RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

206 Users Online (122 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Need Rakehead windows......

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Feb 15, 2008 at 6:12:48 PM | Need Rakehead windows......

#1

Shnail


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 30, 2007
43 Posts
No Rating


Hi, I am working on a project with vaulted ceilings, and need to put transom windows with angled tops. anyone know where i can download some? or if anyone has any help on creating a family of them. i will warn you, that i have been successful at making/ altering families, but the windows are still lost on me.

thanks

Tim


-----------------------------------

Revit user since 2008.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 17, 2009 at 12:48:56 AM | Need Rakehead windows......

#2

Needwiz


active
Needwiz Avatar

Joined: Sat, Aug 25, 2007
50 Posts
No Rating


Hi Shnail,

 I m facing a problem similar to the one you posted long time ago. I am wondering if you can direct me on how to do a transom window with a right triangle shape. See attached images, I created an opening on the wall by selecting window and crate in place but don't know how to add the glazing part. Also in the elevation the void of the cut out portion doesn't show, any idea why?

thanks J



Attached Images

57207_Window_opening_1.JPG57207_Window_opening_2.JPG

This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 17, 2009 at 4:54:35 PM | Need Rakehead windows......

#3

Shnail


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 30, 2007
43 Posts
No Rating


well, the best work around i found was to draw a pretend window on the elevation using ref lines, or reg lines. then i measured the diffrerent points to make sure i get the right heights of each point of the window. you're going to make the window width theame as the windows below it anyway, so you just need the heights of the points of the window, (does that make sense?). anyway, next i selected a casement window, and edited the family. use the measurements you just took, and edit every element of the window to those measurements, including the cut out in the wall. and then save the window as something, load into project, and insert into the wall, adjust the height of the window, and that should be it. if you need any further help, just let me know.

HTH

Shnail



Edited on: Fri, Apr 17, 2009 at 12:03:40 PM

Attached Images

57254_Windowopening2.jpg

-----------------------------------

Revit user since 2008.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 17, 2009 at 5:41:55 PM | Need Rakehead windows......

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 346 Votes


If you want an easy solution, just use a curtain wall and edit the profile of the wall to match your rake.

 



Attached Images

57260_AAA-02_2009-04-17_13.40.jpg

This user is offline

 

Sat, Apr 18, 2009 at 1:00:04 AM | Need Rakehead windows......

#5

Shnail


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 30, 2007
43 Posts
No Rating


I am going to give that a try Hub, thanks. One question... will the window show up in a window schedule, and is it able to be tagged?

-----------------------------------

Revit user since 2008.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 20, 2009 at 1:22:15 PM | Need Rakehead windows......

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 346 Votes


Sorry - cuetain walls are not windows so they will not show up in a window schedule but they will show up in a wall schedule set up to look like your window schedule, filtered for what you want and placed right below the window schedule ... nobody will ever know... if you do it right.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 21, 2009 at 10:37:27 PM | Need Rakehead windows......

#7

Needwiz


active
Needwiz Avatar

Joined: Sat, Aug 25, 2007
50 Posts
No Rating


WWhub & Shnail,

Thanks for the help. WWhub what will be the fast way to work around and ad trim to the window after editing the wall. I tried adding solid mass which is fine but is there anything faster and more convinient?

N


This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 22, 2009 at 6:15:12 PM | Need Rakehead windows......

#8

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 346 Votes


You could create a mullion profile for the exterior mullions that is 'U' shaped and does your trim....

Or you could do an in-place family.... Just choose your wall face as your work plane and either do a sweep around the window or an extrusion that is the trim as it would be shown in elevation.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

My Windows are not in my Windows Tab

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Dec 15, 2009 at 1:02:38 PM

1

Does Revit 2009/2010 work properly to on Windows 7

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 3, 2010 at 9:25:04 AM

12

rendering windows in 2009

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 27, 2008 at 1:35:01 PM

10

Windows 7 and Revit 2010

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Thu, Nov 18, 2010 at 5:54:09 PM

9

Excluding doors and windows in count

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Feb 15, 2006 at 8:59:05 AM

6

Site Stats

Members:

1415985

Objects:

20397

Forum Posts:

150457

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.5175

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights