RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

208 Users Online (48 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> 2 Days Rendering...38% Complete 2009 Slow Rendering

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>

Wed, Jun 4, 2008 at 1:07:44 PM | 2 Days Rendering...38% Complete 2009 Slow Rendering

#1

Bigswede


active

Joined: Wed, Jan 12, 2005
2 Posts
No Rating


I am working on a simple Ice Arena. The arena is nothing more than a box with a few interior wall, roof trusses, roof deck,  concrete floor, hockey boards & glass and some interior signs. There are several interior lights, which I turned off in the rendering, I am using studio lights  and the signs on the wall light up.

The rendering is set at BEST and 150 dpi for printer.

 I started the rendering 1 day 14 hours and 56 minutes ago and it is still rendering.

The pc it is rendering on has a 2.4ghz Pentium 4 with 1 GB RAM.  Pretty much the minnimum requirements as listed by Autodesk.

With older verisons Overrnight would normally be enough time to render just about anything.

Is this what we should be expecting in the future???

We are looking at an new Dual processor, with 4+ GB RAM and high end Video Card..How much will this help?? 

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 4, 2008 at 1:23:08 PM | 2 Days Rendering...38% Complete 2009 Slow Rendering

#2

JAMESHGRIMES


site moderator|||
JAMESHGRIMES Avatar

Joined: Fri, Apr 14, 2006
584 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


Autodesk recommends a 2 Gig ram minimum for even moderate performance. Currently Revit is not multi-processor capable. The upgrade you mentioned would probably make a difference. That is about what I am running and I don't experience and a huge slow-down when rendering. It is still slow but not more than a couple of hours so far.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 4, 2008 at 2:23:40 PM | 2 Days Rendering...38% Complete 2009 Slow Rendering

#3

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


Hi there, hi have a dual-core 2 2.4Ghz with 3Gb Ram, Ati 512 and isolate Revit with SMP SeeSaw in one core and an INTERIOR Render in the BEST quality like you it take about 17 hours to do it....

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 4, 2008 at 6:29:29 PM | 2 Days Rendering...38% Complete 2009 Slow Rendering

#4

mmib18


active
mmib18 Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 17, 2008
2 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


hmm i have 2gb ram 3.8 dual core prosseor  and 1 gb N-vidia graphic card , yet its taking like 9 hrs for interior rendering

 

M'A salaam

IRFANSmile 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 4, 2008 at 6:44:00 PM | 2 Days Rendering...38% Complete 2009 Slow Rendering

#5

JAMESHGRIMES


site moderator|||
JAMESHGRIMES Avatar

Joined: Fri, Apr 14, 2006
584 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


I guess I haven't rendered very big files yet. I have seen a slow down in rendering time, but not anything to the degree that you guys are talking about. I will try to render one of my bigger files when I get a chance and see if I am getting the same numbers.

I am using a Dual 2.8 Ghz processor, 4 Gb Ram, with a NVIDIA graphics card.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 4, 2008 at 11:00:05 PM | 2 Days Rendering...38% Complete 2009 Slow Rendering

#6

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


I find interior renderings very slow.

Even on my Core 2 Duo E6850 with 8GB RAM, if you need these fast I suggest exporting to MAX if you have it available as it is a LOT faster...

Exterior renderings with just sun lighting I find are quicker than Accurender was with a lot better quality.

If you plan on doing lots of rendering then Quad Core would be advisable as the rendering engine I believe can take advantage of up to 8 cores... (I think)


-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jun 5, 2008 at 5:17:11 AM | 2 Days Rendering...38% Complete 2009 Slow Rendering

#7

KennyGee


active
KennyGee Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 6, 2008
68 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Coming from a visualisation background I would say that you should customise your rendering settings rather than simply selecting 'Best'

Also, make sure you have as few glossy materials as possible, As glossy materials and Glass really slow down the rendering.

Try to set your rendering to medium (copy to custom) but change the antialiasing to 6-8 (8 is default for Best)

What we used to do in maya was to hide the glass and assign a flat grey material to everything to get an idea of render speed/quality.

But if all else fails, export into max and render there as Mr Spot suggests

Well, that’s my 20 cents

Good luck mate

 

Edited on: Thu, Jun 5, 2008 at 12:18:11 AM

Edited on: Thu, Jun 5, 2008 at 12:19:04 AM

-----------------------------------

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jun 19, 2008 at 6:03:12 PM | 2 Days Rendering...38% Complete 2009 Slow Rendering

#8

faitbuf


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 11, 2007
19 Posts
No Rating


I have also found rendering with artificial lighting to be very slow.  I have had inconsistent success when leaving the computer to render overnight, but this typically is only when using sun and no artificial lighting for exterior scenes.  Other times when I have tried using the high quality settings and artificial lights, I've found when I come back in the morning that my image is completely black, as if nothing rendered at all.

 Also wondering if there is a maximum number of artifical lights that is practical to use.  I'm currently trying to do a night shot of a 20-story hotel without overwhelming my processors.


This user is offline

 

Sun, Jun 22, 2008 at 11:40:56 AM | 2 Days Rendering...38% Complete 2009 Slow Rendering

#9

MichaelM


active
MichaelM Avatar

Joined: Tue, Dec 7, 2004
4 Posts
No Rating


Same problem. 

I am running a 2 gig virtual memory and a render that took 20 minutes in 2008 with accurender is 15 hours into it and it is only 17% done.  Explain to me how this is an improvement over accurender?  For those of us in the real work world this is not an advantage.  I am no luddite, but so far I cannot appreciate the superior quality of the new render because I can't wait 100 hours for it to finish.

I've gotten around the blackscreen on interiors by juicing up my light sources and increasing reflection bounces.  I know that is costing me time but what else could I do?   I will see if that fix package will help interior renders.  But I don't want to throw away 15 hours on the hopes it will change things.  So how come in the all the cons this problem was not mentioned? 

Hey, I back in the 1990s I would render and entire 3 minute 3ds animation of my buildings in 3 days on a 486!!!!  Now the same time for a single image?  I remember a version of Revit about 5 years ago, the rendering application was so bad, I did not render images for about a year.  I would do hidden line only and hand color.  Useless!

If I could save my current project as a 2008, I might just go back to render.


This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Jun 27, 2008 at 2:46:58 PM | 2 Days Rendering...38% Complete 2009 Slow Rendering

#10

faitbuf


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 11, 2007
19 Posts
No Rating


I haven't found a way to get Revit to utilize 8 cores.  I've got dual 2.0 Ghz quad core processors with about 8 gigs of RAM but it looks like I'm only using a maximum of 4 cores (50% of the computer's total capacity) at any given time.  Mr. Spot, is there a way to boost the number of cores Revit is using?  I can open two sessions of Revit and run a second render which makes the other 4 cores kick in, but that's not really what I'm looking for.

Working on two renderings right now that are on "Best" settings at 150 dpi...one is 10% complete and the other is 18%.  Both have been running for around 18 hours.


This user is offline

 

Sun, Jun 29, 2008 at 11:00:33 PM | 2 Days Rendering...38% Complete 2009 Slow Rendering

#11

KennyGee


active
KennyGee Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 6, 2008
68 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


It would be nice if you could render in segments as you can do with a simple command in a command line using stand alone MR – then take these segments into PS to work your magic.  If Autodesk really want to take there customers seriously they need to provide a more well rounded renderer - that utilises ALL hardware aswell as more customization within MR - which includes command line options.  I hate the excuse - Just buy max design and take it into there to render.  WELL, that’s another step along with forcing firms to spend more cash.

Sorry for the aggressiveness - but I’ve gotta deal with Monday morning blues somehow. 


-----------------------------------

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Jun 30, 2008 at 1:21:28 PM | 2 Days Rendering...38% Complete 2009 Slow Rendering

#12

faitbuf


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 11, 2007
19 Posts
No Rating


Hmmm...here's an idea.  Why not render the same view using 2 regions that are both half of the image?  Seems like that could be a workaround to use all of the hardware.  Then take the two halves and put them together like KennyGee suggests in PS.  Haven't tried it but can't think of why that wouldn't be effective.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 30, 2008 at 3:08:20 PM | faitbuf

#13

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


Quoting faitbuf from 2008-06-27 09:46:58

"

I haven't found a way to get Revit to utilize 8 cores.  I've got dual 2.0 Ghz quad core processors with about 8 gigs of RAM but it looks like I'm only using a maximum of 4 cores (50% of the computer's total capacity) at any given time.  Mr. Spot, is there a way to boost the number of cores Revit is using?  I can open two sessions of Revit and run a second render which makes the other 4 cores kick in, but that's not really what I'm looking for.

Working on two renderings right now that are on "Best" settings at 150 dpi...one is 10% complete and the other is 18%.  Both have been running for around 18 hours.

"
you have 2 Quad core processors in this system. WOW!! other than rendering, what do you think of the performance of of this system as it relates to Revit. i heard that Archicad is shipping a Multi-core version of it's software. Hopefully Revit will soon.

-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 30, 2008 at 3:12:01 PM | 2 Days Rendering...38% Complete 2009 Slow Rendering

#14

stevelj


active

Joined: Mon, Jan 9, 2006
23 Posts
No Rating


Forget using best unless you really need it. We have found thur T&E that medium printer quality at 150 dpi works fine for most of our interior renderings. They usually take around 60-90 min. These include shiny and rflective surfaces, glass et.c

We use quad cores w/8 g of ram and 3.0 proces.

If you really need high end stuff try using a renderfarm very inexpensive for single shots. try link below.

http://www.rendercore.com/


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 30, 2008 at 7:32:18 PM | 2 Days Rendering...38% Complete 2009 Slow Rendering

#15

faitbuf


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 11, 2007
19 Posts
No Rating


My company bought this system for the exclusive purpose of rendering, so we typically have it running those images.  We all have separate (slower) machines that we generally use for normal Revit modelling.  For the few times when I've used our rendering PC for modelling, it runs just fine. 

I am finding out that using the "best" setting just isn't worth the time.  I eventually cancelled one that had been running for 3 days, 19 hours without finishing up.  I'm beginning to switch to the customized settings based on "medium" but adjusting anti-aliasing, soft shadows, etc. as seems appropriate for the scene.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Rendering slow in 2009

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 20, 2009 at 11:40:53 AM

8

Rendering Question

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 30, 2012 at 12:55:09 PM

2

NEWBIE QUESTION... RENDERING??

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jul 23, 2010 at 7:03:16 PM

7

IMproving rendering of walkthroughs

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jun 28, 2006 at 10:07:25 AM

3

Revit 2009 Rendering Problem(Black screen) [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 1, 2013 at 7:45:28 PM

27

Site Stats

Members:

1690337

Objects:

22214

Forum Posts:

151747

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.9882

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights