RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

235 Users Online (97 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Cooling Load Calcs

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Apr 17, 2008 at 8:37:38 PM | Cooling Load Calcs

#1

MarauderX


active
MarauderX Avatar

Joined: Thu, Apr 17, 2008
21 Posts
No Rating


Revit MEP 2008:

I understand that IES Apache is the load generating software for Revit, and please forgive the newbie questions.

- Can it be used when submitting for LEED energy reduction credits? 

- How do I export from IES/Revit to Trane Trace and vice-versa? 

- Is there a common how-to and troubleshooting guide here (or anywhere)?

- Can I get more complicated with the mechanical systems used for the load calculations?

- How do I override some of the room information (for example use 0.8 w/sqft for lighting instead of the information from the light fixtures)? 

- Can I run a single room, set of rooms, or an entire floor separately?

- How long does the 'trial' version of IES-Apache last?  Should this be permanent instead of just a trial? 

Thanks in advance -

~MX


This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 21, 2008 at 7:17:09 PM | Cooling Load Calcs

#2

MarauderX


active
MarauderX Avatar

Joined: Thu, Apr 17, 2008
21 Posts
No Rating


Bump... someone out there must have a clue...

This user is offline

 

Sat, Apr 26, 2008 at 10:21:32 PM | Cooling Load Calcs

#3

Eddieboarder91


active
Eddieboarder91 Avatar

Joined: Mon, Jul 16, 2007
237 Posts
4 Stars: 8 Votes


MX-

- Can it be used when submitting for LEED energy reduction credits? 

        I would not fully trust the apache app inside revit for leed energy reduction verification.

- How do I export from IES/Revit to Trane Trace and vice-versa? 

       Export the gbxml from your revit model after you have overriden the values (electrical loads, people, etc.)

- Is there a common how-to and troubleshooting guide here (or anywhere)?

      Not really, there are other posts out there about this, more on augi.

- Can I get more complicated with the mechanical systems used for the load calculations?

       Not yet is revit, trace 700 yes.

- How do I override some of the room information (for example use 0.8 w/sqft for lighting instead of the information from the light fixtures)? 

       Go into the element properties of the selected room, scroll down to energy analysis and click edit for elec. and People, you will then be able to override all values. you must do this for every room you have assigned, this is large problem sometimes when linking an arch model in that has rooms already assigned sometimes all the rooms cannot be copied.

- Can I run a single room, set of rooms, or an entire floor separately?

       not in revit 2008, i have heard you can do it in 2009.

- How long does the 'trial' version of IES-Apache last?  Should this be permanent instead of just a trial? 

         the trial of IES <Virtual Environment> is 30 days. the sustainability toolkit is free for now.

 

HTH


-----------------------------------

www.allbimallthetime.blogspot.com

http://familyjewels.typepad.com/

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Apr 29, 2008 at 8:24:10 PM | Cooling Load Calcs

#4

MarauderX


active
MarauderX Avatar

Joined: Thu, Apr 17, 2008
21 Posts
No Rating


Thanks, and I hope to add more to this as I learn.  I know IES (apache) can be used for generating LEED-complying calcs, but not sure whether having it internally with Revit will yield the same. 

This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 30, 2008 at 12:29:55 AM | Cooling Load Calcs

#5

twometer


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 11, 2007
15 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


Revit MEP 2009 took care of some of these problems.  There is now Space instead of room and it is like a room but only used inside of Revit MEP.  This helps separate the architectural info from the MEP info.  Works good so far.


This user is offline

 

Thu, May 1, 2008 at 1:58:04 AM | Cooling Load Calcs

#6

Eddieboarder91


active
Eddieboarder91 Avatar

Joined: Mon, Jul 16, 2007
237 Posts
4 Stars: 8 Votes


twometer, gives a valid point. though if you have IES <VE> or can obtain it, i prefer it because you have a little more control over what your in and outputs are. Autodesk and IES have made some very good improvements in 2009.

-----------------------------------

www.allbimallthetime.blogspot.com

http://familyjewels.typepad.com/

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, May 1, 2008 at 1:20:59 PM | Cooling Load Calcs

#7

MarauderX


active
MarauderX Avatar

Joined: Thu, Apr 17, 2008
21 Posts
No Rating


Yeah, it would be nice to control the inputs more closely. 

I have the 2009, but the powers that be are holding off on using it for fear of loosing other things.  Kids, what can you do.

I have applied for IES twice now in as many weeks with no reply.  I'm thinking AutoDesk doesn't check their email. 


This user is offline

 

Thu, May 1, 2008 at 3:23:54 PM | Cooling Load Calcs

#8

Eddieboarder91


active
Eddieboarder91 Avatar

Joined: Mon, Jul 16, 2007
237 Posts
4 Stars: 8 Votes


If your trying to get 30 trial licences for IES, good luck it took me about 3 months, i just kept plugin away at them. I even called Cambridge, MA, then Europe. But I don't have to do that anymore, since we've become a partner.

-----------------------------------

www.allbimallthetime.blogspot.com

http://familyjewels.typepad.com/

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Load Calcs for LEED

Community >> Newbies

Thu, Apr 17, 2008 at 8:41:03 PM

0

Cooling load analysis not registering roof

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Wed, Mar 16, 2016 at 4:39:17 AM

0

Heating Manifold - Supply and Return - Radiant Heating and Cooling

Community >> The Studio

Wed, Nov 10, 2010 at 6:54:48 PM

0

heating & cooling Report

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Tue, Nov 12, 2013 at 10:32:08 PM

1

Severe cooling problems with rendering with Revit and Max

Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware

Wed, Feb 8, 2012 at 6:33:40 PM

8

Site Stats

Members:

1534308

Objects:

21326

Forum Posts:

151334

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.6043

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights