RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

195 Users Online (66 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Best way to Create Reusable Details, ie wall details

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Mar 26, 2008 at 2:26:40 PM | Best way to Create Reusable Details, ie wall details

#1

Bomhour


active

Joined: Sat, Feb 9, 2008
13 Posts
No Rating


Revit Architecture 2008.  What are the basic steps to creating reusable details?  Do you create a family?  If you tell me the key words I can search their meaning in the help files.  I'm just not sure where to begin.  I want to just draw a wall detail once then be able to drag it to a sheet when needed in multiple projects.

thanks,

Adam B.

Chicago, IL


This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 26, 2008 at 4:32:01 PM | Best way to Create Reusable Details, ie wall details

#2

PeteGGA


active

Joined: Wed, Jan 16, 2008
25 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


What you need to do is create the details as a drafting view, this is similar to Acad dwg where only line work, symbols, text and dims are use, no 3d objects are included,  go to View - New - Drafting view - to start. then under the drafting tab on the left draw away as if it was Acad.

If you want to place the view on several sheets you must duplicate with detail and rename the detail slightly by adding . or - at the end.

 Once you've created these details you can loaded them from project to project by using 'file' 'insert from file' 'views' and select your file. note only drafting views are able to be copied

 

Regards


This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 26, 2008 at 4:53:03 PM | Best way to Create Reusable Details, ie wall details

#3

PeteGGA


active

Joined: Wed, Jan 16, 2008
25 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Forgot to say under the drafting view you can insert a cad background of a detail, the select the cad file and do a full explode, this converts all the lines to detail lines, the only bad thing is it copies all the line types from the cad file in to your revit model and the list can get long. i'd suggest you copy the detail in a seperate revit file, explode, select all lines and change to thin initially, then use the line work tool to darken any lines, i'd delete text and dim and re do them as revit objects, once finished 'group all the lines & copy the whole detail to your correct revit file. this means you can quickly make a library of details from your cad files with out hours of drafting

Reegards,

Pete


This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 26, 2008 at 5:15:27 PM | Best way to Create Reusable Details, ie wall details

#4

PeteGGA


active

Joined: Wed, Jan 16, 2008
25 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


I keep remembering things, you can create call outs or section markers thant link to the drafting view,select callout tool  and before you place it select 'reference other view' select your detail and then place marker. it will create 'detail similar' marker or sim beside the callout line, this will then reference the detail number and sheet number of where you place the drafting view. you can reference the view as many times as you like.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 26, 2008 at 5:16:53 PM | Best way to Create Reusable Details, ie wall details

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


PeteGGa,

 

When you exploded that dwg and got all those linetypes named by layer, did you ever try to get rid of them.  I did and I discovered something very good.  I deleted the linetype and the lines didn't go away .... All of the lines became thin lines.

 

BTW - I like to clean up drafting views that use cad files outside of the project.   Keeps all of the riffraff out.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 26, 2008 at 5:53:10 PM | Best way to Create Reusable Details, ie wall details

#6

PeteGGA


active

Joined: Wed, Jan 16, 2008
25 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


I agree with keeping the revit file clean, often i download manufactures files which have unique layers, you could spend a long time changing layers. So the options are;

1) change all layers in the cad file to match the line type names in you revit file and import direct to you revit file, then explode, change text and dims2) change all layers in the cad fileto 0 or thin line, import direct to you revit file, use line work tool to make some of the lines thick lines, medium lines etc. to make the detail have correct lineweights, change text and dims3) Import cad file to a temporary revit file, explode, change all lines to thin initially( just to make sure you've changed all the line incase of any overlay) use line work tool to make some of the lines -thick lines, medium lines etc. to make the detail have correct lineweights, change text and dims. copy detail from temp revit file into your working revit model file so your working model file does not contain any of the original layer.

I use number 3 as i dont work in CAD any more.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 26, 2008 at 8:15:47 PM | Best way to Create Reusable Details, ie wall details

#7

Bomhour


active

Joined: Sat, Feb 9, 2008
13 Posts
No Rating


got it, thanks a bunch.

Adam


This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 26, 2008 at 9:37:38 PM | Best way to Create Reusable Details, ie wall details

#8

bauhaus1919


active
bauhaus1919 Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 20, 2006
219 Posts
3.5 Stars: 9 Votes


We made a Layer Translator file that takes our old AutoCAD standard (AIA standard) layers and converts them to Revit linetypes before we import and explode. For instance "A_Dtl_Wide" translates to "Wide Lines". Just use the "name" Revit uses for the different types and they explode in as those types. This is especially helpful if you have a old layer like "A-Dtl-Hid" that will actually come in as a Revit Hidden Line. It doesn't take long, which is great because otherwise I wouldn't waste my time...I usually trace/reconstruct as much as possible with detail components, in addition to redoing dimensions, fills, etc. You might as well do it right since you only have to do it once...per detail.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 30, 2011 at 12:33:12 PM | Best way to Create Reusable Details, ie wall details

#9

kbel4


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 28, 2009
8 Posts
No Rating


Why bother with individual details?  Why not use a key to the wall type and make all your wall details in a master legend and modify for each project?


This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 30, 2011 at 3:52:32 PM | Best way to Create Reusable Details, ie wall details

#10

rod23


active

Joined: Wed, Dec 2, 2009
89 Posts
5 Stars: 4 Votes


I have a sheet of generic typical wall details (based on the gypsum association manual) all drawn in one drafting view and all put on one sheet with "dummy" view titles on each detail.  Then I made walls which correlate with said details and match the "TYPE MARK' of the walls to the details.  This allows me to do a "Tag All" on the walls to reference all the walls on a plan.  Set this up in your template, and you will never have to draw wall details, or tag walls!!!


-----------------------------------

http://www.turbosquid.com/Search/Artists/Revitaoist

This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 30, 2011 at 10:51:51 PM | Best way to Create Reusable Details, ie wall details

#11

thetabest


active
thetabest Avatar

Joined: Tue, Mar 15, 2011
199 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


Just to put it out there, We did it at my old firm the way Revit Wants to do it...  We created a callout of a typical condition, i.e.- 1hr occupancy meeting with a 2hr rating, etc.  We then detailed each view, and then created the similar callouts on the plan.  I don't recommend this to anyone, we ran into this issue, first, the walls are dynamic, and thus we had walls move, adjust rating etc.  If this happens to the walls in your parent view, then your detail loses the wall!

I recommend the drafting view method, draw up a detail for each possible typical condition, then on your plan view, create a detail reference, and refer it back to the drafted detail.  The other reason this option works best is because you can save the details into a detail library project, and can easily load the conditions you need, and then modify them to meet the project's uniqueness.  Learn from my pain!

GL


-----------------------------------

Trent Best

Best Systems

the.tabest@gmail.com

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Exterior House Details

Community >> The Studio

Mon, Mar 3, 2008 at 5:10:44 PM

6

Callouts/Details

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jan 25, 2008 at 10:01:11 PM

5

query with elevation details

Community >> Newbies

Mon, Dec 1, 2008 at 11:12:35 AM

3

Shared Details

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Sep 17, 2008 at 3:35:49 PM

2

Typical Details

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Thu, Aug 28, 2014 at 12:54:38 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1797636

Objects:

22518

Forum Posts:

151982

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.1354

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights