RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

271 Users Online (127 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> How to scale Hatch Patterns already loaded in file?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, May 5, 2008 at 2:16:54 PM | How to scale Hatch Patterns already loaded in file?

#1

lorne17


active
lorne17 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Aug 29, 2007
417 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


Hello there,

 

Awhile back, I downloaded a file on this website that had a bunch of preloaded hatch patterns in it.  We transfered those patterns to our file and now I'm trying to use some of the patterns but the scale just isn't cutting it.  The problem is, they were imported custom fill patterns and I have no idea where the original .pat file is located.  So it won't let me scale the pattern.  Any ideas? 


-----------------------------------

AutoDesk Revit Certified Professional

Denver, CO

Revit Architecture

This user is offline

 

Mon, May 5, 2008 at 2:25:03 PM | How to scale Hatch Patterns already loaded in file?

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 349 Votes


Sorry, I don't believe you can.  I have multiple hatches at different scales and named accordingly.

This user is offline

 

Mon, May 5, 2008 at 3:22:50 PM | How to scale Hatch Patterns already loaded in file?

#3

lorne17


active
lorne17 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Aug 29, 2007
417 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


Do you happen to have a honeycomb hatch?  We use it in AutoCAD for Spray foam insulation and the one in Revit is entirely too large.  If you have that hatch would you mind attaching an empty file with that loaded into it?  I would really appreciate it.

-----------------------------------

AutoDesk Revit Certified Professional

Denver, CO

Revit Architecture

This user is offline

 

Mon, May 5, 2008 at 3:52:12 PM | How to scale Hatch Patterns already loaded in file?

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 349 Votes


Just isolate that hatch pattern in your autocad.pat file and load it in.  (Delete preceeding and following definitions and save with an appropriate name.pat)  You can do that with any autocad hatch.  By adding one line to any autocad 2d hatch, you can make it be a REVIT 3d hatch.

This user is offline

 

Mon, May 5, 2008 at 5:05:28 PM | How to scale Hatch Patterns already loaded in file?

#5

lorne17


active
lorne17 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Aug 29, 2007
417 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


Great thanks.  I found this file in the downloads section on this site.  Works great.  We can have all our hatches in one file to import now.  Easy to scale too.  

Attached Files

-----------------------------------

AutoDesk Revit Certified Professional

Denver, CO

Revit Architecture

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 12, 2009 at 2:06:19 PM | WWHub

#6

Wolfmann16


active

Joined: Tue, Sep 25, 2007
38 Posts
No Rating


Quoting WWHub from 2008-05-05 10:52:12

"Just isolate that hatch pattern in your autocad.pat file and load it in.  (Delete preceeding and following definitions and save with an appropriate name.pat)  You can do that with any autocad hatch.  By adding one line to any autocad 2d hatch, you can make it be a REVIT 3d hatch."

I have our acad.pat. What do you mean add one line?  Cause when I try to bring in the pat as is, it says there is no model patterns in the file.  How do I remedy this?

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 12, 2009 at 2:17:03 PM | How to scale Hatch Patterns already loaded in file?

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 349 Votes


Edit the pat file using wordpad or notepad or word but save as a simple txt (pat ) extension file.  Add a new line right below the title line:

;%TYPE=MODEL

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 12, 2009 at 3:14:15 PM | How to scale Hatch Patterns already loaded in file?

#8

Wolfmann16


active

Joined: Tue, Sep 25, 2007
38 Posts
No Rating


thanks hub, that works perfectly.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 19, 2011 at 8:11:31 PM | How to scale Hatch Patterns already loaded in file?

#9

treshernandez


active

Joined: Thu, Oct 22, 2009
26 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


This has got to be the most accurate thread regarding hatch issues. Thanks to all.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

imported acad hatch patterns

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Nov 26, 2007 at 12:39:02 AM

0

Scaling downloaded hatch patterns

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 17, 2006 at 10:30:52 PM

4

hatch scale?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, May 10, 2009 at 8:33:47 PM

8

Custom Hatch Patterns

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Dec 23, 2004 at 9:00:32 PM

1

Hiding Hatch Patterns [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Aug 29, 2009 at 1:12:25 PM

15

Site Stats

Members:

1469559

Objects:

20536

Forum Posts:

150616

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 9.3600

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights