RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

279 Users Online (143 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> Newbies >> Can't make type error message

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, May 19, 2008 at 3:18:08 AM | Can't make type error message

#1

bigmickyd


active

Joined: Thu, Apr 17, 2008
27 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


i am still fairly new to revit and have made a few families now, but i altered the standard pump that comes with revit MEP out of the box to make a second one which is now a diesel pump

when ever i go to load the family into revit i get the same error message

Can't make type "dieselPump : M_Model 100 x 150".

with a 2nd message saying the same thing but with 50 x 75 instead

i havent changed any of the measurements of the basic model, so it still is 100 x 150

any help would be great, thanks!


This user is offline

 

Mon, May 19, 2008 at 3:39:28 AM | Can't make type error message

#2

bigmickyd


active

Joined: Thu, Apr 17, 2008
27 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


also could someone help me into setting the pumps to act in the same way as a wall for every job i do will require a different size pump, I am talking about the M_Base Mounted Pump from revit MEP 2008, it is also the pump i altered to be a diesel

This user is offline

 

Mon, May 19, 2008 at 2:46:00 PM | Can't make type error message

#3

lunchtrayrider


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 25, 2007
592 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


did you modify the moded elements or just type properties?  This would be a common error when something is adjusted too far in one direction.  If you are adjusting the shape/size i would do it one parameter at a time and see which parameter is causing the error and then look to see why.

-----------------------------------
I like scooters. and motorcycles.

This user is offline

 

Mon, May 19, 2008 at 11:08:53 PM | Can't make type error message

#4

bigmickyd


active

Joined: Thu, Apr 17, 2008
27 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


all i did was remove one of the constrants on the pump itself...and then it came up with the error message, is there anyway around this so i can make the pump bigger and smaller like a wall at will?

This user is offline

 

Tue, May 20, 2008 at 1:08:22 AM | Can't make type error message

#5

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


Of course there is, you geometry just isn't constrained properly to the point where revit can't create one of the solids or voids.

You need to constrain these by using reference planes and dimensional constraints.  Very difficult to assist without a. the family and b. A copy of Revit MEP...


-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, May 20, 2008 at 1:16:35 AM | Can't make type error message

#6

bigmickyd


active

Joined: Thu, Apr 17, 2008
27 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


the family is M_Base Mounted Pump, it comes out of the box with MEP, im trying 2 ulter both the size or it and the diesel pump i have made, it doesnt allow me to enter the diesel pump into drawings and now when i try ulter the size of the normal pump it causes the entire program to have a error and force me 2 save as everything then close

god you gotta love computers


This user is offline

 

Tue, May 20, 2008 at 2:24:16 AM | Can't make type error message

#7

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


I'll have a look, please upload the family.

-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, May 20, 2008 at 2:31:01 AM | Can't make type error message

#8

bigmickyd


active

Joined: Thu, Apr 17, 2008
27 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


the one that comes out of the box

This user is offline

 

Tue, May 20, 2008 at 2:31:58 AM | Can't make type error message

#9

bigmickyd


active

Joined: Thu, Apr 17, 2008
27 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


and the diesel one i knocked up myself, but havent fully finished yet, i keep getting errors

Attached Files

This user is offline

 

Tue, May 20, 2008 at 11:28:07 PM | Can't make type error message

#10

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


I had a look at the family, and started trying to fix it to then discover that I couldn't access certain parts of the file because it was created in MEP and I'm using Architecture.  As such I couldn't fix it for you.  There are a million reference planes and none of them have been labelled which makes it an absolute nightmare to try and understand what you are trying to achieve.  I would begin by naming the reference planes so when you are in a section you know what reference plane is what, so the geometry can be constrained to the appropriate elements.  Half of the geometry is unconstrained or constrained to reference planes that aren't controlled.

I was hoping it might be a 2 minute fix, but due to the amount of parameters it would take me 20 minutes just to get my head around the family and what you are trying to achieve - I would need you sitting next to me in order to fix it Smile

If you are new to families I would suggest beginning again from scratch, that way you'll be able to get a grasp of how to constrain elements, set reference planes and add parameters.  It is a fairly tricky one for a beginner.

In most cases its much easier to start from scratch than to use someone elses as different people constrain things in different ways.

 

Sorry I couldn't be more help.  Had it have been Revit Architecture I could have helped more.


-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, May 20, 2008 at 11:36:47 PM | Can't make type error message

#11

bigmickyd


active

Joined: Thu, Apr 17, 2008
27 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


thanks for the help anyway, an ajustable size pump was a step up from the little speaker and alarms i had made last week for work, i guess its back to the drawing board then

thanks again!


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Keep getting Error message - Can't make type...

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Mar 26, 2010 at 3:35:10 PM

1

ERROR MESSAGE: STAIRS - rises not intersecting boundries?

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Tue, Aug 19, 2008 at 2:12:33 PM

6

Can't make type error

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Wed, Oct 20, 2010 at 6:10:09 PM

0

Can't Make Type Error

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Oct 8, 2015 at 3:03:48 AM

4

help....error message cant save to central sue to stackwall....

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 23, 2005 at 10:55:36 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1610516

Objects:

21982

Forum Posts:

151576

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.3493

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights