RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

272 Users Online (134 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Having Dimension text in string, not above dimension string

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Apr 15, 2008 at 3:41:19 PM | Having Dimension text in string, not above dimension string

#1

lorne17


active
lorne17 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Aug 29, 2007
417 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


Hello there,

I did some searching and cannot find out how to do this by default.  I can grab the text and move it so it's sitting in the dimension string, but I cannot have it set by default.  In the settings the closest I can get is 0" which is sitting right on top of the line.  Not in it and I cannot set that gap length to a negative number.  Anyone know how I can do this?

 

Thanks. 


-----------------------------------

AutoDesk Revit Certified Professional

Denver, CO

Revit Architecture

This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 25, 2009 at 4:30:08 PM | Having Dimension text in string, not above dimension string

#2

Chymos


active

Joined: Tue, Sep 7, 2004
51 Posts
No Rating


Sorry to revive an old thread, but I'm having a similar problem.  I do NOT want to use the manual overrides for dimension strings, but would like for the dimension text to appear BELOW the dimension line.  Revit will not let me use a negative value for the text offset.

Ultimately, what I need is a dim string with imperial values above the line, and metric below, but I do not believe that is possible.  Someone prove me wrong...


This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 25, 2009 at 4:30:50 PM | Having Dimension text in string, not above dimension string

#3

Chymos


active

Joined: Tue, Sep 7, 2004
51 Posts
No Rating


Forgot to mention, using Revit 2009.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 25, 2009 at 4:44:12 PM | Having Dimension text in string, not above dimension string

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 364 Votes


http://revitcity.com/forums.php?action=viewthread&thread_id=3324

 

Now I know you will come back and want to argue but this is your best answer.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 25, 2009 at 5:18:08 PM | Having Dimension text in string, not above dimension string

#5

Chymos


active

Joined: Tue, Sep 7, 2004
51 Posts
No Rating


Pretty much what I have done so far, but I gave one a text offset larger than the other.  This leaves me with a single dimension line with TWO lines of text ABOVE the line.  Not too bad, but ONE line above and ONE line below would be perfect.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Dimension strings not adding up to the total length dimension string (2017)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Mar 23, 2018 at 6:33:58 AM

1

Adding a dimension to a dimension string...

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jul 10, 2013 at 8:42:09 PM

1

Removing/editing single dimension in dimension string

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 26, 2009 at 12:12:02 PM

3

dimension string problem

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Oct 18, 2007 at 6:21:31 AM

2

Dimension String

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Nov 22, 2006 at 9:05:15 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1610516

Objects:

21982

Forum Posts:

151576

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 14.8711

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights