RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

223 Users Online (82 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> "EQ" dimension on either sid eof a fixed dimension

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>

Wed, Nov 22, 2006 at 5:40:52 PM | "EQ" dimension on either sid eof a fixed dimension

#1

burke424


active

Joined: Mon, Jul 24, 2006
48 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


We have an object that is centered between two walls. What is the easiest way to achieve a dimension line that shows "EQ" on either side of the object and the fixed dimension in the center?


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Nov 22, 2006 at 5:54:39 PM | "EQ" dimension on either sid eof a fixed dimension

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


I don't think you can do that but you can have an equal dimension wall to center of object to wall and a seperate dimension for the object.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Nov 22, 2006 at 6:43:41 PM | "EQ" dimension on either sid eof a fixed dimension

#3

normanoid


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 19, 2005
16 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Yes it is possible:

  1. Dimension the items as you normally would.
  2. Select and open the properties of the dimension line.
  3. Change the "Equality Display" property to "EQ" and click ok.

This will make all values with an equal dimension along the instance of the line display as "EQ."


This user is offline

 

Wed, Nov 22, 2006 at 7:13:27 PM | "EQ" dimension on either sid eof a fixed dimension

#4

burke424


active

Joined: Mon, Jul 24, 2006
48 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Thanks. It seems all my challenges in Revit are easy fix's when somenone tells me where to look.

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Nov 22, 2006 at 7:51:31 PM | "EQ" dimension on either sid eof a fixed dimension

#5

normanoid


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 19, 2005
16 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


One disclaimer about this method is that it will not display the "EQ" if the dimension is out by even 1/1,000,000 of an inch, which can be extreamly annoying. You can get around this (and other dimensioning problems) by drawing reference plains or tiny lines hidden by other graphics and dimensioning to these instead.

 

Cheers


This user is offline

 

Wed, Nov 22, 2006 at 9:10:58 PM | "EQ" dimension on either sid eof a fixed dimension

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


This process didn't work for me when I checked it with simple line.  the middle two lines moved so that all three dimensions were equal.  I locked the middle dimension and the same thing still happened.  When I relocked trhe middle two lines with a seperate dimension, the two outside lines moved so that they were again all equal.  So then I locked a new dimension outside to outside and when I checked equal on the 3 dimension string, I got an error message that the constraints were not satisfied........

This user is offline

 

Wed, Nov 22, 2006 at 9:24:50 PM | "EQ" dimension on either sid eof a fixed dimension

#7

burke424


active

Joined: Mon, Jul 24, 2006
48 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


I had the same problem when I first tried to get the dimension to work. The trick is do not toggle the "EQ" symbol visible in the model area when you select the dimension. Rather select the dimension and then open the properties dialog box and change the "equality display" to "EQ" rather than "value".


This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Aug 16, 2007 at 3:23:40 PM | "EQ" dimension on either sid eof a fixed dimension

#8

phildixon


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 2, 2007
23 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Hi,

Just to follow on this topic.

I'm running through Autodesk's tutorials which says...

"Add 2 dimensions from the center reference plane to the bottom of each side of the profile, place the dimension under the lines as shown, and click the EQ symbol to apply equal constraints."

 When I go to the element properties of my two new dimensions, the  'Other' field only has 'Label' as an option. There are two EQ dimensions already in this file which under 'Other' in element properties say 'Equality Display'.

 The reference lines that I have drawn in are both correct to a lots of decimal places.

I'm sure it's something obvious that I'm missing but any help would be appreciated.

Phil.

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 16, 2007 at 4:30:44 PM | "EQ" dimension on either sid eof a fixed dimension

#9

broncos4life


active

Joined: Thu, Nov 10, 2005
390 Posts
4 Stars: 10 Votes


I think that WWHub is talking about something a bit different than the rest of you.  You guys are having the EQ symbles in dimensions that are right next to eachother.  WWHub is talking about something that isnt possible in revit and it is where you have a string of 3 dimensions and the outer two are equal.  So you have EQ-6'-0"-EQ as an example rather than EQ-EQ.  You also can not make two dimensions that arnt connected both say "EQ"  the example of this is for ceiling grid, I want both first tiles to be the same off both wall sides of a room, and can have a dim say EQ on both sides.  I hope this clarifies any confusion.

 HTH

Grant Doherty 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 16, 2007 at 4:49:24 PM | "EQ" dimension on either sid eof a fixed dimension

#10

JAMESHGRIMES


site moderator|||
JAMESHGRIMES Avatar

Joined: Fri, Apr 14, 2006
584 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


Doing what normanoid suggested should work. I did a quick example of the this situation. Check out the attachment

Attached Images

26808_EQ_DISPLAY.bmp

This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 16, 2007 at 5:01:03 PM | "EQ" dimension on either sid eof a fixed dimension

#11

broncos4life


active

Joined: Thu, Nov 10, 2005
390 Posts
4 Stars: 10 Votes


Wow, ok cool, thanks for proving me wrong haha.  Thats cool though, never new you could do that for a string of dimensions.  Whats odd about that though is that if you were to have an Equal segment in the middle as well it wont do that though.  So with my example have EQ-4'0"-EQ-4'0"-EQ, but still cool none the less.  Thanks.  Still though so my credability doesnt all go the hell now, you can have two unconnection dimensions set to equal eachother.  At least Im 50pct right, unfortunatly thats still failing haha.  Thanks for pointing that out James

Attached Images

26811_untitled1.bmp

This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 16, 2007 at 5:07:43 PM | "EQ" dimension on either sid eof a fixed dimension

#12

broncos4life


active

Joined: Thu, Nov 10, 2005
390 Posts
4 Stars: 10 Votes


Edit on this is being annoying, I could post the attachment but not add to my comment...then i couldnt go back and delet the attachment.  Anyway the attacment above is a way to get the EQ in the middle by just breaking it into 2 strings.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 16, 2007 at 5:49:01 PM | "EQ" dimension on either sid eof a fixed dimension

#13

bauhaus1919


active
bauhaus1919 Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 20, 2006
219 Posts
3.5 Stars: 9 Votes


A couple of things to keep in mind when you are dimensioning in this manner.

 

A string of dimensions that have multiple equal dimensions will not show EQ. broncos4life (Go Cowboys again) is correct...for example, EQ-4'0"-EQ-2'0" will work, but if you add two feet to the last dimension it will read 1'0"-4'0"-1'0"-4'0".

 

Also, be careful because different dimension strings act independent of each other. For example, you are detailing a garage door and the the widths of the panels are all EQ dimensions and the heights of the panels are all EQ dimensions, but the the two EQ dimensions are not the same. In a detail like this we will typically only show EQ on both if the EQ's are the same (ie, square panels). Just a thought.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Aug 17, 2007 at 8:09:28 AM | "EQ" dimension on either sid eof a fixed dimension

#14

phildixon


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 2, 2007
23 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


I realise that I'm probably missing your points here, but...

 In the attached .rfa (it's a standard Revit Structure 2008 template), there are EQ dims. When you select one of the dims, they seem to be linked. Is this something you need to do before you can set thjem as EQ? And if so, how do I do that?

If I add my own to dims, I still don't have the option to set them to EQ.



Attached Files

This user is offline

 

Sun, Aug 24, 2008 at 4:51:40 PM | "EQ" dimension on either sid eof a fixed dimension

#15

Aksha


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 31, 2008
6 Posts
No Rating


My question is for Phildixon.

I am starting to get into Revit Structure and facing the same probem about 'EQ' dimension as you faced a year ago. Did you manage to find the answer and if you did, will you share it with us? 


This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Adding "Suffix" text to dimension strings in 2009

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Thu, Jun 5, 2008 at 12:29:28 AM

2

"Simple" dimension question?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Feb 29, 2008 at 3:48:32 PM

2

Centering Elements WITHOUT using the "Equal" dimension

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Nov 24, 2008 at 8:38:42 PM

3

Dimension "entire wall"

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jul 28, 2006 at 8:30:04 AM

2

Dimension Override / The Ghost 1/32"

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jul 9, 2008 at 2:30:09 AM

5

Site Stats

Members:

1668288

Objects:

22121

Forum Posts:

151721

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.9274

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights