RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

242 Users Online (103 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 3 of 4 | << Previous 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next >>

Wed, Jul 29, 2009 at 3:21:04 PM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#31

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 34 Votes


I think 2010 has a memory leak. It sucks up all the computer resources as times goes on.
Try monitoring the memory usage. It just keeps sucking up the memory like a Canadian at a beer tent. 
I restart my REVIT 2-3 times a day (12 hour days) to avoid crashing. Otherr than that I really have no problems.
I chalk it up as 'growing pains'.


Edited on: Wed, Jul 29, 2009 at 10:21:50 AM

-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jul 29, 2009 at 3:57:09 PM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#32

alabaster2513


active
alabaster2513 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 16, 2007
1009 Posts
3.5 Stars: 25 Votes


its weird that some people have that problem and some don't. Did you install from the DVD or from the download? I have the download installed and the patch. I can open my worksharing monitor and watch my resources and they don't seem to be affected much. I can also run 3ds Max, Autocad and  Photoshop and still no crashing.... and I only have 8 gb of RAM.....

 

On one of my XP 32 bit machines with 2 GB of RAM we were having crashes... installed 2 more GB of RAM... no more crashing.



Edited on: Wed, Jul 29, 2009 at 10:58:41 AM

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jul 29, 2009 at 4:30:44 PM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#33

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 34 Votes


Installed on laptop from the downloaded exe and have not installed the Update yet. I am using XP SP3 32 bit with only 2 GB Ram (no large project files). I am mobile and do mostly training and work on smaller projects. However I think I will add another 2 GB Ram and see if that solves the problem. Video is NVIDIA GeForce Go 6600.

-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jul 29, 2009 at 4:50:10 PM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#34

alabaster2513


active
alabaster2513 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 16, 2007
1009 Posts
3.5 Stars: 25 Votes


I would imagine that should fix your issue. My laptop I have xp 32 and vista 64 with 4 gb of RAM. It ran much much better on my XP operating system until I found out with Vista 64 I could use my 32 gb thumbdrive with readyboost as memory. Now I don't ever even boot into XP, bout to test windows 7

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jul 30, 2009 at 6:52:57 AM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#35

kgvogel


active

Joined: Thu, Feb 26, 2009
8 Posts
No Rating


I had 2GB of ram, I was crashing, installed an additional 2GB of ram, still crashing.. Installed the patch, still crashing.

While looking at what people have said on this thread, and what have been happening to colleques at my office, I do not believe the crashing is so directly related to your system specs. Logically it is important and it makes a difference, granted, but its not the prime issue. I believe it is simply not a well rounded, stable program, and that can surely not be denied by anyone, because at the end of the day the people complaining on this website are afterall the people using the software. People can point fingers and blame it on the 'optimum' spec requirements etc, yet thats not going to help, because every single Revit user can simply not afford to upgrade to the most advanced hardware everytime AutoDesk decides to upgrade their Revit, which in my opinion has not upgraded anything substantial, only shuffled around icons, and increeased requirements.

I have excepted now that Revit 2010 is just going to continue to crash, but thats not my biggest issue. I still believe the biggest problem with revit 2010 is its speed. It is extremely slow and resourse intensive as so many people have pointed out. The fact that a 256MB screencard and 4GB of ram and a duel core motherboard with a 3.2Mhz processor spends 25% of its time thinking whilst working on a brand new model of only 30MB, I honoustly do not believe is acceptable..

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 30, 2009 at 4:01:09 PM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#36

alabaster2513


active
alabaster2513 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 16, 2007
1009 Posts
3.5 Stars: 25 Votes


I am going to have to disagree there, sounds like to me your problems are directly related to your systems. I have tested 2010 extensively on multiple operating systems and machines. I find it to be faster than 2009 in almost every situation. I am not special, I use the same program you do, I do not have a super computer, and I don't know magic. I do however have my machines properly maintained in order to run a program as demanding as Revit. All my active projects are 2010, much larger than 30 mb. I work in them all day, every day.... No crashing. I think the people having issues with the program are the minority.

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jul 30, 2009 at 4:25:16 PM | There is an unprecedented problem here....................................

#37

Hogmodo


active
Hogmodo Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 6, 2004
367 Posts
3.5 Stars: 5 Votes


......................Revit upgrades have never triggered a Vista like impact before.  It will be solved, in time, by Autodesk issuing patch after patch, and apparently a lot of upgrading of hardware never before required by Revit upgrades.  I, personally, am tired of software resellers and a few Revit hotshots claiming "there is no problem you people are just delusional."

There is a major problem that is certainly complex and the bottom line is something that was working well for a lot of Revit users is no longer working well.  If Revit doesn't think is a problem, then THAT is another very big problem.  JMVHO.


This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Jul 31, 2009 at 1:27:23 PM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#38

kgvogel


active

Joined: Thu, Feb 26, 2009
8 Posts
No Rating


I agree 100% with Hogmodo. So many "Revit Hotshots" as you refer to them, are seemingly just ignorant to the issues that people are clearly experiencing. 95% of my office works on Revit, and have been working on Revit since it was released. The idea of Revit bombing out was pretty much an unheard of phenomenon. It was only since 2010 that has became a daily occurrence.. In addition, the systems that bomb out are in some cases of a substantially higher specification than those that do not bomb out. It also differs from day to day and from file to file, irrespective of its size. In light of this I really do not see how the specifications can solely be blamed.

Alabaster, my office also maintain our systems properly, hence the reason we have never had an issues with Revit in the past. I am also very sure you work on files larger than 30MB. A one story house will have a file bigger than that. I'm asking, why is my small little 30MB file bombing out, when the other files I worked on in the past were several times that size and they never bombed out..

I also don't believe you are special, as were your words. I'm sure you don't know magic either, as were your words.. I don't believe in magic. What I do believe in though is what I see, and for the last while I have seen a lot of frustrated people, and it was definitely not the case in the past.

 

 


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 31, 2009 at 2:27:58 PM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#39

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 34 Votes


Someone in the chat room asked me if my installation was from the downloaded exe or the DVD?
  
Could the problems be related to that I wonder? Two different installation types?
I'm all about solving the problems not just complaining.
I was an autodesk (reseller) tech support guy for many years for several different app's going back to Autocad R9. And yes right through the hell of R13c4a.
It's pretty straight forward. Gather the info on the crash itself, the OS and hardware over as many instances as you can.
Then find the common thread and at last resort pass that info on to autodesk tech support themselves.
For the longest time problems where related to your 'anti virus software' believe it or not. Then it was what version of IE you where using. Especailly with network installations.
The problem with 2010 seems to be no one can put their finger on that common thread and if they have found it they need to publish the information to the users.
I seriously think autodesk needs a portal where users can simply 'fill in the fields' related to the crashing. Software build, OS, stand alone vs network, hardware / video specs,, anti virus, IE build, general crash description, project file versions, . . . . . it's not rocket science. It's web design 101. Eventually the issues will rise to the top. I could design a web page and database back end in about 15 minutes. Do it all in check boxes and radio buttons so it can all be graphed and analyzed. Add more check boxes as time goes on.
Then collect email addresses and update the portal as new potentially 'common' problems start to surface.
Why can't autodesk do this?? It's pretty clear that there is a problem that needs attention.


Edited on: Fri, Jul 31, 2009 at 9:33:34 AM

-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Jul 31, 2009 at 3:36:39 PM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#40

alabaster2513


active
alabaster2513 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 16, 2007
1009 Posts
3.5 Stars: 25 Votes


That reminded me, I use Vista 64bit and uninstalled IE8 for Revit 2010 a while back. Tech support in the beta program said I should not be using it. I do not know however if this is the case with xp or vista 32.....

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Aug 10, 2009 at 4:53:48 PM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#41

quinn


active

Joined: Wed, May 14, 2008
209 Posts
No Rating


The virtual memory on our systems have been continually stacking until there is nothing left and it will crash everytime.  Depending on the size of the files and what were doing with them the virtual memory usage increases at different rates but always stacks overtime until crash.  We have many different operating systems in the office but all are showing the same issue.  The virtual memory is running out on all of them.

We are currently closing revit every couple of hrs to restore the memory to avoid crashes but its consistent on all our systems. With 8gb im sure you wont have issues with virtual memory and would not see what we have seen.  I agree that we need to increase our RAM for 2010 but this sounds like a Revit issue not a systems issue.  The program itself is not dumping memory use its continually stacking. 

Revit users should not have to upgrade to 8mb of ram just to avoid the  stacking issue, the stacking issue shouldnt be happening in the first place.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 10, 2009 at 5:00:54 PM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#42

alabaster2513


active
alabaster2513 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 16, 2007
1009 Posts
3.5 Stars: 25 Votes


Quinn,

 

Do you have the stacking issue with Hardware Acceleration both on and off? I only have the issue on a 32bit Xp machine with 4 gb RAM and Hardware Acceleration on using an Nvidia Quadro FX 3500 with the very latest drivers. When hardware acceleration is turned off I am able to push the virtual memory usage to the extreme limit with no crashing.


This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Aug 10, 2009 at 8:38:43 PM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#43

quinn


active

Joined: Wed, May 14, 2008
209 Posts
No Rating


We have 2 gb ram and 4 gb ram systems.  We Have tried with and without the accelarator on and off.  We have updated all our memery cards and installed the patch on all our systems.  The virtual memory still continues to stack.

 When we try to render anything the virtual memory gets to about 2gb on any machine and we have an unable error occur.  Naturally the 2gb run out before it finishes rendering but the 4gb also quit half way through there memory usage at 2gb. 

 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 18, 2009 at 7:14:23 PM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#44

jwr2


active

Joined: Wed, Jan 17, 2007
13 Posts
No Rating


I upgraded from the 32 bit version to the 64 bit version and upgraded my memory ... it is better ... but I have crashed a dozen times today and the day is only half over.

 Didn't autodesk test this software before they released it?


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Aug 18, 2009 at 8:02:32 PM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#45

jwr2


active

Joined: Wed, Jan 17, 2007
13 Posts
No Rating


It seems to crash the most when working with doors.

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 3 of 4 | << Previous 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Parametric Cabinets causing crash in RAC 2010

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Aug 11, 2009 at 6:21:18 PM

2

2010 & 2011

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Tue, Jun 29, 2010 at 7:10:54 AM

7

Crash!!!!

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, May 5, 2011 at 9:09:10 PM

5

2010 seems to crash my computer alot more

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jul 24, 2009 at 4:56:58 PM

0

Constant Crash 2010

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jul 16, 2009 at 1:56:31 PM

7

Site Stats

Members:

1458973

Objects:

20592

Forum Posts:

150670

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.3851

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights