RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

327 Users Online (168 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Having Problems Loading and Inserting Family into Project...

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Apr 21, 2008 at 7:21:06 PM | Having Problems Loading and Inserting Family into Project...

#1

RevitlutionStudio


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 24, 2007
8 Posts
No Rating


I am trying to build a family for a paneled wall system and am having trouble getting it to insert into the project the way I want. I would like to make it so that I can insert the panel and then insert a second one which will snap to the end of the previous panel. Can anyone tell me the simplelist way to make this happen?

Thanks,

Matt


-----------------------------------
Matthew Brownwww.revit-lution.come-mail: studio@revit-lution.comphone: (850) 776-3527

This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 21, 2008 at 8:34:31 PM | Having Problems Loading and Inserting Family into Project...

#2

JAMESHGRIMES


site moderator|||
JAMESHGRIMES Avatar

Joined: Fri, Apr 14, 2006
584 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


You can do this by drawings a set of ref planes that intersect at the point you want to attach at and at the other end. You will then select each of the insertion side ref planes and set it to "Defines Origin" in the properties. (you have to do each one seperately) Also make sure that they are set to "Strong Reference. Once this is done and the family is loaded in a project, you can place them by hovering the cursor over the previous on and it should highlight the strong references. I won't automatically select the point but it will try to snap to the strongest ref planes.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 22, 2008 at 7:01:17 PM | Having Problems Loading and Inserting Family into Project...

#3

RevitlutionStudio


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 24, 2007
8 Posts
No Rating


Thanks, it seems to be working now.

-----------------------------------
Matthew Brownwww.revit-lution.come-mail: studio@revit-lution.comphone: (850) 776-3527

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Revised family not loading into existing project

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jun 27, 2011 at 1:22:16 PM

1

Inserting a 2D Component into a new project sheet [ 1 2 ]

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Fri, Jun 22, 2012 at 1:39:40 PM

20

Error Loading Profile Family

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Nov 21, 2010 at 6:31:22 PM

2

Differences in families while loading them into project

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Wed, Oct 27, 2010 at 12:02:17 PM

1

Inserting Structural Trusses

Community >> Newbies

Fri, Apr 11, 2008 at 1:56:28 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1511903

Objects:

21249

Forum Posts:

151239

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.1896

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights