RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

216 Users Online (100 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit Project Management >> Workflow for updating a master Revit model with project as-builts

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 2 of 2 | << Previous 1 | 2

Mon, Oct 10, 2011 at 6:40:19 PM | Workflow for updating a master Revit model with project as-builts

#16

grid


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 26, 2011
25 Posts
No Rating


I am bumping this thread as it is very insightful for campus type projects. 

 

We currently have a campus project and have some workflow questions. Currently there is one main building, documented as built. It will have various phases of modifications (interior remodel, new addition, exterior improvements). Down the road there will be two additional new construction buildings. We have worksets and linked files set up as this recommends. 

 

What is the proper way to do drawings sets on a campus type project. We will need a complete CD set for each phase. 

 

Do we create a new file just for the drawing set and link the necessary files into it? Is there a way to group sheets by phase if it is recommended to doucment in the working model file?

 

Any tips/insight are much appreciated.  



Edited on: Mon, Oct 10, 2011 at 1:40:58 PM

-----------------------------------

Palm Springs Architect using Revit LT!

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Oct 10, 2011 at 7:02:49 PM | Workflow for updating a master Revit model with project as-builts

#17

Genna


active

Joined: Thu, Jun 5, 2008
2 Posts
No Rating


One word of caution when linking together multiple models, especially in regards to drawing sets - In previous versions of Revit (although I believe that this has been improved in 2011 and 2012), you could not reference objects in a linked file, i.e. tagging, keynoting, etc.  Reference information also had to be established in the linked model before linking it in for any tags to pick up on it. 

For phased projects, I typically begin with one model and archive the model at the conclusion of each phase.  I then create a detached copy of the model, delete the previous sheets, add the next phase, and continue work...

Best of luck!



Edited on: Mon, Oct 10, 2011 at 2:07:12 PM

This user is offline

 

Mon, Oct 10, 2011 at 7:10:20 PM | Workflow for updating a master Revit model with project as-builts

#18

grid


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 26, 2011
25 Posts
No Rating


Yes, I have read quite a bit about the pains of tagging, keynoting, etc. in older versions. We are using Revit 2012. Have all of the limitions of linking been resolved in the newer verison? 

 

The goal is to keep the workflow as intuitive and pain free as possible. 


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Oct 12, 2011 at 4:27:13 PM | Workflow for updating a master Revit model with project as-builts

#19

grid


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 26, 2011
25 Posts
No Rating


Does anyone else have drawing/documenting workflow suggestions? 


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Oct 12, 2011 at 6:05:42 PM | Workflow for updating a master Revit model with project as-builts

#20

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 376 Votes


For renovation work, I would continue to use links.  For those items that are to be altered - doors - windows - walls etc, I would copy from the linked model - paste same place in the new, then delete from the base.  This will allow you to have an updated model in the end by simply binding in the renovation and you don't have to worry about altering something in the base accidentally. 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 2 of 2 | << Previous 1 | 2



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Implementing as-builts

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Mon, May 9, 2011 at 4:42:33 PM

4

updating model

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Mon, Aug 5, 2013 at 1:59:53 PM

1

Create Revit from Hand Drawn As-builts

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Mon, Jun 4, 2012 at 2:10:14 PM

1

Linking Revit Architecture, MEP and Structural without using Navisworks

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Feb 13, 2011 at 5:03:41 AM

2

Updating materials in family editor not updating project.

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Thu, May 16, 2019 at 5:22:46 AM

7

Site Stats

Members:

1758825

Objects:

22373

Forum Posts:

151875

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.0968

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights