RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

249 Users Online (83 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Systems >> Tips & Tricks >> coordinates from survey into revit

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 2 of 2 | << Previous 1 | 2

Thu, Sep 9, 2010 at 6:19:50 AM | coordinates from survey into revit

#16

raephael


active

Joined: Thu, Dec 17, 2009
43 Posts
No Rating


hi

the question i started with was how to avoid cad and dwg route,

 i have imported dwgs countour survey-making a dwg countour survey i have not done

i have just spent hours messing with plotting into cad-it comes up in a straight line when i copynpaste points-not sure why -default copy previous z value?

i wanted to stay in the revit package and achieve plotting points

topo import points may be the answer for me:

import as topo /isolate point catogary and join the dots with model line -snap to point

when you  isolate point catagory of topo, effectively you have a point cloud?

i find revit a difficult learning curve and i do not have the skill for dipping into cad max and lisp without a long frustrating delay

martin

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 9, 2010 at 6:36:10 AM | coordinates from survey into revit

#17

raephael


active

Joined: Thu, Dec 17, 2009
43 Posts
No Rating


i am trying to avoid autocad route to avoid long delays with my skill level

import topo and isolate point catagory is effctively a point cloud?

snap to points with model lines? visibility parameters of lines within topo edit?

cad plots my coordinates in a straight line-default z value of previous point i.e. z axis/plane disfunctional? for me

this seems to me to be the problem that programmers are still struggling with 3D as a clikndrag package?

so i can blame the tools? i already know i am a bad tradesman?

martin



Edited on: Thu, Sep 9, 2010 at 1:41:50 AM

This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 9, 2010 at 2:55:33 PM | coordinates from survey into revit

#18

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 359 Votes


I think you need to read your Help on Toposurfaces.  Just search toposurfaces.  The process is very easy and not nearly as complicated as what you are trying to do.  After you read these sections, we may be able to help you more.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 10, 2010 at 9:45:24 AM | coordinates from survey into revit

#19

raephael


active

Joined: Thu, Dec 17, 2009
43 Posts
No Rating


hi

i agree with you my lack of knowledge is the problem

but i am not trying to import a point file to do topo

i am trying to plot shapes with coordinate info

same idea as topo but in  super structure

with the coordinate file in the csv format the only import option is topo ?

i adapt topo to my needs

but i will study as suggested   to confirm the above as the only option

thanks for you patience

martin

 

 

martin


This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 10, 2010 at 11:24:33 AM | coordinates from survey into revit

#20

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 34 Votes


I'm going to say this one more time.
"Import as dwg or dxf"

-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Sep 10, 2010 at 1:19:11 PM | coordinates from survey into revit

#21

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 359 Votes


You write: "...i am trying to plot shapes with coordinate info same idea as topo but in  super structure ..."

That is completely different than your original question.  You can create topography from a points file or from a 3D CAD file that has contours.  If you want 3D objects from a CAD file, then it may be best to create them in CAD and import into a family.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 10, 2010 at 8:45:24 PM | coordinates from survey into revit

#22

raephael


active

Joined: Thu, Dec 17, 2009
43 Posts
No Rating


what you have just said one more time is what i asked to avoid (the first question)

and have managed to using topo in an adapted fashion

no auto cad involved

 a copy of the original quest(1 MO TIME FOR D):

------do i have to go via cad dwg and import????????????

=====or can i plot /import a file(word or notepad) direct to revit?????????

-------but i wanted to go straight into revit with coordinates--not via cadopy of the original quest(1 MO TIME FOR D):

 

the missunderstanding is of the above question

should i rephrase it?

 

autodesk like to sell you abox of tissues but when you try to open it you need an addon and when you want to extract a tissue you need the kleenex unraving programme and if you want to blow your nose you need the nosey blow software package

or perhaps youd like the kleenex suite for 10000 bucks which we are still trouble shooting  as you pay

avaniceday

one more time sing it with me D


This user is offline

 

Sat, Sep 11, 2010 at 10:34:37 AM | coordinates from survey into revit

#23

raephael


active

Joined: Thu, Dec 17, 2009
43 Posts
No Rating


Your video will be live in a moment at:
 the above clip:
sample of plotting using topo revit exclusively
avoiding dxf dwg complications and explode restrictions
 the total station generates a .gsi file which then is converted using total station geo office software to .csv (revit topo compatible)
the total station also generates .dxf files but i gave up on it after about 50 attempts(Leica like to hord the info which is spoon fed hoping you wil give up and take a course in what they are withholding)
to use topo the info should be coded to match different parts -in this case branches
to give a different topo surface per code for each part to avoid atrange gestalts-dots incorrectly joined
martin
p s :
is there a topo addon for this(coming soon)

This user is offline

 

Mon, Sep 13, 2010 at 7:28:55 PM | coordinates from survey into revit

#24

raephael


active

Joined: Thu, Dec 17, 2009
43 Posts
No Rating


Your video will be live in a moment at:
the tree has grown

This user is offline

 

Sat, Sep 18, 2010 at 12:02:16 PM | coordinates from survey into revit

#25

raephael


active

Joined: Thu, Dec 17, 2009
43 Posts
No Rating


join the dots

This user is offline

 

Sat, Sep 25, 2010 at 4:16:53 PM | coordinates from survey into revit

#26

raephael


active

Joined: Thu, Dec 17, 2009
43 Posts
No Rating


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sqIK19ad5FQ

This user is offline

 

Sun, May 22, 2011 at 6:00:27 PM | coordinates from survey into revit

#27

fosterbill


active

Joined: Thu, May 12, 2011
5 Posts
No Rating


don't know if this will help but maybe you check out this video I found in an other thread (concerning BIM)

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=No_1pj0a25Y

 

 


This user is offline

 

Sun, Jul 21, 2013 at 2:51:57 PM | coordinates from survey into revit

#28

raephael


active

Joined: Thu, Dec 17, 2009
43 Posts
No Rating


point cloud started shortly after this discussion?


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 2 of 2 | << Previous 1 | 2



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Survey CAD file with large coordinates

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Wed, Sep 21, 2016 at 3:36:25 PM

1

Survey Point and UTM coordinates

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jun 20, 2016 at 8:50:02 PM

1

Project base point/ Survey Point

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Nov 13, 2012 at 9:35:36 PM

10

What is the correct workflow for Referencing drawing to Survey point??

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Wed, Apr 29, 2015 at 12:10:51 PM

0

Toposurface - CSV import to shared coordinates

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Aug 22, 2013 at 7:59:54 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1513336

Objects:

21254

Forum Posts:

151244

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.4141

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights