RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

185 Users Online (76 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit Project Management >> Does anyone have Revit 2009, yet

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>

Wed, Apr 9, 2008 at 1:58:24 PM | Does anyone have Revit 2009, yet

#1

ArchWestCY


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 29, 2006
197 Posts
4.5 Stars: 7 Votes


I thought the new version was supposed to have shipped a couple of weeks ago.  Has anyone recieved there Revit 2009 disks yet?  I am excited for the new features, and I've been checking the mail everyday.

-----------------------------------
ArchWestCY

This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 9, 2008 at 2:30:23 PM | Does anyone have Revit 2009, yet

#2

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


it's shipping april 15,2009

HTH


-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 9, 2008 at 2:36:44 PM | Does anyone have Revit 2009, yet

#3

ArchWestCY


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 29, 2006
197 Posts
4.5 Stars: 7 Votes


Thanks for the info.

-----------------------------------
ArchWestCY

This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 15, 2008 at 9:25:45 AM | Does anyone have Revit 2009, yet

#4

KingRevit


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 15, 2007
321 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


download it here

http://revit.downloads.autodesk.com/...09/RAC2009.exe


This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 22, 2008 at 1:52:52 PM | Does anyone have Revit 2009, yet

#5

MHassan


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 11, 2008
11 Posts
No Rating


omg ...... is that means .. no torrent file for Revit 2009 will be uploading ????? Sad

 noooooo .... plz anyone answer me .... omg


This user is offline

 

Sun, Apr 27, 2008 at 3:53:17 AM | Does anyone have Revit 2009, yet

#6

Wozza


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 19, 2008
2 Posts
No Rating


2009 is ready to go. Our company uses 2008 for structural and architectural work. I'm now on board to implement MEP. However, our IT department, in its infinite wisdom, has decreed that we're going to wait for up to 3 months before roll out, because 'there may be some bugs in it'.

That's an immediate problem as I need to see what the new version can do, but it's going to be a hell of a problem when 2010 comes out. If we're working with an architect outside of the company, and he upgrades immediately, then, as Revit is not backward compatible (and I hope that there's a VERY good reason for that), then all work immediately goes on hold until we update. 

 


This user is offline

 

Sun, Apr 27, 2008 at 9:50:33 PM | Does anyone have Revit 2009, yet

#7

mongopac


active

Joined: Fri, Feb 16, 2007
41 Posts
No Rating


I don't believe one can purchase Revit without a subscription, so if that is true, of what use would backward compatibility be? Everyone that buys it, by definition, has access to the latest version.

I just loaded R2009 yesterday and its got a lot of the things we here have been posting about.  Of particular note is dimensioning improvements.  I like that we finally get the text over-ride of dimensions, with the addition of prefix and suffixes, ala ACAD.   Can't believe it took until this version to get that.

Rendering seems to work better, although the final rendered image does not seem to be anything but a still photo-like shot of the image unlike what it was before.  I haven't played with it too extensively yet.  Is that what others are finding?


This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 28, 2008 at 9:31:56 AM | Does anyone have Revit 2009, yet

#8

Devonshire


active

Joined: Wed, Nov 28, 2007
46 Posts
No Rating


I got 2009 last week and loaded it up.  2009 files are NOT backward compatible with 2008 (I specifically tried that and got an error message when I tried to open a test 2009 file with 200Shadey.

Autodesk told me a while back that about 1/2 of their AutoCAD development cost was making the big revisions backward compatible, so it looks like its just too expensive to work out the details of that "niceity".

The list of changes & improvements looks good and I'm looking forward to the improved dimensioning.


-----------------------------------
Architect

This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 28, 2008 at 12:20:09 PM | Does anyone have Revit 2009, yet

#9

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


You must not have been paying too close attantion to what AutoDESk was telling you.  AutoCAD is backward compatable.  As far as I know, REVIT has never been.  That allows REVIT to make better advancements in their platform.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 28, 2008 at 2:02:35 PM | Does anyone have Revit 2009, yet

#10

pdoug


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 24, 2008
87 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


I do not wish to cause rants, but I have heard there may be some video card issues with the upgrade... has anyone experienced bugs of any kind with 2009?

 

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, May 1, 2008 at 7:01:03 PM | Does anyone have Revit 2009, yet

#11

LIZARD2806


active

Joined: Fri, May 5, 2006
262 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


We received our subscription disks this week.

-----------------------------------

**Using Revit Architecture 2009, 2011, and 2012**

This user is offline

 

Thu, May 1, 2008 at 7:15:18 PM | Does anyone have Revit 2009, yet

#12

Devonshire


active

Joined: Wed, Nov 28, 2007
46 Posts
No Rating


I just converted a project over to RAC2009.  No problems with video card or anything else so far; but I just barely started.  I will post any issues.

 I have a ATi Fire GL 7350 with 1 Gb of RAM.  Drivers were a bit tricky from AMD on my Vista x64 box, but have been working well fo rthe last 3 months or so.  The last AMD driver update crashed my system to a black screen until I unplugged my (kind of) smart phone from the USB port.  Go figure.  Now my dumb phone doesn't synch with Outlook and would take my system down anyway.... [sigh...] 

 I was really looking forward to a x64 version of RAC2009 as there is now one for Architexture 2009.  Unfortunately I can't see much use for the ADT series after having been spoiled by Revit ;~).  I feel like Neo after taking the red pill ;~)  My VAR said to expect a x64 version of Revit 2009 in about 3 months.

 Onward and upwards!


-----------------------------------
Architect

This user is offline

 

Thu, May 1, 2008 at 9:06:08 PM | Does anyone have Revit 2009, yet

#13

MikeM


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 25, 2004
37 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


I appreciate forcing everybody to have the latest version

 BUT...

When we get a new version, new build, new service pack, we have to upgrade everybody simultanelously - we can't phase in the new version - have some4 people working on the new, doing a saveas so others not yet upgraded can still work on th esame project.

That may not be a big deal for smaller offices but we have three locations - if I could "push" the new version out overnight, it could work but we don't have that ability. I'm due to spend much of this weekend remote-accessing each machine to get Rvt 09 properly installed.

Also problematic is that we have a lot of custom content that we keep along with all out-the-box families, templates, etc on central server drives. It's a real pain to get every new install/upgrade to look in the right place - modifying the deployment doesn't always do it correctly.

Getting all materials etc upgraded to MentalRay is going to be a REAL pain.


This user is offline

View Website

Thu, May 1, 2008 at 9:11:48 PM | Does anyone have Revit 2009, yet

#14

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


Is this a rant or do you have a question?

This user is offline

 

Thu, May 1, 2008 at 9:17:17 PM | Does anyone have Revit 2009, yet

#15

MikeM


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 25, 2004
37 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Take it as a rant if you want but I was hoping it would provoke discussion on why limited backward compatibility can be useful and how to handle centralized content.

Comments and suggestions are welcome


This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Revit MEP 2009 family to be used in Revit Architecture 2009

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Feb 6, 2009 at 2:09:24 PM

5

Export Mass from Revit 2009 to 3ds Max 2009

Workflow & Implementation >> API & Third Party Apps

Tue, Feb 16, 2010 at 3:13:53 PM

0

Rendering in Revit 2009 [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Dec 31, 2009 at 4:41:31 PM

19

I need to open a Revit 2011 file into the Revit 2009 ? Are there any way ? [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Thu, Jan 6, 2011 at 9:25:02 PM

18

Revit 2009 I give up (almost) [ 1 2 ]

Community >> Newbies

Tue, Dec 1, 2009 at 8:28:30 PM

17

Site Stats

Members:

1796620

Objects:

22515

Forum Posts:

151983

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.9256

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights