RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

210 Users Online (93 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Backround image

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>

Thu, Jul 24, 2008 at 2:08:13 PM | Backround image

#1

Martha


active

Joined: Mon, May 21, 2007
20 Posts
No Rating


 Hi!

How can I include an image as a backround to render a perspective?

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 24, 2008 at 2:12:28 PM | Backround image

#2

Martha


active

Joined: Mon, May 21, 2007
20 Posts
No Rating


Forgot to tell I am working in Revit 2009!

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 24, 2008 at 2:25:53 PM | Backround image

#3

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


Hi, in 2008 you can do that but in 2009, with the new Mental Ray it's not possible, what you can do is render normally and after go to photoshop and apply the background you want...

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 24, 2008 at 2:31:53 PM | Backround image

#4

Martha


active

Joined: Mon, May 21, 2007
20 Posts
No Rating


Thank you!

I thougt so, but I had the hope it could be possible...


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 24, 2008 at 2:33:01 PM | Backround image

#5

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


the lastest version of Photoshop have great tools for architects to do post editing of rendered images.

 


-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 24, 2008 at 2:36:07 PM | Backround image

#6

Martha


active

Joined: Mon, May 21, 2007
20 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for the advise.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 24, 2008 at 2:39:26 PM | Backround image

#7

JustinT


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 16, 2007
93 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


I'm about to write up a tip on this for revitup as a lot of people ask this question... but basically render you model and export the image as a TIFF.

Then create a drafting View and bring in you background image and then also the render out tiff of the model (tiffs render without the background being white)

 You can now overlay you model tiff on the background image in the drafting view and then drag the drafting view onto your plot sheet...

Justin

www.revitup.co.za


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 24, 2008 at 2:54:20 PM | Backround image

#8

Martha


active

Joined: Mon, May 21, 2007
20 Posts
No Rating


Excellent idea!

Thank you!


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 24, 2008 at 3:37:11 PM | Backround image

#9

JustinT


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 16, 2007
93 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


No worries... sometimes it just requires a little laterial thinking with Revit.... the only issue is a)trying to get the images to look at the same perspective and b) no shadows on the ground from the revit model... but it's better than nothing..

I've attacehd a quick example of what one looks like... and no Photoshop required :o)



Attached Images

41323_2_Storey_Apartment.jpg

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 24, 2008 at 8:31:04 PM | Backround image

#10

Martha


active

Joined: Mon, May 21, 2007
20 Posts
No Rating


What about the shadows?

Can't I include in the model a "piece" of ground (with the shadows) that "matches" with the ground image?


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 25, 2008 at 3:25:24 PM | Backround image

#11

JustinT


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 16, 2007
93 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Yup you sure can... but you just have to try and align the terrain with that in the background image else things don't look right... it's not the best solution,  but it's better than nothing.... the other thing that does work is to create a very large wall or something behind your model and then paste the background image on as a decal..... just another idea..

 Justin

www.revitup.co.za

http://revitupsa.blogspot.com/

 


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 25, 2008 at 3:59:32 PM | Backround image

#12

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


JUSTIN, why the additional blogspot?

 


-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 25, 2008 at 7:33:47 PM | Backround image

#13

JustinT


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 16, 2007
93 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Hey Coreed

Good question..

 

Basically for a couple of reasons... firstly I created Revitup using a free on-line web tool which is cool apart from the site now has over 100 pages and if I want to just add a really quick tip it can take 15 – 20 mins to update the site... the blogger allows me to do this in a couple of minutes.

AlsoI have managed to add the blog into the Quick Tips page of Revitup to try and make them one and the same.

Also many people like adding RSS feeds and I can do this with the true blog site and not Revitup..

Finally I like to help people who have questions and though Revitup is my site and I try to separate it from the reseller I work for there are a few grey areas i.e. I promote my training and also the development that we do for Revit Structural on Revitup... I can’t really not.. gotta make a living, but the moderators in Augi go funny about this and told me to stop self promoting... anyway I don’t want to pee people off so the blog part is truly just pure tips and tricks and has no reference to who I work for in anyway.

I always like feedback and ideas...so if you or anyone has a take on this – let me know.

Justin

 


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 25, 2008 at 10:28:22 PM | Backround image

#14

Martha


active

Joined: Mon, May 21, 2007
20 Posts
No Rating


O.K. guys, take it easy...

Good idea (the decal) but I think the first one works better. I'm good with plants, etc, to disimulate the "unions". Besides, I can use the ground material scanned from the backround image (I used to do it with AutoCAD)

Thanks!!!!


This user is offline

 

Sun, Jul 27, 2008 at 10:53:11 AM | Backround image

#15

JustinT


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 16, 2007
93 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Hey no worries Martha... Coreed was just asking why I have started a separate blog to my site www.revitup.co.za I think..

I like to post onto RevitCity and Augi when I get chance, but I also have my own site which is kinda focused on the clients I have in South Africa.... but not being a webmaster :o) I starting to get bogged down in trying to keep the site updated - that's what happens when you use freeware I guess. Anyhow my idea is to keep my blog updated and then copy and paste any tips etc I can think of onto RevitCity...the more we share ideas... then the more people use Revit..plus there's always something new to learn :o)

J


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

.dwg import & drawing order

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Feb 6, 2009 at 12:06:30 PM

0

Any way NOT to render a backround in Revit 2013 ??

Community >> Newbies

Thu, Feb 28, 2013 at 7:00:36 AM

5

Inserting backround photo into perspective view

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jan 31, 2008 at 10:44:52 PM

5

FILLED REGIONS

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Thu, Sep 17, 2009 at 8:37:32 PM

0

Raster Image display

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Oct 10, 2008 at 11:08:26 AM

5

Site Stats

Members:

1821217

Objects:

22574

Forum Posts:

152005

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.3066

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights