RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

313 Users Online (162 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Systems >> Technical Support >> REVIT MEP, Diffuser Airlfow Parameter isssue

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Mar 24, 2008 at 3:56:40 PM | REVIT MEP, Diffuser Airlfow Parameter isssue

#1

AVSteve


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 17, 2008
19 Posts
No Rating


Once again, I apologize if this is a duplicate question, I am still very new. 

 In Revit MEP 2008 on the options bar for air terminals there is a box labeled "Flow:" with a box that shows what the air flow for that diffuser is set to.  If this number is changed in the box on the options bar the same parameter, 'Flow', in the diffuser properties will update itself to the new number. The problem I am having is that when I create a new custom designed diffuser family this link is non functional and I cannot figure out how to get it established.  Is there anyone here who has had a similar issue with this options bar paramater?  I appreciate any comments and I can respond again if I have not been clear enough. Thanks. 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 26, 2008 at 5:59:03 PM | REVIT MEP, Diffuser Airlfow Parameter isssue

#2

GarryR


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 26, 2008
2 Posts
No Rating


Steve:

 Open the diffuser family for editing.  Make sure "Flow" is an instance parameter.  Select the duct connector to the diffuser.  Select the associate parameter box of your flow parameter under "Mechanical - Airflow.  Associate the Flow parameter with the family parameter of flow.  Refer to attached jpg.



Attached Images

34654_Diffuser_Flow.jpg

This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 26, 2008 at 7:43:46 PM | REVIT MEP, Diffuser Airlfow Parameter isssue

#3

AVSteve


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 17, 2008
19 Posts
No Rating


GarryR, Thanks so much for that tip. It's like it was hiding right in front of me. However, now the 'Flow' box does take the flow rate and plugs it into the diffuser properties but it will not show that info after I click out of the box and then click on the diffuser again, it just shows 0 CFM, even though the property is set to a certain CFM. Maybe this is just a bug. Anyway, thanks for your reply.



Edited on: Wed, Mar 26, 2008 at 2:52:01 PM

This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 26, 2008 at 8:00:43 PM | REVIT MEP, Diffuser Airlfow Parameter isssue

#4

GarryR


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 26, 2008
2 Posts
No Rating


AV Steve:

Have you set-up diffuser tags.  I get the CFM to show on diffuser tags, but cannot get the CFM to show in the flow box of the family edit bar.  We are probably still missing the setting of some parameter.  I worked all morning to get this proplem solved, and still feel it is only partially solved.

 GarryR


This user is offline

 

Thu, Mar 27, 2008 at 12:52:18 PM | REVIT MEP, Diffuser Airlfow Parameter isssue

#5

AVSteve


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 17, 2008
19 Posts
No Rating


Garry,  Yes I have a custom made Diffuser tag that we use here.  The picks up the Flow just fine but like you said, It doesn't show on the family edit bar.  I can still enter the value into the edit bar and everything takes fine, but then the CFM value returns to 0 even though the parameter still carries the value I set it to.  Wierd.  The standard issue diffusers that come with Revit work just fine, so i think you are correct that there is some parameter or association somewhere that is off. 

 

Steve 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Mar 27, 2008 at 2:46:53 PM | REVIT MEP, Diffuser Airlfow Parameter isssue

#6

AVSteve


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 17, 2008
19 Posts
No Rating


Garry,  Yes I have a custom made Diffuser tag that we use here.  The picks up the Flow just fine but like you said, It doesn't show on the family edit bar.  I can still enter the value into the edit bar and everything takes fine, but then the CFM value returns to 0 even though the parameter still carries the value I set it to.  Wierd.  The standard issue diffusers that come with Revit work just fine, so i think you are correct that there is some parameter or association somewhere that is off. 

 

Steve 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 10, 2008 at 4:40:47 PM | REVIT MEP, Diffuser Airlfow Parameter isssue

#7

AVSteve


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 17, 2008
19 Posts
No Rating


Garry,  I have finally figured out how to get the flows all set for diffusers.  It is a combination of associating the proper paramters as well as telling the connectors how to interact with other equipment.  When you look at the properties for any duct conector you will see the "Flow Configuration" setting.  If this is set to 'calculated' the flow info you enter into the diffuser will not show up on the options bar in your floor plan view, you must set it to 'preset'. The inplications of this setting, of course, goes deeper than just the flow box on the options bar.  If you follow this link: http://inside-the-system.typepad.com/my_weblog/2007/11/go-with-the-flo.html  you will find a very useful explantion of connectors, parameters and links.  Look at both part 1 and part 2.

 

Hope this will help someone. 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 21, 2010 at 6:46:22 PM | REVIT MEP, Diffuser Airlfow Parameter isssue

#8

autocadisfaster


active

Joined: Fri, Sep 18, 2009
13 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


well I guess my version of Revit does not have that option as I cannot find it - BTW, anybody get their CFM's to actually calculate from the equipment/ supply configuration to your actual schedule????? So far I can't wait until they ACTUALLY put out a good version of this product.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

2D diffuser transparency

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jan 8, 2014 at 2:31:36 PM

12

Locking MEP Elements

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Tue, May 31, 2011 at 5:52:31 PM

10

REVIT MEP 2012 Ductwork Connection to Sidewall Diffuser

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Wed, Mar 20, 2013 at 8:31:59 PM

1

Linear Air Diffuser

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Sat, Jun 11, 2016 at 5:58:53 AM

3

Diffuser

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Wed, May 30, 2012 at 1:24:46 AM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1595246

Objects:

21921

Forum Posts:

151535

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.9640

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights