RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

255 Users Online (111 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Sphere with Windows

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>

Fri, Jun 3, 2011 at 9:15:57 AM | Sphere with Windows

#1

DSArchitect


active

Joined: Sun, May 29, 2011
18 Posts
No Rating


Hi all

I am currently designing a planetarium for a university project, and have managed to create a dome roof, with some help from Typhoon. I am considering creating a full sphere, so the top half is the Planeterium dome, and the bottom half is used as an exhibition space. My problem is I would like to put windows in the bottom portion, but have no idea how. Would really appreciate any help on this.

Thank you

Regards DS


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jun 3, 2011 at 9:35:08 AM | Sphere with Windows

#2

DSArchitect


active

Joined: Sun, May 29, 2011
18 Posts
No Rating


Never mind. I just created a sphere using the model in place > Wall > Revolve. From here it seems to be pretty easy placing a window where I need it. Thanks anyway :-)

Regards DS


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jun 3, 2011 at 6:12:19 PM | Sphere with Windows

#3

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 14 Votes


Hey -- if you're making a planetarium, you should try this!  But with a panorama of the stars.

 

Let me find the thread.. it was..

http://www.revitcity.com/forums.php?action=viewthread&thread_id=24003



Attached Images

93073_Site_Dome.jpg

This user is offline

 

Sat, Jun 4, 2011 at 1:30:46 AM | Sphere with Windows

#4

DSArchitect


active

Joined: Sun, May 29, 2011
18 Posts
No Rating


Thank you itsmyalterego!!

I am thinking of having the bottom half completely glass, however I would need to put in the steel frame structure, but I have abolutely no idea how I would even start that - I am fairly new to Revit, and I am using Revit 2011.

If anyone has the time, would really appreciate some pointers on this.

Thank you

Regards DS


This user is offline

 

Sat, Jun 4, 2011 at 2:49:45 AM | Sphere with Windows

#5

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 14 Votes


Well, If you want two materials, you could just raise the profile on your revolve, and make a second revolve below the solid one that's made of glass. 

 

As for the steel beams, are they going to be arched?  following the curve I imagine?  You're going to want to get familiar with sweeps, and the other model-in-place tools.  It wouldn't be hard to make a beam that arches up over the dome, and then use radial array to surround the structure.

 

Jumping to conclusions, (no real idea how you'd support a dome) I would make an arched beam out of a sweep.  For a sweep, you can -pick- a 3D edge as your path, which is handy.  you should have one edge on your revolve... not sure, because I'd use a 360 degree sweep instead of revolves... personal preference... draw a profile, array in a circle. 



Attached Images

93099_dome_with_beams.jpg

This user is offline

 

Sat, Jun 4, 2011 at 3:57:33 AM | Sphere with Windows

#6

DSArchitect


active

Joined: Sun, May 29, 2011
18 Posts
No Rating


Thanks again itsmyalterego!!

The image you attatched is exactly what I am trying to do - except it would be rotated 180 degrees, and be on the bottom half. I have constructed a dome using the model in place > Roof > Revolve, and then done the same thing for the bottom sphere, but instead of using Roof, I used Wall within the model in place selection.

I am however quite confused as to how to construct the beams like you have shown. Do I edit the revolve within the sphere I am trying to attatch the beams, or do I go to model in place > structural frame, and do it from there. Or do I go to Structure >  Beam?

Sorry for all the questions, and I thank you for your time.

Regards

DS


This user is offline

 

Sat, Jun 4, 2011 at 5:02:05 AM | Sphere with Windows

#7

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 14 Votes


Right, you'll go to Model in place, choose the structural framing category for your model, and then choose sweep.  Start with the "path" first, and choose "pick 3D edge" as your method of drawing the path, rather than sketch lines.

 

And you're welcome!  I enjoy thinking about shapes that aren't boxes, and the best way to build them.


This user is offline

 

Sat, Jun 4, 2011 at 5:51:19 AM | Sphere with Windows

#8

DSArchitect


active

Joined: Sun, May 29, 2011
18 Posts
No Rating


Again thanks itsmyalterego :-)

Im not sure if Im being stupid, but I cant get it to go along the sphere shape - the lines I create all seem to be 2d. Should I be in plan or elevation/section view to best do this?

My strategy so far has been (in plan view): component > model in place > Structural framing > sweep > pick path > pick 3d edges > select the base of the sphere - and from here I have tried various things like completing the circle, or drawing a single line, and I cant seem to go any further. Sorry for asking so many questions, and thanks again for your time

Regards

DS



Attached Images

93104_Sphere_Beams.jpg

This user is offline

 

Sat, Jun 4, 2011 at 6:15:23 AM | Sphere with Windows

#9

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 14 Votes


Doh -- I was wrong.  Revolves are totally smooth.  What I would suggest in this case, is making your dome with two semicircular sweeps.  Well, make one sweep, and mirror it.  This will leave a 3D edge that you can use as the path for a beam's sweep. 



Attached Images

93105_dome2.jpg

This user is offline

 

Sat, Jun 4, 2011 at 7:23:11 AM | Sphere with Windows

#10

DSArchitect


active

Joined: Sun, May 29, 2011
18 Posts
No Rating


Well, still not quite done it. The only way I was able to create the sphere using sweep was by creating a new family. I cant seem to create a sweep within the project itself - the work planes are giving me alot of problems, however in the family interface, its fairly straight forward.

Within the new family, I have created 2 semi-circles, but they are just a conceptual mass, so I suppose I am back to square one? The other problem is no matter what I seem to do, I cant get it into the project.

Sorry again for asking simple questions, and thank you for your time

Regards DS


This user is offline

 

Sat, Jun 4, 2011 at 7:47:46 AM | Sphere with Windows

#11

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 14 Votes


haha, basically.  Start fresh for now.  But -- you just build this in your project not in a separate family, that'll add to the frustration.  You can do it out of multiple in-place families though--in fact, that's better to do for large pieces, such as the beams.  They should be separate from the dome in case you want to make them invisible in some views, for example.

 

Okay.  so.  The other benefit with doing this with sweeps is that you can move sweeps, up and down or left and right, and rotate any which way, after completion.  Revolves will disobey, so will extrusions.  The other modeling tools are more dependent upon planes than sweeps.  When you select an object, sometimes it has a little icon showing a "plane" like # with a lock in it.  You can unlock this to allow easier movement of you objects in all three dimensions.

 

Anyway.  SO, just start your dome in floor plan 1.  Sketch the semicircle path, and then go to one of your elevations, or the 3D view, to draw your profile.  what work planes are messing you up?  You might have to set your work plane back to default levels in your view, if you've added new ones at an angle or anything like that. Pic related.

 

 



Attached Images

93107_work_plane.jpg

This user is offline

 

Sat, Jun 4, 2011 at 8:14:39 AM | Sphere with Windows

#12

DSArchitect


active

Joined: Sun, May 29, 2011
18 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for the info :-)The problem I have, even now is that after drawing the semi-cicle in plan, when I go the the elevation view, it wont allow me to draw at all.

This is my process: New Project > Level 1 floor Plan > component > Wall > Sweep > Sketch Path > Draw a semi circle > elevation > Stuck......

:-) Thank youRegards DS



Attached Images

93108_Sphere_Sweep.jpg

This user is offline

 

Sat, Jun 4, 2011 at 8:28:33 AM | Sphere with Windows

#13

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 14 Votes


You're still in the sketch mode for the path -- hit the green check mark to finish that, which looks correct in plan, and then you can hit another button up there to start drawing the profile. 


This user is offline

 

Sat, Jun 4, 2011 at 9:42:54 AM | Sphere with Windows

#14

DSArchitect


active

Joined: Sun, May 29, 2011
18 Posts
No Rating


Thank you for that - I didnt realise you needed to select the Edit Profile button :-) Oops. Thank you for all the help itsmyalterego!!!

I have however one last question - if you can bear it. In plan, I have gone through the following steps, but just cant seem to finish it:

Home > Component > Model in Place > Structural Framing > Sweep > Pick Path > Pick 3d edges > I select the base, and the two semi-circles creating the sphere > Click the tick > Edit profile >> Go to view box comes up > South elevation > draw a profile similar to the one when making the sphere sweep > click the tick > click the tick again. Here is tells me it cant do the sweep. I seem to be missing the path in which it will sweep, but not sure what stage to do that.

Thank you again for all your help and patience today!!!!!

RegardsDS



Attached Images

93110_Sphere_Beams2.jpg

This user is offline

 

Sat, Jun 4, 2011 at 10:42:21 AM | Sphere with Windows

#15

DSArchitect


active

Joined: Sun, May 29, 2011
18 Posts
No Rating


Forget the last message - after some hectic playing about, and some common sense, i figured out that the profile is actaully the I beam itself, and the path is just a single line along the 3d edge. I have however one last question, which seems to be troubling me - how do you array in a circle.

Thank you very much for all your time and energy today itsmyalterego!! Very much appreciated, and hope I have not been too frustrating :-)

Regards DS



Attached Images

93112_Sphere_Array.jpg

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

About sphere truss..HELP!

Community >> Newbies

Thu, May 3, 2012 at 5:56:26 PM

6

Need help cutting varying size holes through sphere?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Sep 18, 2012 at 8:53:24 PM

2

One for Mr. Spot

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Oct 26, 2005 at 1:03:49 AM

3

Trying to void a spherical mass in 2012

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, May 18, 2011 at 6:22:23 PM

2

Can't Cut It!!!

Community >> Newbies

Mon, Nov 21, 2011 at 8:10:56 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1469787

Objects:

20534

Forum Posts:

150614

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.6348

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights