RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

274 Users Online (119 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Sketchup to Revit - Layer/Material Problems

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 2 of 2 | << Previous 1 | 2

Thu, Oct 15, 2009 at 9:07:16 PM | Sketchup to Revit - Layer/Material Problems

#16

rastamanCP


active
rastamanCP Avatar

Joined: Wed, Feb 11, 2009
50 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


Typhoon, I thank you very much for all the help, however condescending as it may have been. Despite the fact that my question was never really answered (which was simply "can you retain materials and seperate layers with a DIRECT sketchup to revit import?) I did manage to figure this out eventually, and the answer is YES. Importing objects from sketchup into revit does NOT require CAD. NO DWG NEEDDED. The way to do it, in plain english, is simple, and is as folows:

In Sketchup:

1. Set all materials on seperate layers

2. .*THIS STEP IS IMPORTANT: Paint each different material with a different color: unpainted materials will be consolodated to the "default layer" (layer 0) upon import and will thereforebe un-editible in revit.

3. Save, close.

In Revit:

1. Begin a new family, and import the sketchup object.

2. In the material manager, find the material in which the shading appearence matches the paint color that was applied in sketchup. (titled somthing like "Render Material 255-0-0".

3. Change the Render Appearance to the desdired material.

4. Repeat for each material in the object, and render. 

 

 

 

 

 



Edited on: Thu, Oct 15, 2009 at 4:07:53 PM

This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 15, 2009 at 11:18:53 PM | Sketchup to Revit - Layer/Material Problems

#17

rastamanCP


active
rastamanCP Avatar

Joined: Wed, Feb 11, 2009
50 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


Another Tip - use basic colors in sketchup to paint your objects, such as standard blue. This way you can easily locate the Render Material title in Revit, then apply your desired render appearance. Here are three example color codes that are easy:

 

Green- code F01 in sketchup, Render Material 0-255-0 in revit

Blue- code I01 in sketchup, Render Material 0-0-255 in revit

Red- code A01 in sketchup, Render Material 255-0-0 in revit 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 27, 2009 at 4:29:42 AM | Sketchup to Revit - Layer/Material Problems

#18

markitekdesign


active
markitekdesign Avatar

Joined: Thu, Jun 4, 2009
38 Posts
4.5 Stars: 66 Votes


hello guys..please see my tutorials...I already teach this...its gonna be easy for you to import SU and change the materials..step by step...

-----------------------------------

https://www.facebook.com/groups/257952100885689/

 

''GOOD WORK IS NEVER CHEAP,AND CHEAP WORK IS NEVER GOOD" 

 

 

This user is offline

View Website

Sun, Dec 6, 2009 at 4:14:33 PM | Sketchup to Revit - Layer/Material Problems

#19

mambohartsu


active

Joined: Sun, Dec 6, 2009
2 Posts
No Rating


I am also having a simillar problem, i wanted to add a structure fro sketchup to revit 2010 so i could place a diagrid on it? how do i that? thanks!

-----------------------------------
mambo.harts.u

This user is offline

 

Sun, May 16, 2010 at 10:11:02 PM | erland73

#20

carrucha75


active
carrucha75 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Oct 17, 2008
68 Posts
4 Stars: 22 Votes


Quoting erland73 from 2009-10-15 12:17:45

"Go to Settings-->Materials....and there you can change all the materials you want, and as an advice, change their names i.e. Render Material ### to whatever other name you want...."

ER? i m doing this but wont change the material on the object. I did import the sKP object to a family like generic model i.e. but doesnt work

-----------------------------------

.........................................................................

Not Sure What Revit Can Do?... Find it OUT!!!

Imagination is more important than knowledge...” -Albert Einstein

This user is offline

View Website

Sun, May 16, 2010 at 10:31:55 PM | Sketchup to Revit - Layer/Material Problems

#21

erland73


active
erland73 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 7, 2007
738 Posts
4.5 Stars: 85 Votes


Carru, can you upload your object so I can take a look at it?......

-----------------------------------

 “Learning never exhausts the mind.” Leonardo Da Vinci 

 

This user is offline

 

Mon, May 17, 2010 at 3:27:22 AM | Sketchup to Revit - Layer/Material Problems

#22

carrucha75


active
carrucha75 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Oct 17, 2008
68 Posts
4 Stars: 22 Votes


Ok but it is not finish yet!

Edited on: Sun, May 16, 2010 at 10:29:48 PM

-----------------------------------

.........................................................................

Not Sure What Revit Can Do?... Find it OUT!!!

Imagination is more important than knowledge...” -Albert Einstein

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, May 17, 2010 at 3:30:42 AM | Sketchup to Revit - Layer/Material Problems

#23

carrucha75


active
carrucha75 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Oct 17, 2008
68 Posts
4 Stars: 22 Votes




-----------------------------------

.........................................................................

Not Sure What Revit Can Do?... Find it OUT!!!

Imagination is more important than knowledge...” -Albert Einstein

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, May 17, 2010 at 2:01:02 PM | Sketchup to Revit - Layer/Material Problems

#24

arusso5


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 10, 2009
97 Posts
No Rating


As a follow up to the above posts, does that mean that all materials that are on our material list named "render # # # #" are from a sketchup model that was imported?  I'm trying to clean up and purge our file and want to be sure I can delete all those materials.

 Thanks in advance.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 10, 2010 at 4:04:46 PM | arusso5

#25

rastamanCP


active
rastamanCP Avatar

Joined: Wed, Feb 11, 2009
50 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


Quoting arusso5 from 2010-05-17 09:01:02

"

As a follow up to the above posts, does that mean that all materials that are on our material list named "render # # # #" are from a sketchup model that was imported?  I'm trying to clean up and purge our file and want to be sure I can delete all those materials.

 Thanks in advance.

"
 probably figured this out by now, but yes, these usually are from sketchup fixtures. you can go ahead and delete them, as long as you haven't assigned render materials to them. if you want those sketchup fixtures to render with materials be cautious when deleting, you may lose the applicable layer which applies to the fixture and be unable to apply a material. 

 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 2 of 2 | << Previous 1 | 2



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Need Help - Sketchup To Revit Layers

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Thu, Oct 15, 2009 at 4:37:08 PM

0

Sketchup To Revit Problems *Please Help*

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Thu, Mar 12, 2009 at 2:21:29 PM

1

Sketchup to Revit material problem [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jun 30, 2010 at 4:58:37 PM

26

PLEASE HELP! Revit + Sketchup intol Artlantis

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Sat, Jun 7, 2014 at 11:26:28 AM

13

SketchUp to Revit

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Sun, Mar 22, 2009 at 11:53:33 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1511926

Objects:

21249

Forum Posts:

151239

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 4.7874

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights