RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

261 Users Online (151 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> joining two beams

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Apr 1, 2005 at 4:37:20 AM | joining two beams

#1

timOthyj


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 30, 2003
102 Posts
4.5 Stars: 14 Votes


Hello in Revit 7.0 which Iam using how do you join to beams together say...I have these two floor beams and I need them to join together to make a square. Also I need to make my ceiling curved.....How do you do that? Thanks a million!!! timOthyj

This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 1, 2005 at 6:37:07 AM | RE: joining two beams

#2

timOthyj


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 30, 2003
102 Posts
4.5 Stars: 14 Votes


actually for the ceiling I meant how do you make a bowed ceiling?

This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 1, 2005 at 7:45:38 AM | RE: joining two beams

#3

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 90 Votes


If you are using structural beams?? Make sure in your family-->family category and parameters the structural material is set to wood... Then they should join together properly... HTH.

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Apr 1, 2005 at 7:46:41 AM | RE: joining two beams

#4

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 90 Votes


The bowed ceilng would have to be an -in-place family and an extrusion in elevation to the profile of the bow.

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Apr 1, 2005 at 8:39:47 AM | RE: joining two beams

#5

timOthyj


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 30, 2003
102 Posts
4.5 Stars: 14 Votes


thanks for the reply... But the material for the beams in steel... I have attached a jpg of the problem

This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 4, 2005 at 1:23:03 AM | RE: joining two beams

#6

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 90 Votes


Yes i understand this, but having the structural material set to steel means the elements will not butt join as they leave a gap to allow for a bracket or welding. Changing this structural material to wood will have no architectural effects so unless you are using the data for any structural figures then it won't make any difference to the model. You can still have the architectural material set to steel. HTH.

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Apr 19, 2005 at 4:23:15 PM | RE: joining two beams

#7

thebigG


Joined: Wed, Apr 13, 2005
2 Posts
No Rating


Hi I've just picked up your post as I have the same problem, sorry to be a but slow but how do you change the beam from steel to wood?

This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 19, 2005 at 10:52:51 PM | RE: joining two beams

#8

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 90 Votes


In the Structural beam family. Go to Settings-->Family Category & Parameters-->in the bottom window there are a couple of options. Change the structural material here.

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Apr 19, 2005 at 11:09:33 PM | RE: joining two beams

#9

ale02


active
ale02 Avatar

Joined: Mon, Sep 20, 2004
202 Posts
3 Stars: 3 Votes


I think I am having the same problem to join r.c. beams too apart of steel beams. Anyway, Thanks for the workaround, Mr. Spot

-----------------------------------
Life is never easy but nor it should be complex. Just stay simple Smile

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 6, 2007 at 5:03:10 PM | joining two beams

#10

rsampat


active

Joined: Fri, May 4, 2007
18 Posts
No Rating


I tried doing this in Revit 9.1 and i am not having any luck. If anyone has a way to do this, i would really appreciate your insight.

 


This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

BEAMS JOINING COLUMNS problem

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Tue, Jun 30, 2015 at 12:41:51 PM

1

Joining Beams

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Tue, Feb 19, 2013 at 3:50:06 PM

1

Concrete beams joining at expansion joint

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Tue, Feb 8, 2011 at 8:04:44 PM

2

Concrete Beam Not Joining?

Revit Structure >> Tips & Tricks

Fri, Jul 15, 2011 at 3:59:14 PM

1

Joining beams to walls and floors

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jan 15, 2009 at 3:00:36 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1415785

Objects:

20388

Forum Posts:

150453

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 7.6694

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights