RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

192 Users Online (76 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Technical Support >> Revision Number for sheet issued for the first time

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>

Wed, Oct 9, 2013 at 6:01:56 PM | Revision Number for sheet issued for the first time

#1

kozarrat


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 9, 2013
5 Posts
No Rating


We are issuing an addendum where there are a few sheets that are being issued for the first time. Revision number system is using no number or letter in the titleblock for the first issuance of any sheet and then using a sheet based incremental 1,2,3 numbering for each revision the sheet gets. Since we are using a numbering scheme for this addendum, on the sheets that are being revised the title block and our revision triangles read the correct revision number for those sheets. However, for the sheets that are issued for the first time, the revision number on the title block reads 1. Is there a way to number the first issuance with no number even if the rest of the sheets use numbering for that revision?

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 9, 2013 at 6:13:54 PM | Revision Number for sheet issued for the first time

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 363 Votes


You mean like the attached?

NOTE - To see the first non revision listed, you need to cloud.  I would put that near the titleblock,  I showed the cloud but you will want to turn that off in the revision settings.



Attached Images

124797_Capture.PNG124797_Capture2.PNG

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 9, 2013 at 6:23:34 PM | Revision Number for sheet issued for the first time

#3

kozarrat


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 9, 2013
5 Posts
No Rating


I want Addendum #3 to show revision number on sheets we have issued previously like in the first example. But not to show any number in the second example where that sheet is issued for the first time in Addendum #3 (it currently says revision 1).

 



Attached Images

124799_HGNCi5g1.jpg124799_ZVsdzrp1.jpg

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 9, 2013 at 7:01:34 PM | Revision Number for sheet issued for the first time

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 363 Votes


I don't understand what you are saying.

If you notice, I believe my example does exactly what you want.  My Revision schedule is top down - not like your bottom up.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 9, 2013 at 7:10:24 PM | Revision Number for sheet issued for the first time

#5

kozarrat


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 9, 2013
5 Posts
No Rating


I need Addendum #3 revision to be numbered on sheets that were previously issued, but not numbered on sheets that are being issued for the first time. I don't understand how what you've shown achieves what I'm trying to do. I need different behavior on different sheets for the same revision.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 9, 2013 at 7:26:28 PM | Revision Number for sheet issued for the first time

#6

kozarrat


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 9, 2013
5 Posts
No Rating


I think I found a super lame workaround.

I created a duplicate addendum #3 in revisions that shows no numbering and used that revision for the new sheets. That way I can achieve no revision number on title block for Addendum #3 for new sheets while maintaining revision number on titleblock and triangles for the rest of the sheets.



Attached Images

124808_XmQsg3Y1.jpg

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 9, 2013 at 7:30:38 PM | Revision Number for sheet issued for the first time

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 363 Votes


Come on - you can't follow the next sequence?.......I don't know if you mean a new sheet issued after the initial so I included that.

Look at these two sheets and pay attention to the revision setup!  Again - you would turn off the cloud and tag for the sheet issue "revisions"  sequence 1 and sequence 3 in this case.



Attached Images

124810_Capture.PNG124810_Capture2.PNG

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 9, 2013 at 7:39:44 PM | Revision Number for sheet issued for the first time

#8

kozarrat


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 9, 2013
5 Posts
No Rating


For the second sheet, can you get rid of the "a diff sheet issue" and have addendum #2 as the original sheet issue for that sheet. Addendum #2 should show no revision number in the title block in the second sheet, but it should show a revision number on the first sheet.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 9, 2013 at 7:45:37 PM | Revision Number for sheet issued for the first time

#9

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 363 Votes


Hello ..... why don't you at least try it!!!!!!

I don't spoon feed any more - my kids are grown.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 at 9:02:09 PM | Revision Number for sheet issued for the first time

#10

viorevit


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 29, 2011
15 Posts
No Rating


WWHub, can you please help:

I'm using your attachment on thread #7 as example.  Revision #1 and #3 are not Numberic nor Alphabetic.  What could be the reason that Revision #1 is appearing on the revision schedule but revision #3 is NOT?  This is happending to my project.  I had to manually input the revision on the schedule.

Thank you in advance.

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 at 9:13:39 PM | Revision Number for sheet issued for the first time

#11

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 363 Votes


In my earlier post, look at the image to the right.  Sequence 1 and sequence 3 are set to none.  You have 3 choices - non - numeric or alphabetic.  Once nummeric is set the first time, the actual revision number will start with 1.  You can then have other sequences that are none or alphabetic (the first starts with A) but the second numeric sequence will be 2....etc.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 at 9:54:24 PM | Revision Number for sheet issued for the first time

#12

viorevit


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 29, 2011
15 Posts
No Rating


Thank you, WWHub for the quick reply!  But my problem is not the Numbering or Alphabetics.  It is having the None revisions showing up on the revision schedule.  Can you please take a look on these attachments:

Sequence #27 is assigned None in the Numbering column.  Its description is appearing on the schedule.

Sequence #38 & 39 are also assigned None in the Numbering column.  These revisions are NOT appearing on the schedule. 

All other numbered/alphabetic revisions appear on the schedule. 

How can I get Sequence #38 & #39 description appear on the schedule like others.

 

thank you again!

 

 



This user is offline

 

Fri, Oct 11, 2013 at 2:09:50 PM | Revision Number for sheet issued for the first time

#13

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 363 Votes


Please read my very first post.  It explains how to get the revision to show in the schedule.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Oct 11, 2013 at 3:29:14 PM | Revision Number for sheet issued for the first time

#14

viorevit


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 29, 2011
15 Posts
No Rating


I did sketch up the clouds and tag the revision sequence #38 & 39, but they still don't show up on the schedule.  All other revisions do.

 

Thanks,


This user is offline

 

Fri, Oct 11, 2013 at 3:42:25 PM | Revision Number for sheet issued for the first time

#15

viorevit


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 29, 2011
15 Posts
No Rating


Another strange thing happened.   When I added clouds for Seq. #38 & 39, it makes Seq. #27 disappeared on the schedule too.  #27 always shown up on schedule even though it is also assigned "None" on the Numbering column. 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

revision number doesn't show in sheet issues/revisions

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Wed, Sep 6, 2017 at 3:55:41 PM

4

Revision editing

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Sep 3, 2014 at 8:31:46 AM

4

Linking revision number to sheet number

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Sep 20, 2010 at 6:50:30 PM

2

Populate Revisions in Title Block

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Nov 13, 2013 at 6:50:47 PM

2

Revision Schedule

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Sep 13, 2007 at 7:13:38 AM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1567746

Objects:

21461

Forum Posts:

151459

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 5.8422

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights