RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

237 Users Online (139 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 487 - Tue, Dec 3, 2013 at 3:44:27 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit Project Management >> Work From Home With Revit

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Aug 29, 2007 at 7:09:11 AM | Work From Home With Revit

#1

vector23



vector23 Avatar

Joined: Sun, Apr 23, 2006
265 Posts
2 Stars: 15 Votes


does anyone have an understanding of employment opportunities with Revit?

are Revit drafters being employed from remote locations?

are any Revit drafters working from home?

do any architectural firms collaborate online with Revit drafters?

are any Revit drafters working away from the office using worksets?

a lot of people have strong feelings about wanting to be a team member

working together in an office.. i'm looking for unbiased answers please..

 

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 29, 2007 at 6:32:29 PM | Work From Home With Revit

#2

broncos4life


active

Joined: Thu, Nov 10, 2005
390 Posts
3.5 Stars: 9 Votes


Revit drafters can be employed from remote locations depending on file set up.   I am currently doing alot of drafting myself from home as well through a VPN and Remote Desktop.  There are a few architectural firsm that collaborate with others through FTP sites and also by comunication through fourms such as this one.  As for worksets, you need to have a good development of worksets to be working away from the office, through remote desktop or by checking out worksets.  You dont have to really work in office, but it is still much easier to colaborate in a group all sitting in proximity of eachother than a group spread across the world.  It is possible though to work in different locations with Revit.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 19, 2007 at 5:54:25 PM | Work From Home With Revit

#3

notagain


active
notagain Avatar

Joined: Wed, Jul 11, 2007
89 Posts
4 Stars: 1 Votes


well is anyone here working with remote a group or worksets....I am curious to see how many of us here are...since this seems to be one thing they say revit can do..

-----------------------------------

I really want this to work...some good things some bad

This user is offline

 

Wed, Nov 28, 2007 at 1:23:52 PM | Work From Home With Revit

#4

cwsharp


active

Joined: Sat, Jun 2, 2007
34 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


No, it is not a good option. The attention that you have to give to coordination... or the preplanning that you have to do to make checking out worksets a productive idea, are prohibitive to productivity.

I would absolutely not recommend it.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Nov 28, 2007 at 11:41:17 PM | Work From Home With Revit

#5

vector23



vector23 Avatar

Joined: Sun, Apr 23, 2006
265 Posts
2 Stars: 15 Votes


wouldn't it be ideal to get all thedisciplines together in one office buildingeach morning to work on a project? (trueBIM collaboration).. owner-architect-contractor-structural engineer-mechanical engineer-electrical engineer-plumbing engineer-landscape-lighting-acoustics-thermal-fluid dynamics-fabracationanaylist-environmental specialist-cost anaylist-design assistants-document creators etc etc..but since most cities don't even have a railsystem to get the people there and traffic isthe worst in history- maybe we could erectan army style barracks behind the office tohouse everyone and their families.. or maybewe should just look at the internet.. you think?

This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 21, 2008 at 3:20:39 AM | Work From Home With Revit

#6

JHAS


active

Joined: Sun, Dec 23, 2007
4 Posts
No Rating


my office hires Revit drafters to support our Residential project needs on a porject by project basis.  You need to know the software to be used.  If anyone wants to work from home on these Residential projects, drop my office an e-mail.

www.jhasinc.com

 James


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Mar 12, 2008 at 11:13:45 AM | Work From Home With Revit

#7

dlmerdian


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 3, 2008
4 Posts
No Rating


Sometimes businesses purchase student licenses and allow you to download Revit at home .. ask your company if they purchased student licenses and if they did, they will give you information to download it at http://students.autodesk.com/

This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 12, 2008 at 8:16:42 PM | Work From Home With Revit

#8

hisdirt


active

Joined: Sun, Nov 6, 2005
123 Posts
5 Stars: 3 Votes


This is a really good discussion point!

 

I also balance working on Revit at home with heading into clients offices to work on their projects, there is so much potential with both.

 

Regarding Worksets, there certainly is a great oppertunity to enable remote workstations by having users check out worsets then roaming to wherever, alothough different stages of the project suit this better than others. I work alot on conceptual renderings, setting up views and sheets for clients projects. This would suit worksets well as renders can be set up, tested and tweaked, then saved to central before being rendered. Same would go for setting up veiws, cutaways, and sheets.

 

The crunch comes when people need to colaborate on parts of projects, detailing and such. For this I doubt there is anything better than having everyone working in the same office.

 

Cant wait to see what others think, as remote working is such an attractive lifestyle!

 My two cents


This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Sep 12, 2008 at 8:50:36 PM | Work From Home With Revit

#9

johnphilips


active

Joined: Fri, Sep 12, 2008
1 Posts
No Rating


Hi to all members of Reitcity,

Even I am also looking for the sam solution which you are looking vector23. Can any one solve this problem.

 

John Philips

 Business Opportunities

 


This user is offline

 

Sat, Sep 13, 2008 at 2:39:38 PM | Work From Home With Revit

#10

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 207 Votes


There are several discussions of this here on the RevitCITY site and AUGI.  I suggest you check those out.  There are also items in your help that will lead you to some possible solutions.  Because REVIT is multi-user, there doesn't seem to be a perfect way to do this.  Read up on checking out worksets "at risk".

This user is offline

 

Sat, May 15, 2010 at 1:20:11 AM | Work From Home With Revit

#11

bpwg55


active

Joined: Wed, Jun 27, 2007
1 Posts
No Rating


We've installed one of our revit seats (license) on a server. Then it's "available" via the internet (serious password) with remote desktop (terminal services). With reasonable pipes (internet) at each end, it make for a pretty good revit station.

The remote user, is only getting screen refresh. The "big" data, is only moving from our "big" file server to the workstation/server, about 5 feet.

So far it's working pretty well. We're actually using worksets also, so we have 3 users in house, and one remote on one workset/file.

If you use two remote users, then there is an issue as you don't have different user names, which is going to create issues with the worksets. It's also running up against liscense issues as you now have two users using one liscense. Of course if you use Lmtools and check out licenses, then you are probably good there too.

We were doing the vpn thing, but moving the big files (90meg) was just too slow, and we finding keeping the big file in the office and just remoting the desktop is working much better.

We're looking at terminal services - gateway, where the gateway can direct the user to a specific server, and have multiple servers serving the various outside users, instead of just having one open port and one server.

Our "server" is actually a VmWare server, running server 2008. With a lot of ram, it's pretty easy to run several instances of these. Of course your "pipe" is going to get saturated pretty soon, so you got to watch that bottleneck.

The new cpu (55xx series) with three parallel memory channels, are so fast, it start making all this remote stuff very usefull, where just awhile back, it's was just too slow.

I'd be interested in how others are setting up remote users. We looked at Peerlock, with a server at each end replicating all the time and file locking when a file was open, but it's about $3,000 each end for software, then servers and it gets pretty expensive quickly.

We've also got multiple "pipes" with different ip addresses, and are trying out 2 different addresses, pointing to two vm server, so each user has their own environment.


This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Working @ home

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Dec 24, 2010 at 1:39:17 AM

6

making worksets editable at home

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jun 6, 2011 at 4:29:35 PM

1

Revit liscense

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jan 19, 2006 at 11:09:13 PM

3

MEP electrical home runs

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Thu, Sep 27, 2012 at 9:05:33 AM

2

working at home

Community >> Newbies

Mon, May 6, 2013 at 1:13:08 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

500520

Objects:

14996

Forum Posts:

127571

Job Listings:

7

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.1029

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights