimension to an instance (or type) based label parameter.  Now edit your geometry by moving it to the reference plane and locking it. 

 

(don't just dimension it to the plane because that will not work.  REVIT needs the reference to be there prior to the element.  Since you are doing it backwards, you need to edit the element.)

 

Now test your family by selecting type then changing the parameter you just adde.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 5, 2008 at 2:02:19 PM | help with my 2.5K joist. got a file attached if someone could help

#4

Grr8


active
Grr8 Avatar

Joined: Mon, Jan 14, 2008
11 Posts
2 Stars: 1 Votes


i have done what you suggested but now when i draw it out and they do adust they do not stay equal in length its like they have thier own mind i whave attacked it again so if you want to mess with it and see what else im missing it would be greatly app!

thanks



-----------------------------------

Thanks,

 Matthew Gore 

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

The iLevel TJI roof joist revit file

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jul 9, 2010 at 4:28:51 PM

0

Joist end editing

Revit Structure >> Tips & Tricks

Wed, Sep 22, 2010 at 4:49:50 PM

2

Sloped joist line type

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Nov 25, 2010 at 6:25:02 PM

1

Joist Seats on sloped joists

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, Oct 24, 2012 at 6:27:46 PM

13

Warped Roof with bar joist

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Jan 28, 2010 at 6:33:59 PM

6

Site Stats

Members:

1780251

Objects:

22479

Forum Posts:

151947

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.7104

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights