RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

290 Users Online (136 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit Project Management >> Revit 2009 Rendering with Background Images

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>

Thu, May 1, 2008 at 4:56:08 AM | Revit 2009 Rendering with Background Images

#1

rick_tiger


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 1, 2004
8 Posts
No Rating


Hello People

Does anyone know how to render a scene with a background image (eg sky and tress etc).

It looks like you can only render with the clouds and colours in Revit 2009.

Rick


This user is offline

 

Thu, May 1, 2008 at 4:29:29 PM | Revit 2009 Rendering with Background Images

#2

alabaster2513


active
alabaster2513 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 16, 2007
1009 Posts
3.5 Stars: 25 Votes


use the decal command maybe? you would just have to orient the image to the camera place. Or use photoshop/piranesi/max/autodesk impression

 impression is free if your on subscription


This user is offline

View Website

Fri, May 2, 2008 at 5:14:11 AM | Revit 2009 Rendering with Background Images

#3

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


In 2009 you must render using the skies built in.  Then export using TIF or PNG which create an alpha channel so you can put your background in afterwards.

Alternatively you can capture the image to the project and do this in revit.


-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, May 2, 2008 at 10:03:08 PM | Revit 2009 Rendering with Background Images

#4

matlock


active
matlock Avatar

Joined: Fri, Oct 8, 2004
46 Posts
4 Stars: 6 Votes


That suck,, before you didnt have to mess with it, just putting in the settings.....Good new version but

Some things should have been left alone.


This user is offline

 

Tue, May 6, 2008 at 12:00:35 AM | Revit 2009 Rendering with Background Images

#5

stylewise


active

Joined: Fri, Aug 3, 2007
8 Posts
No Rating


Can someone please help with explaining alpha channel? or capturing image to project? Thankyou

This user is offline

 

Tue, May 6, 2008 at 12:45:33 AM | matlock

#6

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


Quoting matlock from 2008-05-02 17:03:08

"

That suck,, before you didnt have to mess with it, just putting in the settings.....Good new version but

Some things should have been left alone.

"

 

Before renderings looked like crap too...  Integrating a new rendering engine is a big process, it will get there.  But to give you a little background, you must use the inbuilt skies as they actually contain lighting capabilities and assist in lighting your building.  If you were to place your own image in straight away as was the case with accurender, 1. It was trial and error to get it in the right spot, 2. Exterior day time renderings always looked like a bad cartoon.

With MR you can easily place your image afterwards with ease and get it in the correct location.  It has a couple of shortfalls with this process, but must better than what we had.


-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, May 6, 2008 at 5:15:27 AM | Revit 2009 Rendering with Background Images

#7

chiragpklg


active

Joined: Tue, Mar 25, 2008
90 Posts
4 Stars: 11 Votes


Mr. Spot is right, Revit has a realistic type of rendering, which sets the light according to the day & time provided by the user, so better render the scene & put the background image in photoshop,  which i usually do myself. It works. 

-----------------------------------

Chirag C. Pawar

Cad Solution Application Senior Engineer

KLGSystel Ltd. India

301, Pujit Plaza, Plot No. 67,Sector 11, CBD Belapur,Navi Mumbai - 400614, Maharashtra, India.Tel    .:    +91 22 409 16777. Extn. - 718Fax   .:    +91 22 275 76461.Mob  .:   +91 99 698 66851.Email.:    chiragp@klgsystel.com

Web  .:    www.klgsystel.com

This user is offline

 

Tue, May 6, 2008 at 3:06:41 PM | Revit 2009 Rendering with Background Images

#8

alabaster2513


active
alabaster2513 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 16, 2007
1009 Posts
3.5 Stars: 25 Votes


If you use alot of RPC content I would look into the enviroments, I have never used them in Revit but it seems like a quick fix for that problem..... That'd probably be the best single platform solution.

 


This user is offline

View Website

Sat, Jun 14, 2008 at 6:13:56 PM | Revit 2009 Rendering with Background Images

#9

jeremiah77769


active

Joined: Sat, May 13, 2006
25 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


I have been looking into this problem, Revit not handling background images, and the only workaround I have found for getting an image into the model is to create a generic wall and slap a huge decal on it, position the wall perpendicular to the camera and there you go. You will need to pay close attention to the suns location as this generic wall will cast monstrously large shadows if you dont adjust accordingly. It works, not quite as effectively as I would like it to, but it does work well enough.I do hope as Mr. Spot had said earlier, that this will be a feature they will implement soon, and hopefully with that a horizon adjustment ability. *crosses fingers*

Edited on: Sat, Jun 14, 2008 at 1:15:30 PM

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 30, 2008 at 6:06:02 PM | Revit 2009 Rendering with Background Images

#10

stevemode


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 6, 2008
2 Posts
No Rating


        "In 2009 you must render using the skies built in.  Then export using TIF or PNG which create an alpha channel so         you can put your background in afterwards.

        Alternatively you can capture the image to the project and do this in revit."

If I save a rendering with a white background to the project, is there a way to make the background transparent so I can drop a sky behind it? 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 30, 2008 at 11:33:41 PM | Revit 2009 Rendering with Background Images

#11

mhans


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 7, 2006
456 Posts
3 Stars: 10 Votes


From render dialog box, Choose Background-Style-Color and select your color.

-----------------------------------

Motto: "No Post left behind"

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 31, 2009 at 4:32:12 PM | Revit 2009 Rendering with Background Images

#12

johnsonsara


active

Joined: Tue, Jan 6, 2009
20 Posts
No Rating


I am not able to get my image background to be transparent.  I render like normal using the mental ray sky.  Then export to png.  Then import back into a drafting view ontop of a jpg photo.  Any suggestions?  Anyone?  I do not have photoshop.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 31, 2009 at 4:45:57 PM | Revit 2009 Rendering with Background Images

#13

johnsonsara


active

Joined: Tue, Jan 6, 2009
20 Posts
No Rating


nevermind....I got it.  You have to export from the rendering dialog box, not from the rendering view.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 31, 2009 at 7:09:56 PM | Revit 2009 Rendering with Background Images

#14

edrikzs


active

Joined: Mon, Jan 26, 2009
5 Posts
No Rating


a bit off topic here...

but

Could i save a Revit Architecture 2010-(32bit) project in a 32bit operating system

and open it on a 64bit operating system with Revit Architecture 2010-(64bit)?



Edited on: Fri, Jul 31, 2009 at 2:10:55 PM

This user is offline

 

Sat, Aug 1, 2009 at 8:33:03 AM | Revit 2009 Rendering with Background Images

#15

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 197 Votes


Surely, you can not do the otherwise (2010 to 2009).....
 

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

adding backgroung images to rendering

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Dec 4, 2008 at 3:13:35 PM

1

Background Images

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Mar 13, 2017 at 6:15:34 PM

0

Rendering in Revit 2009 [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Dec 31, 2009 at 4:41:31 PM

19

background-image

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Fri, Nov 10, 2006 at 8:38:46 PM

10

REA 2009 Background Image when rendering

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Mon, Nov 17, 2008 at 2:50:49 PM

7

Site Stats

Members:

1475482

Objects:

21063

Forum Posts:

151026

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.9326

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights