RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

231 Users Online (102 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 2 of 4 | << Previous 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next >>

Mon, Jun 22, 2009 at 7:49:29 PM | GMMcCrossin

#16

Gigafish


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 22, 2009
10 Posts
2.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Quoting GMMcCrossin from 2009-06-22 14:42:01

"I am using everything 2010 and it works great. I did like 09 better as far as the layout. But I have tryed and couldnt crashed crash it."

Well, that's wonderful for you, and it's encouraging for me to know that there is actually a scenario in which Revit 2010 works. But, I'm afraid that your post wont tangibly help anyone, with anything, anywhere, ever.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 22, 2009 at 7:59:44 PM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#17

GMMcCrossin


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 22, 2009
16 Posts
No Rating


here are the spec for my comp.

 

Windows XP Pro Version 2002 service pack 3 Dell Persion t3400  intel core 2 duo cpu e8500 @ 3.16 ghz 3.25gb of ram and i have not had one problem


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 22, 2009 at 8:09:58 PM | GMMcCrossin

#18

Gigafish


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 22, 2009
10 Posts
2.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Quoting GMMcCrossin from 2009-06-22 14:59:44

"

here are the spec for my comp.

 

Windows XP Pro Version 2002 service pack 3 Dell Persion t3400  intel core 2 duo cpu e8500 @ 3.16 ghz 3.25gb of ram and i have not had one problem

"

Increíbles! I have our two heaviest Revit users testing an almost idential setup right now. We have two workstations like that one (T3400s in fact). Hopefully it works. Hmm, we can't exactly throw money at our problem if we need more of those stations, but we may have no choice unless something else breaks loose.

I'll post the results tomorrow after the users have had a full day at it.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 22, 2009 at 8:13:57 PM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#19

GMMcCrossin


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 22, 2009
16 Posts
No Rating


good let me know how that works for you. I have been using this set up for over a month and have had alot of luck. Just a tip watch yourself with the press and drag option i messed a big project up with that. Never had a problem with it in 09 but i have in 2010

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 23, 2009 at 6:53:50 PM | GMMcCrossin

#20

Gigafish


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 22, 2009
10 Posts
2.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Quoting GMMcCrossin from 2009-06-22 15:13:57

"good let me know how that works for you. I have been using this set up for over a month and have had alot of luck. Just a tip watch yourself with the press and drag option i messed a big project up with that. Never had a problem with it in 09 but i have in 2010"

Ahh, no joy with the T3400. Latest graphics drivers and all that jazz. The user reported that Revit was running fine and fast, all of yesterday afternoon then this morning, but started crashing frequently, about noon today. Something else we tried...We added all of the Revit file formats to the exceptions list on our antivirus program. But all these things included with my original list didn't end up as a solution.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 23, 2009 at 7:23:14 PM | And..........................

#21

Hogmodo


active
Hogmodo Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 6, 2004
367 Posts
3.5 Stars: 5 Votes


........................what kind of hardware?  There have been several with 64 bit Revit software and quad processers who claim no crashes.  I am waiting to hear of a 32 bit system with a normal processer that converted from 09 to 10 without crashing problems.

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jun 23, 2009 at 7:28:02 PM | Gigafish

#22

Gigafish


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 22, 2009
10 Posts
2.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Quoting Gigafish from 2009-06-22 15:09:58

"

Quoting GMMcCrossin from 2009-06-22 14:59:44

"

here are the spec for my comp.

 

Windows XP Pro Version 2002 service pack 3 Dell Persion t3400  intel core 2 duo cpu e8500 @ 3.16 ghz 3.25gb of ram and i have not had one problem

"

Increíbles! I have our two heaviest Revit users testing an almost idential setup right now. We have two workstations like that one (T3400s in fact). Hopefully it works. Hmm, we can't exactly throw money at our problem if we need more of those stations, but we may have no choice unless something else breaks loose.

I'll post the results tomorrow after the users have had a full day at it.

"

 

That hardware


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 24, 2009 at 12:05:51 PM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#23

kgvogel


active

Joined: Thu, Feb 26, 2009
8 Posts
No Rating


I have a Pentium 4 duel processor, with two 3.2Ghz processors of which one I dedicate to revit only with specific software. I also have 4GB of RAM, and a GForce 7800GT.

My computer has recently stopped bombing. I have not had similar bombing in quite a while which is obviously wonderful! I have not changed anything on my computer so I'm a little confused why this problem has stopped though. Yet, another computer in our office has now started showing identical bombings to what mine did a few weeks ago.

 

odd...

 

 


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 10, 2009 at 2:06:18 PM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#24

jyjang


active

Joined: Thu, Nov 20, 2008
1 Posts
No Rating


I also have been using Revit 2010 for 4 weeks now and I've had spotty crashes. At first the crashes were frequent and without warning. Modifying the crop views triggered crashes for me sometimes. Yes, it was THAT bad.

Then my graphics card was updated which seemed to have solved the issue for a week. With the most recent maintenance update from Autodesk, the problem is back.

Every task takes 4x as long to perform including saving & synchronizing so I try to synchronize at good benchmarks but sometimes I hate the fact that saving takes so long that I didn't. So it's partly my fault as well but hours of work will be lost at times. I'm not sure why this version is so unstable but I wish there was some magical fix because I cannot go back to Revit 2009 which worked wonderfully.

If anyone has any words of advice, please share.

 


-----------------------------------

 

-jinyoung-

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 17, 2009 at 6:01:11 PM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#25

Xaquin


active

Joined: Wed, Jun 13, 2007
66 Posts
No Rating


I've been using Revit 2010 for about 3 weeks solid now (I really dislike it, but that's neither here nor there) and only had a few crashes early on.

 

Now, however, everytime I try to load a componant revit crashes.  I have the option to send an error report and do so every time I can.

 

 My system specs:

Windows XP Professional Service Pack 3 (build 2600)

3.20 gigahertz Intel Pentium 4

2 gigs of RAM

all updated BIOS/Drivers/etc.

 

not the best computer in the office, but I've neverhad a problem with 2009 before.

I'll leave this post with a brief musing.  When I was in High School and College, I worked at Taco Bell (4 years lol).  We had these touch screen monitors that we'd punch in the orders on.  Every three or four months, we'd get word from corporate that the screens would be changing for efficiency.  Meaning that most of the icons would be moved to a new menu or location.  I was never sure how that was 'efficient'.  All it did was create confusion and slower order times for a week or two while everyone figured out where the heck the icons were now located.  New hires didn't care because they were just learning anyway, but for the older employees, it was nothing but hassle.

There was no behefit at all. The older employees couldn't exactly help the new hires because they had to relearn it too.


This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Jul 24, 2009 at 7:39:31 PM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#26

BGunderson9999


active

Joined: Wed, Jan 21, 2009
2 Posts
No Rating


I have found it odd that in the past ten years that revit has been available that this is the first time that there has been such an issue with the software.   This lack in response from Autodesk about major crashes from its users and the time spent by its users trying to fix the problem by spending time and money on hardware upgrades is crazy.  We never had to worry about any of these issue when 2008 or 2009 came out and if we did we worked through them because the upgrades actually added value with the improvements that were included.  2010 does not add any improvements (Sorry the conceptual mass is not worth it.  woohoo a slope elevation marker!)  We are going back to 2009 and wondering if subscription is worth it.  Jeez...

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 24, 2009 at 7:43:11 PM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#27

alabaster2513


active
alabaster2513 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 16, 2007
1009 Posts
3.5 Stars: 25 Votes


Actually that is not true, there have been problems in the past and just like with 2010 they released service packs to repair the issues. Revit and BIM are in a constant state of evolution, if you have issues working with a progressive software that requires you to evolve with it use Autocad.

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Jul 27, 2009 at 2:39:19 PM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#28

BGunderson9999


active

Joined: Wed, Jan 21, 2009
2 Posts
No Rating


Maybe Autodesk needs to take a lesson from their AutoCAD and release the UI updates in stages so that themselves and users can work out the bugs ( And this is a major BUG!  People crashing up to 20 times a day with system required computers up to date for the software.  This is not evolution this regression).  Based on the out cry of users trying to work with the 2010 software most of us enjoy working in Revit but are very confused in the lack of response from Autodesk.  Autodesk please respond with a solution (1st Service Pack did not work, maybe go back to releasing the Builds, like in the past)or even a we are working on it.  Thanks,

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 29, 2009 at 2:05:25 PM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#29

jwr2


active

Joined: Wed, Jan 17, 2007
13 Posts
No Rating


2010 is a bleeping flouled up mess! \

First of all the broke the flipping dgn translator. Then the constant crashes make it hard to get any work done. Then the service pack makes it crash even more and makes it more unstable.

 Revit had a great run for 10 years where every new version was a nice improvement. But 2010 they broke a bunch of stuff.

Avoid this version like the plague! stay on 2009 and wait for 2011!


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jul 29, 2009 at 2:53:49 PM | Anyone else having crash problems with 2010?

#30

jwr2


active

Joined: Wed, Jan 17, 2007
13 Posts
No Rating


Again ... I strongly advise all Revit users to avoid 2010.

 

IT IS A BROKEN FLAWED PRODUCT!

 

Stay in 2009 it works great.


This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 2 of 4 | << Previous 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Parametric Cabinets causing crash in RAC 2010

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Aug 11, 2009 at 6:21:18 PM

2

2010 & 2011

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Tue, Jun 29, 2010 at 7:10:54 AM

7

Crash!!!!

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, May 5, 2011 at 9:09:10 PM

5

2010 seems to crash my computer alot more

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jul 24, 2009 at 4:56:58 PM

0

Constant Crash 2010

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jul 16, 2009 at 1:56:31 PM

7

Site Stats

Members:

1458973

Objects:

20592

Forum Posts:

150670

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.9766

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights