RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

265 Users Online (131 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Building A Bunker

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, May 28, 2008 at 8:40:57 PM | Building A Bunker

#1

jmbitzer81


active

Joined: Tue, Aug 28, 2007
17 Posts
No Rating


I am trying to create a bunker or and earth covered building. I've tried multiple ways.  The best way so far was to create a pad and a topo w/ it's top elevation mark at the roof elevation of the covered building.  Then I came back in w/ a second topo starting @ that roof elevation height and finished the mound. Everything looks good until I take a section cut throught the building, in which I have the earth hatch pattern.  Is it as simple as creating (2) different earth materials (1) w/ a hatch and (1) with out the hatch?

What 's the best way to create this? 

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, May 28, 2008 at 9:45:42 PM | Building A Bunker

#2

TABEST


active

Joined: Wed, May 9, 2007
141 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


Need a little clarification, but check to make sure that your earth hatch is oriented per the view... I think this might be your problem, but need more info... pictures?


This user is offline

 

Thu, May 29, 2008 at 2:02:16 PM | Building A Bunker

#3

jmbitzer81


active

Joined: Tue, Aug 28, 2007
17 Posts
No Rating


These are the steps that I took.  

Step 1 was to make a topo surface and add a pad

Step 2 was to increase my elevation points around the pad on 3 sides to = my roof height

Step 3 I added a new topo surface on top, starting @ the roof height, and finishing @ top of mound.

Result: In section the earth hatch pattern goes through the building.

I've recently tried taking Step 3 and making it a floor w/ materials that match the site instead of another topo surface, and it look correctly in 3d as well as section. It has no hatch in section, but I guess I'm better off that doing that and add in my own fill pattern. 



Attached Images

37921_Step_1.jpg37921_Step_2.jpg37921_Step_3.jpg37921_Result.jpg

This user is offline

 

Thu, May 29, 2008 at 2:11:31 PM | Building A Bunker

#4

TABEST


active

Joined: Wed, May 9, 2007
141 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


Add your walls (assuming concrete?) and I think your problem should be resolved... It looks like you are seeing the far plane of the topo, so add perimeter walls and see if that works... if it doesn't, then you will probably have to use masking regions...  good luck


This user is offline

 

Thu, May 29, 2008 at 2:24:04 PM | Building A Bunker

#5

jmbitzer81


active

Joined: Tue, Aug 28, 2007
17 Posts
No Rating


Yes I've tried adding in walls, floors, and roof.. they mask out the hatch just like the pad does, but the room still has the hatch in it.  I've tried adding a room to the enclosed space, as well as trying to used solids / voids, but nothing seamed to mask out the hatch. 

 I guess I'll just have to go w/ a masking region, or use something else other than a topo surface to cover the building.

Thanks


This user is offline

 

Thu, May 29, 2008 at 2:35:20 PM | Building A Bunker

#6

jmbitzer81


active

Joined: Tue, Aug 28, 2007
17 Posts
No Rating


Yes I've tried adding in walls, floors, and roof.. they mask out the hatch just like the pad does, but the room still has the hatch in it.  I've tried adding a room to the enclosed space, as well as trying to used solids / voids, but nothing seamed to mask out the hatch. 

 I guess I'll just have to go w/ a masking region, or use something else other than a topo surface to cover the building.

Thanks


This user is offline

 

Thu, May 29, 2008 at 3:10:07 PM | Building A Bunker

#7

R7oky


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 24, 2006
25 Posts
No Rating


Have you tried to create a flat roof and apply a surface material to match your topo, it looks like you have created 2 topos, try loosing the second topo and create a roof from extrusion that you wish in place of the second topo and apply a material finish to match your topo surface material finish.

That is how i did something similar if im understanding what you require.


This user is offline

 

Thu, May 29, 2008 at 3:20:18 PM | Building A Bunker

#8

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 199 Votes


Hi JMBITZER, what do you need to do it's: create ONE site, the top site, then create a PAD around your Bunker and after create a FLOOR in the TOP and you can edit this floor and give them extra points to make diferents elevations on that Floor and give the material of the site. Just like you do, always appears the hatch inside the bunker.

It's the best way to solve this....

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Thu, May 29, 2008 at 3:45:03 PM | Building A Bunker

#9

jmbitzer81


active

Joined: Tue, Aug 28, 2007
17 Posts
No Rating


This was the quick fix that I did...

It's similar to the suggestions that R7oky and Typhoon made:

Removed the 2nd topo, made it a floor, and changed the properties to be a variable height. Then just adjusted the floor's properties to have the earth fill pattern.

The 3rd picture is how it turned out.

I think it will look close enough, the client won't know the difference.

Thanks everyone for the help and suggestions.



Attached Images

37940_1.jpg37940_2.jpg37940_3.jpg

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Moving a Building

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Apr 30, 2008 at 10:49:59 AM

8

Building Pad for cantilever building

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Dec 21, 2012 at 12:33:52 AM

4

topo goes through building

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Nov 30, 2008 at 5:58:27 AM

2

Obscuring building to highlight main building

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Tue, Jun 14, 2011 at 1:55:56 AM

1

Building Pad and Ecotect

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Feb 2, 2011 at 5:12:06 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1566610

Objects:

21426

Forum Posts:

151459

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.0983

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights