RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

208 Users Online (81 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Walls not showing in plan region

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Feb 18, 2008 at 2:56:12 PM | Walls not showing in plan region

#1

daryl


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 8, 2004
39 Posts
No Rating


We are using Revit Structure 2008, just updated to the latest build on Feb 15. I am working on a demonstration for the owners of the company I work for.

To accomplish this I have taken a project we have already done in AutoCAD and built the Revit model of the building. I am trying to make a second floor framing plan to compare to our plans done in AutoCAD. The building is five stories with three stairwells running from the first floor to the roof. In my second floor framing plan I want to show the masonry walls for the stairwells, but with openings on the first floor. I created a plan region around each stair well. On two of them the plan region seems to work perfectly, I get all four walls with the masonry hatch and the openings that are on the first floor. On the third stairwell I only get two of the walls showing. The other two walls do not show. All four walls are the same type, with all the same properties, offsets, floors, etc. All three plan regions have exactly the same view range.

I cannot figure out why all four walls do notshow up for this one stair well.

I have attached two JPG files. One showing a good region and one showing the problem region.

Thanks for any input.

Daryl Stockton



Attached Images

33096_problem_region.JPG33096_correct_region.JPG

This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 18, 2008 at 3:08:49 PM | Walls not showing in plan region

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 361 Votes


Did you look at this in 3d to make sure all your walls really go up?  They will list the same even if their profile has been edited.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 18, 2008 at 3:17:26 PM | Walls not showing in plan region

#3

daryl


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 8, 2004
39 Posts
No Rating


Yes, I have looked at the model in 3D, I have done so dozens of times, from all kinds of angles, using different filters, cut planes, etc. I have also created sections through the problem stair well and cannot find anything that stands out as a problem.

 

Daryl


This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 18, 2008 at 3:29:44 PM | Walls not showing in plan region

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 361 Votes


Pull your plan regions out on the offending floor to make sure they include the full thickness of the walls.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 18, 2008 at 3:29:52 PM | Walls not showing in plan region

#5

daryl


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 8, 2004
39 Posts
No Rating


BTW, I realize I posted this in the Revit Architecture forum. I could have posted it in Structure, but I don't think it is a problem specific to Structure and I thought it may get seen more often in the Architecture forum.

Daryl


This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 18, 2008 at 3:31:18 PM | Walls not showing in plan region

#6

daryl


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 8, 2004
39 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for suggestion, but I have done that a number of times as well as recreating the problem plan region.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 18, 2008 at 4:01:04 PM | Walls not showing in plan region

#7

NKramer


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 10, 2007
285 Posts
4 Stars: 9 Votes


Are the walls set to structural? Typically non structural (non-bearing) walls do not show up on structural drawings. If you want them to show up you would have to change your discipline to coordination or change the structural usage of the wall to something besides for non-bearing. Or the walls could be set to a different phase?

If you still cant figure it out a screen capture of the element properties of both the view and one of the walls would be helpful.

 

Nick 


This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Feb 18, 2008 at 4:15:20 PM | Walls not showing in plan region

#8

daryl


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 8, 2004
39 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for the suggestion Nick.

All four walls, the two that show and the two that don't, have the same properties, bearing and structural. The view is set to structrural. The really odd thing is that the three stair wells all have the same type walls, same properties, etc. Yet, this one stair well has two dissappearing walls. On top of that the only floor they do not show up on is the second. I don't have plan regions on any other floors, but all four walls show up correctly with all the correct attributes on all other floors.

I have attached the properties for the view, a good wall, and a problem wall. Hopefully something will stand out that I have overlooked.

 Daryl 



Attached Images

33109_bad_wall.JPG33109_good_wall.JPG33109_view_props.JPG

This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 18, 2008 at 4:28:15 PM | Walls not showing in plan region

#9

NKramer


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 10, 2007
285 Posts
4 Stars: 9 Votes


Its hard to say given that the screen captures are not complete (the only way I know of doing it is by useing Snagit. Snagit will actually screen capture and allow you to scroll a window...)

The only other thing that I can think of would be to make sure that you didnt accidentally hide the wall in the view. Other than that you could try recreating the view and/ or the walls. Sometimes things get messed up and it takes longer to figure out why than it would to just redraw the walls.

 

Nick 


This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Feb 18, 2008 at 4:39:35 PM | Walls not showing in plan region

#10

daryl


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 8, 2004
39 Posts
No Rating


Nick,

Sorry for the incomplete screen captures, we do not have SnagIt, yet. Unfortunately there is also nothing hidden in the view. Redrawing the walls may be an option. The problem is the model is linked to the archiect's model and the walls were originally brought in using using copy and monitor. After that I edited our walls to get rid of the non-structural elements. We are still refining our use of linking and copy/monitor.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 18, 2008 at 4:44:13 PM | Walls not showing in plan region

#11

daryl


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 8, 2004
39 Posts
No Rating


Nick,

Sorry for the incomplete screen captures, we do not have SnagIt, yet. Unfortunately there is also nothing hidden in the view. Redrawing the walls may be an option. The problem is the model is linked to the archiect's model and the walls were originally brought in using using copy and monitor. After that I edited our walls to get rid of the non-structural elements. We are still refining our use of linking and copy/monitor.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 18, 2008 at 4:45:05 PM | Walls not showing in plan region

#12

NKramer


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 10, 2007
285 Posts
4 Stars: 9 Votes


Sorry wasnt really trying to complain. Actually more of a complaint about Revit I guess. I had the same problem until a few weeks ago when I complained to IT... Yeah I dont know what deleting and redrawing the walls would do to copy/ monitor. Not to mention that it would kill any windows and doors on the arch end. You could try talking to the arch and see if theres anything funky about those walls. Otherwise try sending it to ADSK or your reseller and see if they have any luck.

 

Nick 


This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Feb 18, 2008 at 5:10:14 PM | Walls not showing in plan region

#13

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 361 Votes


With problems like this, 99.9 % of the time, I usually find in the end that there is a simple mistake made somewhere and it is not the program.  However, without a portion of the model at least to work with, we can't do much to error check this.

 

Here is maybe too obvious a question.  Why doesn't your region just include the doors?  That's really what I think you are trying to show.  The rest of the stair will be the same included or not. 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 18, 2008 at 5:18:46 PM | Walls not showing in plan region

#14

daryl


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 8, 2004
39 Posts
No Rating


In a Structural model there are no doors or windows, only openings. Revit Structure is made to work this way. But the plan region element should work the same in Structure as it does in Achitecture. Whatever is within the view range of the plan region should show up.

I would post the model but it is 10MB and I am not sure what the Principals of the firm would say about it.

You are probably correct in your assertion that most of these issues are something small that has been missed. I have been using Revit since version 6 and just started using Revit Structural at this job. I can usually find my mistakes, but this one has me stumped.

 

Daryl


This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 18, 2008 at 7:59:12 PM | Walls not showing in plan region

#15

daryl


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 8, 2004
39 Posts
No Rating


Thanks to all of you that answered.

I finally redrew the two problem walls and now they show up like they are supposed to. While this did fix the problem with the 2nd floor framing plan view I think it has messed up the coordination and monitoring between our file and the architect's file. Since this is a test project it is no big deal at this point. But when and if we start using RS2008 for production the link between the two files will be very important.

 Daryl


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Plan region not showing lines in detail view [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, May 11, 2015 at 4:17:48 PM

15

Plan Region problem - walls/slabs/framing displaying outside the region boundary

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Tue, Jun 23, 2009 at 9:46:32 PM

1

PLAN REGION PROBLEM

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Sep 10, 2014 at 4:15:22 PM

11

RA2008 Plan Region Removes Wall Detail Outside of Region [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Sep 18, 2008 at 1:19:25 PM

16

Plan region not cutting component

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, May 7, 2012 at 3:04:56 PM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1533968

Objects:

21325

Forum Posts:

151333

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.1749

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights