RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

215 Users Online (82 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> REVIT 2009 - MATERIALS

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, May 5, 2008 at 5:41:28 PM | REVIT 2009 - MATERIALS

#1

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 197 Votes


I begin with REVIT 2009 today and i open a old project made in RAC 2008, when i render, all the materials in my scene appears a kind of "Gray", i go to "Settings-Materials" and all off my materials created by 2008 are there but in "BUMP Material" don't show the JPG of my material, it's just like don't exist, only when i browse and choose the material in the BUMP folder "He" can render  correctly. Question:  Do i must assign  the  materials  (one by one)  again in Revit 2009? or there is a simple way to do this, "Push" all old materials in the project open with 2009?

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Mon, May 5, 2008 at 6:01:40 PM | REVIT 2009 - MATERIALS

Thread Post Kudo! #2

TABEST


active

Joined: Wed, May 9, 2007
141 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


Not 100% sure, but I believe it is the unfortunate, one by one option...  at least they managed to keep how the materials look in elevation and cut views!


This user is offline

 

Mon, May 5, 2008 at 6:05:57 PM | REVIT 2009 - MATERIALS

#3

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 197 Votes


WHAT???? ONE BY ONE???

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Mon, May 5, 2008 at 7:15:43 PM | Typhoon

#4

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


Quoting Typhoon from 2008-05-05 13:05:57

"WHAT???? ONE BY ONE???"

i think he means you will have to re-assign each material one by one in 2009?

-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Mon, May 5, 2008 at 7:53:09 PM | REVIT 2009 - MATERIALS

#5

JAMESHGRIMES


site moderator|||
JAMESHGRIMES Avatar

Joined: Fri, Apr 14, 2006
584 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


I read some info on this and it appears that Revit 2009 will convert some of the default materials. It will put a text string in the comments field of the Identity tab for each material that is not update. The string will read "Material appearance not upgraded." This is to let you quickley identify all materials that weren't converted.

Attached Images

36617_Materials.bmp

This user is offline

 

Tue, May 6, 2008 at 5:33:33 PM | REVIT 2009 - MATERIALS

#6

PeteGGA


active

Joined: Wed, Jan 16, 2008
25 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


i think if you open a default 2009 template file with the new materials, open your file, then do transfer project standards and tick materials, it should then redifine the materials and ask you if you want to over write existing.

This user is offline

 

Wed, May 7, 2008 at 1:29:29 PM | REVIT 2009 - MATERIALS

#7

kesflower


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 21, 2005
169 Posts
4 Stars: 10 Votes


Even if you do a transfer project standards, for some reason it won't write ALL of your materials.  James is right, the best way to make sure they all transfered is to look for the comments.  Slightly a PIA... 

-----------------------------------

Ruth Rau

Main Street Architecture, P.C.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 23, 2008 at 5:06:36 AM | REVIT 2009 - MATERIALS

#8

timbo89


active
timbo89 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Dec 14, 2007
135 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


Hey, I have a material where I need some parts to be transparent, and some parts need to be solid colours. Imagine the picture as a stud frame. I need the black parts to look like wood, and I need the white part to be transparent. Could someone please explain to me how I'd do this? Im using RAC2009, so the tutorial in resources doesn't quite help me.

Attached Images

39299_Project1.jpg

-----------------------------------

  • Core 2 Duo E8400 3ghz
  • 756mb Nvidia 9600GSO 256bit
  • 6gb Kingston RAM 800mz DDR2
  • Windows XP Service Pack 3 32-bit

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 23, 2008 at 2:25:48 PM | REVIT 2009 - MATERIALS

#9

TABEST


active

Joined: Wed, May 9, 2007
141 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


I'm not sure this can be done... but I'm more of curious as to why?  I've noticed in Revit that there are a lot of times where you have to create a work around in order to get your desired effect...  I'm curious as to what you are trying to achieve, perhaps there is another way you can achieve the effect you are looking for...

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 23, 2008 at 10:54:29 PM | REVIT 2009 - MATERIALS

#10

timbo89


active
timbo89 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Dec 14, 2007
135 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


Hey, I want to do this so I can create a house structural frame. I would just draw a normal wall, and then apply my custom material, so some parts are transparent and some are wood colour. I would like to render it so it looks like the image below, and the black part of my image would be the house frame.

Attached Images

39368_6109.jpg

-----------------------------------

  • Core 2 Duo E8400 3ghz
  • 756mb Nvidia 9600GSO 256bit
  • 6gb Kingston RAM 800mz DDR2
  • Windows XP Service Pack 3 32-bit

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 23, 2008 at 11:08:56 PM | REVIT 2009 - MATERIALS

#11

TABEST


active

Joined: Wed, May 9, 2007
141 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


I don't think it is possible to do what you want with a material, you can make a material see-thru, but I don't think you can make a complex material... What you really need is a framing family to show your studs...or place each "column" and brace etc...I've seen other people dwelving into this arena, creating families that show how a wall is framed, I'd love to do that, but our file size is already 200+ Megs and growing, so not in this project for us!

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 24, 2008 at 12:38:36 AM | REVIT 2009 - MATERIALS

#12

timbo89


active
timbo89 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Dec 14, 2007
135 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


I think it is possible. I created a drafting view and used solid fill hatches to create my desired pattern. I created a generic material and used my drafting view pattern in the "cutout" attribute of the material, then applied any colour I wanted. The end result looked like the pictures. Its just a generic wall with my applied material.



Attached Images

39370_3D.jpg39370_Project_trial.jpg

-----------------------------------

  • Core 2 Duo E8400 3ghz
  • 756mb Nvidia 9600GSO 256bit
  • 6gb Kingston RAM 800mz DDR2
  • Windows XP Service Pack 3 32-bit

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 24, 2008 at 2:32:53 PM | REVIT 2009 - MATERIALS

#13

TABEST


active

Joined: Wed, May 9, 2007
141 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


Now that is pretty cool, if that is't new to 2009,I definitely missed that in 2008!

This user is offline

 

Tue, May 5, 2009 at 3:01:40 PM | REVIT 2009 - MATERIALS

#14

RfOeCnKdOeNr


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 4, 2008
43 Posts
4.5 Stars: 4 Votes


I know this is an old post but I found it google searching and I figured this would help anyone else who finds it...

 I created a tutorial on how to Create Custom Materials:

 http://therevitkid.blogspot.com/2009/05/tutorial-custom-material-creation.html


This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Duplicating Materials in 2009

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, May 16, 2008 at 6:16:25 AM

3

materials appearance - revit 2009

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, May 29, 2008 at 6:11:15 PM

1

using revit 2008 project in revit 2009...plz help

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, May 27, 2008 at 1:44:38 PM

1

New materials RAC 2009 and or new skies/backgrounds/environments??

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jan 23, 2009 at 1:03:18 AM

6

Adding materials into Revit's materials files

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jul 22, 2010 at 6:54:48 PM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1494936

Objects:

21165

Forum Posts:

151161

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.2834

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights