RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

201 Users Online (54 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> Newbies >> New to Revit, converting from CAD questions

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, May 19, 2008 at 2:25:20 PM | New to Revit, converting from CAD questions

#1

V1ad


active

Joined: Mon, May 19, 2008
5 Posts
No Rating


Hi,

The project I am working on has a fully developed AutoCAD Architectural Desktop 3-D model.  Is there anyway to reuse the 3D elements in Revit, or do I have to remodel everything to make them Revit objects?  Example: all the structure is 3-D modeled, beams/columns, etc., it would be nice if I could just import the 3-D geometry and turn it into a coulum and a beam objects in Revit.  

 Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

 

Thanks 


This user is offline

 

Mon, May 19, 2008 at 2:38:54 PM | New to Revit, converting from CAD questions

#2

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


In these cases use in Autocad Architectural Desktop exportation with IFC, and import in Revit By IFC format, in this way, Revit assume the objects and materials you made in Autocad.

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Mon, May 19, 2008 at 9:28:16 PM | Typhoon

#3

V1ad


active

Joined: Mon, May 19, 2008
5 Posts
No Rating


Quoting Typhoon from 2008-05-19 09:38:54

"In these cases use in Autocad Architectural Desktop exportation with IFC, and import in Revit By IFC format, in this way, Revit assume the objects and materials you made in Autocad."

OK, please bear with me, as I am in baby step mode.  I exported the structure out of CAD as an .ifc.  Then I imported it into Revit.  Some of the columns (the really simple square concrete ones)  becasme recognized as columns and are listed in the pull down menu.  However, the one's I really needed to be converted, which are I-beams that are all on  different angles, don't seemed to be recognized.  They are there, but they are grayed out.  I can select them, and that's about it.  What would be my next step to convert those into Revit columns?  I am going to take a look at how they were constructed in CAD, maybe that has something to do with it.

Thanks a lot for the suggestion.  I feel like I am making some progress.  Thanks Again

-V


This user is offline

 

Tue, May 20, 2008 at 9:03:46 AM | New to Revit, converting from CAD questions

#4

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


Hi "V1ad", is "I-beams" in your file CAD a Block? take a look, i remember when i work with Autocad Architectural i insert this I-beams from the "Catalog" witch have diferents dimensions, so i think there are a Block, explode them and try again....

Good luck

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Wed, May 21, 2008 at 8:25:05 PM | New to Revit, converting from CAD questions

#5

V1ad


active

Joined: Mon, May 19, 2008
5 Posts
No Rating


Hey,

It seems exploding the colum in CAD makes it even less recognizable in Revit.  If I don't explode it in CAD some the information does get brought into Revit.  In CAD the different kinds of columns are identical except for their geometry.  THey seem to have been made the same way.  I tried exporting one colum at a time, but still the same problem.

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, May 21, 2008 at 9:33:36 PM | New to Revit, converting from CAD questions

#6

NKramer


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 10, 2007
285 Posts
4 Stars: 9 Votes


V1ad

This may create more work than it saves but you could try taking all of the complex columns, changing them to something simple, export to ifc, import in revit, select all insances and then change back to the complex form.

 

HTH

Nick 


This user is offline

View Website

Thu, May 22, 2008 at 1:44:07 PM | New to Revit, converting from CAD questions

#7

V1ad


active

Joined: Mon, May 19, 2008
5 Posts
No Rating


OK, I think this is getting to the root of my question.  Is there anyway to use existing geometry in the process of making a Revit colum?

This user is offline

 

Thu, May 22, 2008 at 2:24:33 PM | New to Revit, converting from CAD questions

#8

NKramer


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 10, 2007
285 Posts
4 Stars: 9 Votes


Not that I know if. You would have to draw a new beam which you may then be able align to something in the existing model. It depends how the import comes in. Generally you have access to the linework in AutoCAD imports but sketchup and others you dont.

 

Let us know what you find out.

Nick 


This user is offline

View Website

Fri, May 23, 2008 at 2:28:05 PM | New to Revit, converting from CAD questions

#9

V1ad


active

Joined: Mon, May 19, 2008
5 Posts
No Rating


Is there a way of converting a AutoCAD 3D object into a mass in Revit?

This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 29, 2011 at 3:22:40 AM | New to Revit, converting from CAD questions

#10

NAMECIB7610


active

Joined: Fri, Apr 29, 2011
4 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Hi V1ad,

Yes you can convert to a mesh.  See the post I just posted an that very topic.

Hope that helps,

NAMECIB7610


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Converting DWG materials to Revit Materials

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Sep 13, 2012 at 8:50:29 AM

3

converting files for use between cad programs

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Apr 30, 2009 at 5:39:03 AM

3

New To Revit

Community >> Newbies

Wed, May 14, 2008 at 2:39:20 PM

3

import cad

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Thu, Dec 8, 2016 at 11:06:17 PM

4

Revit Family & Cad Dwg

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, May 14, 2011 at 12:18:00 AM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1706570

Objects:

22264

Forum Posts:

151786

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.0748

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights