RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

221 Users Online (88 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Wishlist >> "ADA Clearances" in families

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, May 23, 2008 at 9:08:46 PM | "ADA Clearances" in families

#1

psemrau


active

Joined: Fri, Jan 11, 2008
42 Posts
No Rating


Well, we design healthcare areas in our projects, it would be a nice feature to have a "clearance" area related to a family, not just a few dashed lines related to a model, but actual "room like" volumes or areas that give warnings if any other object is inside their boundaries.  Like clearances in showers, toilets or around beds, or room sizes. It would be cool to have warnings if something is "non compliant", or to check in a schedule if there is an issue with an instance...

 

just ideas


This user is offline

 

Fri, May 23, 2008 at 9:13:37 PM | "ADA Clearances" in families

#2

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


Some day.... it could be....

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Sun, May 25, 2008 at 8:59:00 PM | "ADA Clearances" in families

#3

Voron


active
Voron Avatar

Joined: Thu, Jan 3, 2008
9 Posts
2.5 Stars: 3 Votes


I agree. The neat thing about it too is that the idea is totally plausible and practical. I mean everyone is in the interest of convenience and saving time.

All it would take is someone with the knowhow to sacrifice some of their own time. You know... take one for the team



Edited on: Sun, May 25, 2008 at 3:59:58 PM

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, May 26, 2008 at 3:51:35 PM | "ADA Clearances" in families

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


For now though, it's easy to build your families with the ADA clearances shown and a simple switch to turn them on or off.  I do them as a linetype and turn them on or off through VG.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 2, 2011 at 7:35:01 PM | "ADA Clearances" in families

#5

EricOlson


active

Joined: Thu, Nov 4, 2010
2 Posts
No Rating


I wrote about this same problem recently on my blog. I ran accross this thread while I was researching a solution, and thought I'd give back to RevitCity, rather than just use it for research! Hope this helps someone out!

http://bimgineering.blogspot.com/2011/09/create-hatched-clearance-for-revit_02.html

 

 


This user is offline

View Website

Sat, Sep 3, 2011 at 3:19:42 PM | "ADA Clearances" in families

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


I have changed my mind since my post in 2008.  I would not put ADA clerances in the door families.  No need to do this.  I would use a simple 2D line only family that can be placed when needed.  No need to build a complicated door family.


This user is offline

 

Sun, Dec 11, 2011 at 5:17:32 PM | "ADA Clearances" in families

#7

phtshpguy


active

Joined: Wed, May 5, 2010
4 Posts
No Rating


I would rather have a couple of slightly more complicated families than just more families, the list within the properties panel gets big enough as it is. The doors that I am using have multiple types within the family that allow for flush, vision, half, and full lites.  They also have a couple simple extrusions that do not appear hardly anywhere and have a ADA category to isolate them for the sake of visibility.  This way you can run an interference check between walls and doors an eliminate careless placement of doors that can cause a potential change order.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 11, 2012 at 3:34:16 PM | "ADA Clearances" in families

#8

koolair


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 8, 2009
137 Posts
4.5 Stars: 2 Votes


My clearance zones in RME 2012 all follow the shading type I select for the view.  I want it to be transparent no matter what.

 

I even go into the family, select the clearance extrusions, hit clearance and select clear glass.  Save, load, and still no dice. 

 

Any thoughts? 

 

PS - I even went into object styles in Visibility Graphics (while in the project) to change the settings for Mechanical ---> Clearance.  Nothing.  Hope someone can help me out.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

ADA symbols???

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 5, 2015 at 2:17:21 PM

4

How do you change a "generic model" family into a "mechanical equipment" family?

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Fri, Apr 6, 2018 at 11:18:19 PM

4

ada grab bars for 8.1

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Feb 22, 2007 at 10:12:24 PM

1

How to make a "Model in-place" a "Family"

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 17, 2011 at 10:07:59 PM

5

Creating ADA Sheet in Revit Template

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Wed, Nov 9, 2011 at 5:33:10 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1651498

Objects:

22099

Forum Posts:

151693

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.7583

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights