RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

172 Users Online (77 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 602 - Wed, Dec 17, 2014 at 3:50:42 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Wishlist >> Cranes & Logistics - Tower Cranes, Crawlers, Etc.

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Sat, Jul 28, 2007 at 12:42:52 PM | Cranes & Logistics - Tower Cranes, Crawlers, Etc.

#1

CBJConstruction


active

Joined: Sun, Jul 1, 2007
6 Posts
No Rating


Does anyone know if there is a good Tower Crane Family available for Revit.  I have been using Revit for about a year now and would like to really work now with logistics with it.  In Autocad i have a variety of cranes both crawlers built to specs in 3D as well as some tower cranes.  I am looking for a tower crane in revit that i can actually build, I.e cages would have to be built like in the field, jib lingths would have to be put together per type of crane.

 Also is there a funtion with revit that would allow me to manipulate the crane, I.e allow me to swing the crane around.  The program TOM is only set for use with Autocad, having this work in Revit would allo a user to check picks and check for any swing problems

 I would like to be able to control the jibs on a conventional or crawler crane as well, as just putting the crane in the model is not enough especially on a tight site where i may not be able to use a crane to its full potential, but will need to know its limitations. 

 

Thanks

 

Christophe B. Jones 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Nov 17, 2010 at 6:00:01 PM | Cranes & Logistics - Tower Cranes, Crawlers, Etc.

#2

OnsiteEng


active

Joined: Wed, Nov 17, 2010
3 Posts
No Rating


Hi Christophe,

 Where you able to find a tower crane family for Revit? In particular, Liebherr tower cranes? They would be useful for our logistics.

 

Thanks

Connor Burns


This user is offline

 

Wed, Nov 17, 2010 at 6:43:44 PM | Cranes & Logistics - Tower Cranes, Crawlers, Etc.

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 229 Votes


If you have the crane in CAD as a 3D element, you can create a revit family using that. 

 

No you can not animate Revit objects.  But in the crane family, you could add new sub categories for crane movement arcs that could be turned on/off in various views .... just like a door  swing shoes door swing clearance.

 

If the crane were a nested family, you could have an instance parameter to control the swing of the crane.  It would be static and have to be set each time.



Edited on: Wed, Nov 17, 2010 at 12:45:21 PM

This user is online

 

Thu, Nov 18, 2010 at 6:46:06 AM | Cranes & Logistics - Tower Cranes, Crawlers, Etc.

#4

CBJConstruction


active

Joined: Sun, Jul 1, 2007
6 Posts
No Rating


I never found any tower cranes, but I found a 3D Cad File of a picture of one, I broke apart the components and made families of the TC Sections, bases, for the jib and counterjib I manipulated the lengths to get ti close, I set all my cranes up with  Liebherr dimensions, I am not perfect, but I am close enough on everything. 

 

This link shows two of the cranes on my website

http://cbjconstruction.com/index_files/Page453.htm

Ive won a lot of jobs for having all the logistics components in them, TCs, Hoists, Moble Cranes, Concrete equipment, etc.  because I was able to show real equipment sizes, i even won a job once because i put in the righat crane, my competitor listed a crane which would not make the radius, and due to that the client felt the other contractor did not know what they where doing.

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Nov 18, 2010 at 6:43:16 PM | Cranes & Logistics - Tower Cranes, Crawlers, Etc.

#5

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


check this out. i think he is selling it also.

http://blog.cadway.com.au/2010/07/making-completely-parametric-mobile_12.html

http://blog.cadway.com.au/2010/10/making-completely-parametric-mobile.html



Edited on: Thu, Nov 18, 2010 at 12:45:00 PM

-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Tower Cranes

Community >> The Studio

Thu, Oct 6, 2005 at 7:00:38 PM

0

Tower with GlcurseGlazing

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jan 13, 2005 at 9:05:07 PM

0

looking for a hard to find model.

Community >> Newbies

Thu, Mar 1, 2012 at 1:57:44 PM

0

Moving up Multiple Tower Levels

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Feb 17, 2011 at 9:55:01 PM

2

Tower Crane

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Thu, Oct 18, 2007 at 5:42:44 AM

1

Site Stats

Members:

582423

Objects:

15653

Forum Posts:

132883

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.1376

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights