RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

307 Users Online (159 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> VOID form will NOT work!

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 2 of 2 | << Previous 1 | 2

Mon, Jan 30, 2012 at 10:50:36 AM | VOID form will NOT work!

#16

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 196 Votes


Wierd... don't you have two roofs? In your last image you clicked on that "small" roof - right? select that and delete, tell me what happened....

BTW, you don't need to cut that roof with VOIDS, just sketch the roof without that portion.

 

 



Edited on: Mon, Jan 30, 2012 at 5:11:11 AM

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 30, 2012 at 5:11:19 PM | VOID form will NOT work!

#17

bolwazy


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 1, 2010
7 Posts
No Rating


Deleting the "inside" part results in an error dialog box:

"Can't delete infilling element without deleting its insert or host."

Clicking "delete element(s)" button removes the whole component with the void form inside it,

leaving me with the original roof.

 

I would like to avoid modeling the roof from smaller parts. Also, the void form in general will be needed elsewhere in the project.

 

I start to think that maybe my project file or my installation is somehow corrupt. Or both ;]


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 30, 2012 at 5:14:28 PM | VOID form will NOT work!

#18

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 350 Votes


Note what Ty said "BTW, you don't need to cut that roof with VOIDS, just sketch the roof without that portion."


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 30, 2012 at 5:43:50 PM | VOID form will NOT work!

#19

bolwazy


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 1, 2010
7 Posts
No Rating


I have mentioned that I would really like to avoid that. The only thing that comes into my head right now is to replace

a nice, 4-lined footprint roof (incl cutout) with a set of smaller footprints and a swarm of edges. AFAIK there is

no roof tool to model a roof by sweep (excluding the roof-category in-place component)? 

 

For me, the point is to figure out what is wrong with my modeling technique or my file. If there is no way to make

the void forms work, case closed and thank you for your time... 



Edited on: Mon, Jan 30, 2012 at 12:17:56 PM

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 30, 2012 at 6:17:34 PM | VOID form will NOT work!

#20

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 350 Votes


I think the correct way to model this is one sketch as shown in the attached.

 

Your problem may be ... did you join those two roofs?



Attached Images

102462_ScreenHunter02_Jan._30_13.16.gif102462_ScreenHunter01_Jan._30_13.15.gif

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 30, 2012 at 6:35:55 PM | VOID form will NOT work!

#21

bolwazy


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 1, 2010
7 Posts
No Rating


Joining/unjoining, insinde/outside edit mode, took me a few hours of playtime, then I started to ask for help ;p

That sketch was helpful, thank you Winking

Weird thing is that after copying the roof into a new file, the void forms work just fine. Thanks to WWHub I'll be able

to carry on the work but turns out it's time for me to do some research on the corrupt file problems.



Edited on: Mon, Jan 30, 2012 at 12:44:32 PM

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 30, 2012 at 6:39:33 PM | VOID form will NOT work!

#22

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 350 Votes


I kind of figured you didn't understand this process.... that's why I uploaded it. 

So many things to learn - I still am after 5 years.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 30, 2012 at 9:00:24 PM | VOID form will NOT work!

#23

bolwazy


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 1, 2010
7 Posts
No Rating


I'm writing this as a little lesson for everybody - I truely deserve to be decapitated for all that mess and for taking your time here... 

All the problems with the void form not cutting properly the geometry of the original roof were bound to the phasing stages of the roof and the in-place component... They were not equal... Furthermore, the values of phasing parameters in the view properties window obscured the whole situation.

Again, that was my mistake and hopefully someone in the future will not waste two days of his life with such an issue ;]

 

//facepalms are welcome 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 2 of 2 | << Previous 1 | 2



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

void form and cuttng void form

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jul 9, 2010 at 5:39:02 PM

0

Void form issues once again. Few question

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 31, 2016 at 7:47:22 PM

3

Face-Based Family for Void Form?

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, May 18, 2011 at 3:19:38 PM

7

Void Form in a Wall Sweep

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, Dec 1, 2010 at 12:58:00 PM

6

Void form for sink

Community >> The Studio

Fri, Jul 17, 2009 at 5:43:42 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1457558

Objects:

20593

Forum Posts:

150680

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.0791

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights