RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

235 Users Online (91 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Walls

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Mar 27, 2008 at 8:43:26 PM | Walls

#1

BRIANDHADLEY


active

Joined: Thu, Jun 8, 2006
64 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Using Revit Architecture 2008.  I have created the walls of my model using a generic 5 1/2" wall.  Now I want to go in and add sheathing, stone. stucco, and siding.  I want my 5 1/2" framing to stay where it is but when I change the wall style the face of the finish is where the outside of the framing was.  How can I add this finish without changing the placement of the framing?


This user is offline

 

Thu, Mar 27, 2008 at 8:49:11 PM | Walls

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 369 Votes


First - You have to set all of your walls to have their location line set to either inside face, outside face or center of wall.  DO NOT USE CORE.

 

No ... go ahead and redefine your wall and you're done..... As long as your totl wall thickness remains at 5 1/2" 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Mar 27, 2008 at 9:12:51 PM | Walls

#3

BRIANDHADLEY


active

Joined: Thu, Jun 8, 2006
64 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Thanks, got it figured out.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Mar 27, 2008 at 9:12:57 PM | Walls

#4

TABEST


active

Joined: Wed, May 9, 2007
141 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


just wanted to add a little bit, don't use wall centerline, if you "grow" your wall more on one side than the other, it will not stay located in the same spot.  Just select all walls, then tell them they are now located via the external face of core.  Now when you add or remove layers to your face, the location of the stud stays in the same spot.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Attaching Rails to walls

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Aug 13, 2009 at 5:59:42 PM

10

Walls

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Thu, Dec 16, 2004 at 10:56:57 PM

8

solid walls transparent to curtain walls and railings in back..

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Oct 29, 2012 at 12:34:26 PM

6

Foundation walls & Normal walls joint, linework tool?

Community >> Newbies

Sun, Nov 1, 2009 at 5:24:18 AM

6

Inner walls overslaping outer walls.

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Sun, Dec 14, 2014 at 10:58:35 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1632687

Objects:

22066

Forum Posts:

151652

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.7071

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights