RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

241 Users Online (109 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 4 of 4 | << Previous 0 1 | 2 | 3 | 4

Tue, Aug 18, 2009 at 8:06:41 PM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#46

Xaquin


active

Joined: Wed, Jun 13, 2007
66 Posts
No Rating


Before I switched to the classic UI, Revit would crash whenever I attempted to insert a family not in the imperial library.

 

heh  I sure am glad that little .ini file saves me so much trouble.


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Aug 18, 2009 at 11:27:27 PM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#47

jwr2


active

Joined: Wed, Jan 17, 2007
13 Posts
No Rating


I tried the classic UI ... no help at all. bummer...

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Sep 21, 2009 at 8:16:15 PM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#48

BubbaZanetti


active

Joined: Tue, Jun 23, 2009
9 Posts
No Rating


here's an update from some of our troubleshooting the constant crashes:

Custom-built PCs: quad core processors,500W power supplies, 64-bit XP Pro, 8GB ram, GeForce 9600GTs so not too shabby.

Patches, updates etc. drivers we have tried everything we can think of. Still, it crashes.  The ribbon toolbar will go goofy before it crashes sometimes and other times it will just BSoD and reboot the pc.

Random info:

-Revit 2009 did not have this problem. Also, it seems, Revit MEP 2010 does not have this problem.

-We have a Dell EqualLogic SAN with using iSCSI over a GB-switch backbone. I think I have to somehow check this portion next.

-there are generally no logs in the EventVwr to indicate there is ever anything wrong

My impression is that this is a memory stack problem with the program itself. But whatever, it could be monkey poop befouling the Revit DVDs for all I know at this point.

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 7, 2009 at 2:18:55 PM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#49

jwr2


active

Joined: Wed, Jan 17, 2007
13 Posts
No Rating


I am now running service pack 1 & 2 and I crashed 7 times yesterday and again first thing this morning. Then service pack 2 partially broke the rendering feature. Some 3d views will have textures randomly swapped out for a strange red and black pattern ... bummer!

 



Attached Images

67168_PERSPECTIVE_5_BAD.jpg

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Oct 7, 2009 at 2:52:16 PM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#50

BubbaZanetti


active

Joined: Tue, Jun 23, 2009
9 Posts
No Rating


we applied update II and increased the pagefile. (64-bitxp, 8gb RAM,)

 

So far so good. My most complaint-prone user has not crashed yet...or complained yet


This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 7, 2009 at 2:56:05 PM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#51

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 196 Votes


That's what i told before, O.S. 64bits, Revit 64 and 8GB of RAM (min.), no problem until now, and with files with 100, 126MB....

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 7, 2009 at 7:55:44 PM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#52

JR49


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 24, 2008
13 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


i had that happen to me, I had to upgrade my graphic card and havent had a problem since.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 6, 2010 at 8:00:51 PM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#53

emgeeo


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 12, 2008
322 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


I'm running Revit Structure 2010 with 4GB of RAM, 3.16GHz dual-core processor.  Not really that important.

 

I had Revit crash on me many times over the course of the past seven days.

 

On to the point:  Our support specialist was in the office the other day and gave me the following advice, in order of importance.

It stacks virtual memory.  Having excessive open views is the worst culprit.  However, restarting is not necessary.  Dumping the VM is very easy, and you can check this for yourself.  Pull up your task manager (Ctrl+Alt+Del) and under the 'Processes' tab find Revit.  If you've been running it for 30-45 minutes, it should be towards the top of the list (if you filter by 'Mem Usage' or 'VM Size.')

 

1.  Long story short-

you can get Revit to dump it's VM by minimizing the window, and bring it back up again!

Check your task manager.  Very Cool!

 

2.  He recommended defraging my hard-drive once a week.  This seems excessive, but I'll enact an automated task if it helps.

 

3.  Clear my Temp folder.

 

4.  Turn on the 3GB switch.

 

5.  The 2009 UI will cause instability.  I'm not ready to buy into that theory yet.  I can still access commands via my keyboard, so I'll stay with the 09UI until it makes drastic improvements.  Whether or not the 2010 ribbons cause instability is up for debate.  I'll let you know what I find. 

 

With that said.  I haven't had any crashes since.  However, this is not a fair assessment- as I haven't been using 2010 as heavily.



Edited on: Wed, Jan 6, 2010 at 2:01:47 PM

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 6, 2010 at 8:08:47 PM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#54

JR49


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 24, 2008
13 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


ITS THE GRAPHIC CARD ON THE PC, TRY UPDATING THE DRIVE OR GET A NEW GRAPHIC CARD

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 4 of 4 | << Previous 0 1 | 2 | 3 | 4



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Parametric Cabinets causing crash in RAC 2010

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Aug 11, 2009 at 6:21:18 PM

2

2010 & 2011

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Tue, Jun 29, 2010 at 7:10:54 AM

7

Crash!!!!

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, May 5, 2011 at 9:09:10 PM

5

2010 seems to crash my computer alot more

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jul 24, 2009 at 4:56:58 PM

0

Constant Crash 2010

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jul 16, 2009 at 1:56:31 PM

7

Site Stats

Members:

1458987

Objects:

20592

Forum Posts:

150670

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.3446

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights