RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

198 Users Online (87 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> Newbies >> 256MB video card - NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GTS

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Apr 25, 2008 at 3:49:39 PM | 256MB video card - NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GTS

#1

lorne17


active
lorne17 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Aug 29, 2007
417 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


Is this a good card??  My file is tremendously slow in elevation views.  When I work on something, everything has a 2-3 second delay.  Not good considering my productivity has fell to the floor.  I need to get this fixed and want to get the right video card from NVIDIA.  That's who our IT guy goes through.  Suggestions?  Attached you'll see a video of how slow this is...  Thanks,

 

Lorne 



Attached Files

-----------------------------------

AutoDesk Revit Certified Professional

Denver, CO

Revit Architecture

This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 25, 2008 at 4:12:53 PM | 256MB video card - NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GTS

#2

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


do you get this delay on all files, or just what would be considered large files?


-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 25, 2008 at 4:21:39 PM | 256MB video card - NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GTS

#3

lorne17


active
lorne17 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Aug 29, 2007
417 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


Well this is our first project that is in CDs in Revit.  We have lots of others that are in SD and DD phases, so not as much information in the model itself.  The file is only 35 MB though.  I went through the Review Warnings and got it down to 1 and it was still slow.  I also purged out everything not used.  So 0 items to purge and 1 warning (which I'm about to fix).  I've also done file maintenance on it, and opened the file with Audit and resaved our locals to clean up any unwanted file information.

 

Other than that, I don't know what else it is besides video card.   I have 3.25 GB of ram.  Duo Core Processor.  


-----------------------------------

AutoDesk Revit Certified Professional

Denver, CO

Revit Architecture

This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 25, 2008 at 6:50:50 PM | 256MB video card - NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GTS

#4

TJKENNEDY


active

Joined: Fri, Jan 12, 2007
126 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


That's the card I have and it seems to be working alright for me.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 25, 2008 at 7:03:36 PM | 256MB video card - NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GTS

#5

lorne17


active
lorne17 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Aug 29, 2007
417 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


What then could it be?

Anything else as far as computer hardware goes?  My coworker has a newer machine and his works just fine.  Same file.

 

 


-----------------------------------

AutoDesk Revit Certified Professional

Denver, CO

Revit Architecture

This user is offline

 

Thu, May 8, 2008 at 12:06:25 AM | 256MB video card - NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GTS

#6

alabaster2513


active
alabaster2513 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 16, 2007
1009 Posts
3.5 Stars: 25 Votes


thats a gamers card

 get a quadro fx or a firegl.

Edited on: Wed, May 7, 2008 at 7:08:37 PM

Edited on: Wed, May 7, 2008 at 9:32:00 PM

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, May 8, 2008 at 12:49:50 AM | 256MB video card - NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GTS

#7

teddynugget


active
teddynugget Avatar

Joined: Thu, Oct 25, 2007
8 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


Have you enabled OpenGL hardware Acceleration in revit options under the Graphics tab?

This allows revit to use the video card to boost performance, will difinitely help in the elevations when shadows are turned on. 


This user is offline

 

Thu, May 8, 2008 at 8:46:59 PM | 256MB video card - NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GTS

#8

lorne17


active
lorne17 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Aug 29, 2007
417 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


Hello,

 

Ok well I found out what the issue was.  After I got a new graphics card, I still had the issue.

 

Yes, I did check the Open GL in settings.  That just made it worse and it crashed.  

 

Then I realized our IT guy installed Revit from our disk.  We have a new build on our server.  So I reinstalled on that, and it worked!  After all this, I finally figured it out and it was soo simple.

Thanks for all yoru suggestions,

 

Best,

Lorne 


-----------------------------------

AutoDesk Revit Certified Professional

Denver, CO

Revit Architecture

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

looking for a video card recommendation

Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware

Tue, Sep 3, 2013 at 12:04:52 PM

7

Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Not Recognized in 2012

Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware

Sat, Jan 12, 2013 at 11:47:37 AM

5

Any REAL issues in using nVidia GeForce Cards vs. nVidia Quadro FX cards???

Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware

Mon, Feb 10, 2014 at 3:12:20 PM

4

image underlay window size limitations 2014/16

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Mar 21, 2016 at 1:56:59 PM

0

Revit 2010 Memory reaching critical limit

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Sep 1, 2009 at 4:03:10 AM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1756354

Objects:

22370

Forum Posts:

151876

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 16.2833

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights