RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

215 Users Online (101 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Workflow & Implementation >> API & Third Party Apps >> Exporting Revit files to a format useable in NavisWorks

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Apr 18, 2008 at 10:01:15 PM | Exporting Revit files to a format useable in NavisWorks

#1

hdsam


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 10, 2007
22 Posts
No Rating


Anyone familiar with NavisWorks Manage 2009?  I exported a Revit Building 2008 file as a 3d DWF, and am trying to tie it to a schedule with NWM '09.  I have succeeded in importing the schedule (from Microsoft Project), but Navis doesn't seem to understand the hierarchy of objects in my Revit model.  It believes every piece is the same element (so, if i select, say a curtain wall unit, then go to Edit/Select/Select Same Type, the entire model is selected).  If I could only import the file in a manner that keeps identity data for the different model pieces, I think I could very quickly assign these parts to different schedule tasks.  Any suggestions?

This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 24, 2008 at 4:29:08 PM | Exporting Revit files to a format useable in NavisWorks

#2

Eddieboarder91


active
Eddieboarder91 Avatar

Joined: Mon, Jul 16, 2007
237 Posts
4 Stars: 8 Votes


I have been working with Navis and Revit for a long time now, coordinating MEP, lets see what we can do for you:

What you have to do is use the API (Application Programming Interface). Try this go to Tools -> External Tools you should see Navisworks 2009. If you dont. Here is how you fix that (This will save directly to a *.nwc file) . . .

Open “Add or Remove Programs”

Select “Navisworks Manage 2009”

Select “Change/Remove”

When the Install Shield Wizard pops up select "Modify" click next.

When the next window opens scroll down to where it says, “Autodesk Revit Architecture/Structure/MEP 2008” (If you will be getting 2009 you might just want to check that too if it not already) check it and click next. It will then install the exporter. I am unsure if you will need the cd or not, if a network installer were created and used it should not matter. 

 

Let me know if the exporters are installed already, if it is then you have to go into the Revit.ini file and add some things under the External Commands. I can walk you through that too.


-----------------------------------

www.allbimallthetime.blogspot.com

http://familyjewels.typepad.com/

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Apr 24, 2008 at 6:30:26 PM | Exporting Revit files to a format useable in NavisWorks

#3

hdsam


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 10, 2007
22 Posts
No Rating


Eddie,

 That seems to be just the fix I was looking for.  I can now pick discreet sets of objects in NW, just as I wished.  Thanks a lot for your input!  I appreciate it.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 24, 2008 at 9:00:30 PM | Exporting Revit files to a format useable in NavisWorks

#4

Eddieboarder91


active
Eddieboarder91 Avatar

Joined: Mon, Jul 16, 2007
237 Posts
4 Stars: 8 Votes


Not a problem at all, now i am sure that you have realized that if you have an meps rvt you can filter say all mechanical elements and only export those. the default setting to export is by view, if you do not do this you will be able to see all the elements but no clash detecting.

-----------------------------------

www.allbimallthetime.blogspot.com

http://familyjewels.typepad.com/

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Apr 24, 2008 at 9:06:35 PM | Exporting Revit files to a format useable in NavisWorks

#5

hdsam


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 10, 2007
22 Posts
No Rating


Well, right now I'm just working with a Revit Architecture file, but that is good to know.  One of these days I'll start getting into MEP models as well Smile

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Exporting Revit files to a format useable in NavisWorks

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, May 7, 2008 at 10:00:39 PM

2

Navisworks 2016 Linked files not included when exporting to NWC file format

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Wed, Apr 20, 2016 at 4:07:17 PM

0

Revit 2018 - exporting from Revit to Navisworks, wrong format file not nwc !!!

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 15, 2018 at 8:25:55 PM

0

Revit to Navisworks

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jul 5, 2006 at 9:25:35 PM

0

Export Issue from revit to navisworks

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Apr 15, 2010 at 2:14:18 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1423141

Objects:

20410

Forum Posts:

150475

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.6846

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights