RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

147 Users Online (145 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> fireplace

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Mar 4, 2005 at 1:17:31 PM | fireplace

#1

aabrmn


active

Joined: Fri, Feb 11, 2005
83 Posts
No Rating


Does anybody have any idea on how to get this fireplace to look right (basically merged in the wall with no cut lines in between and extended solid fill of the wall)? Please see attached image. Thanks in advance.

Attached Images

fireplace issue.jpg

This user is offline

 

Fri, Mar 4, 2005 at 2:41:39 PM | RE: fireplace

#2

TomDorner


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 25, 2004
1207 Posts
4.5 Stars: 25 Votes


A couple of methods. If you just want to get a 2D representation to look correct, then make a detailed component family of a solid white filled region in the shape you need. Nest that detailed component into the fireplace family. If the fireplace is parametric you will need to add similar parameters to the detail component filled region and link to the proper parameters in the fireplace. The other way is to make a void cut the wall in 3D and make sure your cut plane pcurse through it. I tend to stick with the filled region method as I can control the results in more situations. Tom Post edited on 2005-03-04 14:42:21 Post edited on 2005-03-04 14:43:18

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Mar 4, 2005 at 4:05:26 PM | RE: fireplace

#3

aabrmn


active

Joined: Fri, Feb 11, 2005
83 Posts
No Rating


I am having problems creating filled region in family editor: the menu item is greyed out and the drafting bar where the filled region is supposed to be is just absent. I posted a message about this issue but I received no feedback. Maybe you can help me out. Thanks.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Mar 4, 2005 at 4:11:13 PM | RE: fireplace

#4

TomDorner


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 25, 2004
1207 Posts
4.5 Stars: 25 Votes


Filled regions are not available in most families. The only ones that accept them are detail components and generic annotations. That is why you must create a new "detail component" family that is the filled region. Once that family is completed, close it and open your fireplace family. Load the detail component into your fireplace family and place it as a "detail component". You can align and lock the detail component to a meaninful point in your fireplace family. If you are still having trouble, post the rfa and I will take a look at it. Tom

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Mar 4, 2005 at 8:06:59 PM | RE: fireplace

#5

aabrmn


active

Joined: Fri, Feb 11, 2005
83 Posts
No Rating


Tom, your answer is illuminating. it probably goes in my wish list the possibility of a general template that has access to all the powerful features at any time (I encountered a similar issue with line types), it may speed up the approach of a novice to family editing in revit. Thank you very much for your valuable advice.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 7, 2005 at 2:12:05 PM | RE: fireplace

#6

aabrmn


active

Joined: Fri, Feb 11, 2005
83 Posts
No Rating


Tom, I followed your advice and used filled region in my firplace family. Is there any way to edit the filled region extents inside the fireplace family? Also, the fix seems to work at some scale but not others (I guess when the thickness of the line changes the filled region stays the same...). What happens when I move to a different phase and I might want to show walls with solid color fill? Please find the file attached file. Thank you very much. Post edited on 2005-03-07 14:13:08

Attached Files

This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 7, 2005 at 3:31:25 PM | RE: fireplace

#7

aabrmn


active

Joined: Fri, Feb 11, 2005
83 Posts
No Rating


Tom, here is a version of the fireplace with the void as by your other suggestment, I think it works a little better except it requires using the linetype command turning to invisible three extra lines. Looking forward to your opinion on this matter. Thanks.

Attached Files

This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 7, 2005 at 4:17:07 PM | RE: fireplace

#8

TomDorner


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 25, 2004
1207 Posts
4.5 Stars: 25 Votes


aabrmn, Family creation is quite complex. There are probably a host of things I would do different if I was creating you family from scratch. That said, I did a quick modification to your family just to get you pointed in the right direction. Your detail component needed a couple of reference planes and parameteres added so that these dimensions can be linked to your main family. While I was at it I also added a yes/no parameter that ties into the visability of the filled region so you can turn it on and off. If you study what I did it may become clearer. I would recommend buying the Advanced Autodesk Revit Courseware book if you wish to get a better understanding of family creation. (Available from the Autodesk website) Also search this forum and the forums at www.augi.com for any Revit family creation tutorials. If you are in the Minneapolis - St. Paul area, we are going to cover family creation at the next Minnesota Revit Users group meeting on March 16th. Tom

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Mar 7, 2005 at 4:52:35 PM | RE: fireplace

#9

aabrmn


active

Joined: Fri, Feb 11, 2005
83 Posts
No Rating


Tom, thank you very much, both for the fireplace review and the documentation advice. I just downloaded the fireplace and I will study your changes. Unfortunally I am in NY and I am not aware of any Revit users group meetings here...

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

fireplace help

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Dec 12, 2011 at 4:11:29 AM

3

fireplace

Community >> Newbies

Thu, Mar 17, 2011 at 8:34:26 AM

8

guys please help me i need a fireplace

Community >> Newbies

Fri, Mar 22, 2019 at 2:12:57 PM

0

Fireplace doesn't export out into STL file

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Sat, Jan 24, 2015 at 9:24:41 AM

0

Fire for fireplace

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 1, 2007 at 2:49:24 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1985351

Objects:

22874

Forum Posts:

152178

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.2263

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights