RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

181 Users Online (90 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Family help.... I need to repeat metal studs in my custom wall

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Apr 14, 2008 at 7:52:09 PM | Family help.... I need to repeat metal studs in my custom wall

#1

afsdesign


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 19, 2008
13 Posts
No Rating


Please help, I have created a stud wall family but I do not know how I can repeat the stud at 16" centers for the duration of the wall length, any help would be much appreciated.....I am new but learning, I have attached what I have at the moment.....Thank you

This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 14, 2008 at 7:58:53 PM | Family help.... I need to repeat metal studs in my custom wall

#2

alabaster2513


active
alabaster2513 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 16, 2007
1009 Posts
3.5 Stars: 25 Votes


i won't problem solve it but I'm thinkin you should just ad a formula to the family to repeat the stud for every 16" of length.

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Apr 14, 2008 at 8:13:19 PM | Family help.... I need to repeat metal studs in my custom wall

#3

afsdesign


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 19, 2008
13 Posts
No Rating


thank you for your input, I will try work on that.....not worked on formulas yet so will be interesting,,,,,, do you know of any tutorials that i could use to familiarise myself with the methods used....  

This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 14, 2008 at 8:15:45 PM | Family help.... I need to repeat metal studs in my custom wall

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 352 Votes


Why are you doing this?  Nobody normally shows studs in a wall and obviously, they don't need to be a model element since you can never see them.  If you want to show them in a plan view, I would suggest that you use a repeating detail.  Very easy to do.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 14, 2008 at 8:39:51 PM | Family help.... I need to repeat metal studs in my custom wall

#5

afsdesign


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 19, 2008
13 Posts
No Rating


Our company supplies and manufactures pre-manufactured steel stud walls and for presentation purposes I have been asked to create a phased presentation showing the slab to stud work to completed projects..... hence my headache......I'm reading about formulas at the moment not sure how they are entered gramatically though.... any advice on how to repeat the stud would be most appreciated...  newbie trying to move forward....  by the way this is a great site..... I had been using autocad for years and this blows that away....potential is amazing... feel like I have been in a cave forever.....

This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 14, 2008 at 9:21:17 PM | Family help.... I need to repeat metal studs in my custom wall

#6

TABEST


active

Joined: Wed, May 9, 2007
141 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


If you really do want to do this, you need to think about how your family will behave.  It has several "states". 

1st- if the length of the wall is <16"

2nd-if the length of the wall is >16" or equal to 16"

You need to have one stud for the first state, and you control it's visibility with a yes/no parameter. The equation for the yes/no parameter would be the folowing:  Length < 16"

the 2nd state will be an array of studs.  Their visibility will be controlled by a yes/no parameter with the following equation:

   or(Length=16", Length > 16"Winking

  It's number of elements will be controlled by a parameter of type integer, with the following parameter:

  if(<2nd state's visibility parameter typed here>, Length/16", 2) 

 

The above should do it, I assumed that if the wall is 16" that you will have a stud at the beginning and end.  Also assumed that if the wall is <16" you will only have one stud.  When you create the stud array, check the Last box, instead of the second box on the options bar (just above visible work space).


This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 14, 2008 at 9:57:31 PM | Family help.... I need to repeat metal studs in my custom wall

#7

alabaster2513


active
alabaster2513 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 16, 2007
1009 Posts
3.5 Stars: 25 Votes


^ what he said! Smile

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Apr 14, 2008 at 10:09:44 PM | Family help.... I need to repeat metal studs in my custom wall

#8

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 352 Votes


Since you do have to model this, this might be a place to use a curtainwall.  Place your studs at the mullion lines - top & bottom runners for the top & bottom mullions.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 15, 2008 at 7:29:24 AM | Family help.... I need to repeat metal studs in my custom wall

#9

Debo


active

Joined: Wed, May 23, 2007
27 Posts
No Rating


Try this

Attached Files

This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 18, 2008 at 12:13:53 PM | Family help.... I need to repeat metal studs in my custom wall

#10

afsdesign


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 19, 2008
13 Posts
No Rating


THANK YOU DEBO, the file works great for altering the length and the stud ctrs...... only problem the family has is when I try add the height parameter again it conflicts with the other constraints for some reason.....I'm guessing that the array can not be set?  Anyway if anyone has any ideas on how to finalize this I would be most appreciative...And Debo thanks again for the help

 

P.S. TABEST I'm sure the formula would work but I am too new to put it all together....however I will keep with it and figure it out at some ppoint....Loving Revit "Architecture 2008"


This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 16, 2011 at 3:52:50 PM | afsdesign

#11

Prophecy99


active
Prophecy99 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jul 1, 2008
72 Posts
No Rating


Quoting afsdesign from 2008-04-14 15:39:51

"Our company supplies and manufactures pre-manufactured steel stud walls and for presentation purposes I have been asked to create a phased presentation showing the slab to stud work to completed projects..... hence my headache......I'm reading about formulas at the moment not sure how they are entered gramatically though.... any advice on how to repeat the stud would be most appreciated...  newbie trying to move forward....  by the way this is a great site..... I had been using autocad for years and this blows that away....potential is amazing... feel like I have been in a cave forever....."

This is what I do now! I used Revit in an Architecture Firm and it was fabulous. I am gettin close to persuading my newest company to get this.  This thread is great. I also found this amazing plug in for Revit, in which I anxiously await to try!http://www.strucsoftsolutions.com/mwfpro.asp


-----------------------------------
Imagination reveals truths reality obscures.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 16, 2011 at 4:14:46 PM | Family help.... I need to repeat metal studs in my custom wall

#12

pchan


active
pchan Avatar

Joined: Wed, Mar 5, 2008
208 Posts
5 Stars: 5 Votes


I have used the MWF framer for the trail version maybe a year ago and found it was a bit buggy and slow. and the company contacted me later asking to provide feedback said they would be making improvement for their product.

I wonder what the latest version is like now.

 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Oct 1, 2012 at 3:25:28 AM | Family help.... I need to repeat metal studs in my custom wall

#13

ivanzep


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 18, 2012
18 Posts
No Rating


I've tried different things...and I recomend using curtain walls, and make mullion types based on the different studs. I found this to be the most easy and flexible way of making wall framings. 


This user is offline

 

Fri, Oct 5, 2012 at 11:53:34 AM | ivanzep

#14

Prophecy99


active
Prophecy99 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jul 1, 2008
72 Posts
No Rating


Quoting ivanzep from 2012-09-30 22:25:28

"

I've tried different things...and I recomend using curtain walls, and make mullion types based on the different studs. I found this to be the most easy and flexible way of making wall framings. 

"

Thats a good work around, but still a "work around"


-----------------------------------
Imagination reveals truths reality obscures.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Metal Studs as Beams

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Fri, Mar 28, 2008 at 8:48:15 PM

1

Repeat Object Within Family/Type

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Feb 1, 2008 at 3:40:17 PM

4

6" Metal Stud wall @ 16" o.c.

Community >> The Studio

Thu, Jan 26, 2006 at 7:07:42 PM

4

Making a Custom Wall w/ Hrz. planks on Studs

Community >> Newbies

Tue, May 26, 2009 at 12:31:13 AM

1

Custom Wall Creation Question

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jul 24, 2009 at 7:41:46 PM

7

Site Stats

Members:

1443874

Objects:

20755

Forum Posts:

150857

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.7003

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights